We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn, but..........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely inn, but..........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hartstone Inn for 3 nights at the end of October 2013 during a 2 week tour of New England. The inn is excellently located very close to all amenities (restaurants, cafes, stores etc.) in the lovely town of Camden. Our room (the Loft) was very spacious, comfortable, well appointed and had a lovely big fireplace with a seating area.

We felt however that there was something very impersonal about our stay there. The staff - while pleasant enough - were business like rather than friendly. In particular, the service at breakfast was nothing like what we had experienced in other New England inns on our trip. There was no choice offered - the food was just brought to your table whether it was something you liked or not - and it all seemed really rushed, as though they just wanted to get everyone in and out as quickly as possible. This actually led us to go elsewhere for breakfast on one of the mornings - we went to Boynton's (lovely!) in the village and had a leisurely breakfast there instead.

Our experience at the Hartstone Inn was somewhat disappointing which is a shame as it is really a lovely inn......but there was nothing about our experience there that would make us want to go back I'm afraid.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AutumnTraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    105
    38
    19
    11
See reviews for
71
765
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Hartstone Inn was one of the prettiest places I have ever stayed .... and the food was exceptional! Very cozy living room with delicious homemade cookies. Great location. Sparkling clean. And oh, the confortable bed ...........What a great getaway!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amwtlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed at the Hartstone as it was a pet friendly Inn. We were rewarded additionally by tasteful, comfortable accommodations, hospitable service and an exceptional dinner. The Inn is centrally located in charming Camden - we will return!

Room Tip: Our room had a private entrance - helpful when traveling with a puppy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is one of my husband's and my favorite places. We just had our second stay, and have decided to make it a tradition to get there at least once a year. They really know how to treat their guests with great food, amazing accommodations, and very helpful, friendly service. There just is not anything even slightly negative to say about this place. It's simply the best.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the French Thyme room and the Arbor Suite. Both gorgeous, comfortable, quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and I previously owned a Relais-Chateaux property, so we realize what it takes to provide superior service and amenities. The Hartstone Inn is equal to any Relais regarding service, dining, and amenities, and this is the only hotel that we go back time and again. I could go on for paragraphs regarding their superiority but once you stay ---you will be hooked.

Room Tip: The Thyme Suite is a favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeysmomnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is the second time I have been to the Hartstone Inn for a few days of relaxation before crunch time of the holidays. It is without a doubt a wonderful, relaxing place with attention to details; staff is very welcoming, rooms are lovely, food is superbly cooked and beautiful presented and the ambiance of the main building is just delightful. Christmas decorations were so elegant and I loved sitting by the Christmas tree and fireplace having a glass of wine. It is also within walking distance of the downtown shops. Can't wait to go back! Thank you, Hartstone!

Room Tip: I have stayed in the Rose Hip room in the building across the way and the Garden Suite at the Inn it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I could go on and on about this wonderful place! First of all, as an Inn, this is just a great place for a getaway. The rooms are exquisitely decorated. Anywhere you turn you have gorgeous orchids to look at. Growing orchids is the Chef's wife passion. There is no huge dining room there but a succession of rooms which makes it less noisy than an average restaurant. I have dinned there several times and the service is always impeccable. The Chef, Michael Salmon knows his craft through and through. The menu is changed regularly but you can be sure to find refinement. There is a lot of creativity even in well known dishes like Maine crab and shrimp cakes and the Chef will incorporate spices in a subtile way. And if there is a soufflé on the dessert list you have to try it! Especially the walnut one… it is unforgettable. Not so long ago I went there when Michael was on one of his culinary tours in France. Well, the food was as delicious and well prepared as usual. A testimonial that not only he is a fabulous Chef but also has a great team working along!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 120CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.2 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartstone Inn & Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartstone Inn & Hideaway

Property: Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Address: 41 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartstone Inn & Hideaway 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine dining B&B Fodor's considers "An elegant and sophisticated retreat and culinary destination offering a unique experience in pampered luxury." Recipient of AAA's 4 Diamond Award of excellence for lodging and dining. Luxurious amenities include: memorable multi-course breakfast, fine linens & robes, down comforters and pillows, gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, MP3 players, TV/DVD, complementary WiFi and guest computers. Enhance your stay w/a gourmet picnic, massage or become Chef for the Day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hartstone Inn & Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartstone Inn And Hideaway
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway Hotel Camden
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing