We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Camden Favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Hill, Maine
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Our Camden Favorite”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This really is our favorite place on the Maine coast. We have stayed in other places in Camden and up and down the coast but this is the place we go back to for a weekend getaway even though it is an hour from home. We love Mary Jo and Michael. They are outstanding people and extremely talented, he in producing the most fabulous meals and she in creating a wonderful relaxing place one longs to return to. We always marvel at the quality of the staff who seem proud to there,as though they are invested in the place, seem always happy welcome guests and are very competent and attentive,
The rooms are great, a blend of modern comfort and vintage charm without being dated, faded or aged as some B&B's can be. We have favorites and recommend upgrading though even their most modest accomodations are comfy. The breakfasts are increidble, full, satisfying, tasty, and beautiful.
We like the cocktail hour gathering before dinner in which they offer specially priced drink (a $5 basil martini when we were there last!) though other drinks are available as well. A pleasant conversation with other guests can usually be had before you go in to dinner. Dinner is an experience that will bring you back over and over. If you think you have had the best of lobster, you need to try Michael's. I want to get in the car right now and drive there for dinner, just thinking about it.
For a really fun experience, sign up for the cooking weekend package. Not only do you get a fabulous dinner but also an afternoon cooking with Michael, who is as much fun as he is talented in the kitchen. You may be inspired to inquire about their foody tours to Italy, France or Spain, events that you can watch videos of at your breakfast table. Imagine taking the Harstone Inn cooking weekend experinece and moving to a villa in Tuscany!! Oh my, an experience of a lifetime, but that is another review!

Room Tip: Sign up for a special cooking weekend!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pellverm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    105
    38
    19
    11
See reviews for
71
773
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Another wonderful visit. This is one of our favorite places to stay at. Staff is top notch and are great helping with day plans. The food is way past 5 star. Michael and his chefs always outdo themselves. Mary Jo is always ready with a smile and helpful hints. You won't regret staying here. We will be back next year. Also they do European Foodie trips and we have been on 2 and they were best ever. Give it a try.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerrie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I are more of upscale traditional hotel kind of travelers, but we thought if there was ever a time to give a B&B a try our visit to Camden was it. We couldn't have been happier. The hotel definitely had the B&B feel, but without being too outdated or the feeling that you are at your grandma's house. Our suite was a great size with a living room, bedroom, and huge bathroom. Everyone that worked there was absolutely delightful and helped with terrific suggestions for our visit. Location was great. And the food was FANTASTIC. We found it to be a great value as well.

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite. It was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Positives about this B&B are the quality of the food for breakfast - home made and high end. The interior decor is very nice and well maintained. Location - you are right in the town so it's easy to walk all around.

The only item to think about is that the main house is located on a main road so the road noise may bother some people.

Room Tip: Away from the road side will be quieter for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEProp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I took my boyfriend here for two night as a birthday present. We stayed in the Lavender suite at the hideaway (which is around the block from the Main house.
The room was beautiful , with lavish painting and soft high quality bedding. We had a gas fireplace in the sitting room.& A Jacuzzi Tub . they supply beautiful bathrobes to use . The Staff couldn't be more helpful. They give you suggestions on what to do and printout how to get there.
The Food OMG the food. Michael is an amazing Chef, I could rave all day about how delicious everything was. Friendly staff very clean. The Area is beautiful. I want to Thank them for everything. I will defiantly be back.

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite you get two rooms. and it not expensive to upgrade .The Lavender room is beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manville, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is one of the best B&B's we have been to in a long time. The food and the service was top notch. My wife and I have been to many B&B's domestic and international and we have found the service and food was nothing less than First Class. The staff was very professional and friendly. We highly recommend Hartstone Inn..
George & Ann S.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

The rooms and food at the Hartstone Inn could not be more top notch. However, what really makes it even more memorable is the service. I'm used to navigating around the dairy on menus due to my lactose intolerance. Our first night at dinner, after I asked a couple of "is there any cream in this" questions, our server asked if I had lactose intolerance. Unknown to us, the staff was totally clued in after that for the entire weekend, and every dish was served to me in a special dairy free version without my asking. I have never had that level of service before.
We definitely plan to return to this haven in Maine!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lhgc999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.2 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartstone Inn & Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartstone Inn & Hideaway

Property: Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Address: 41 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartstone Inn & Hideaway 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine dining B&B Fodor's considers "An elegant and sophisticated retreat and culinary destination offering a unique experience in pampered luxury." Recipient of AAA's 4 Diamond Award of excellence for lodging and dining. Luxurious amenities include: memorable multi-course breakfast, fine linens & robes, down comforters and pillows, gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, MP3 players, TV/DVD, complementary WiFi and guest computers. Enhance your stay w/a gourmet picnic, massage or become Chef for the Day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hartstone Inn & Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartstone Inn And Hideaway
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway Hotel Camden
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing