We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing weekend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hartstone Inn & Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Ranked #7 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
1 review
“What an amazing weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2008

My husband and I took a trip up to my hometown of Camden to have a weekend away from New York. From the moment I made the reservation, the Inn was tremendously accommodating. We were interested in taking the cooking class and combined it with a stay in the Arbor Suite. We got stuck in a snowstorm and decided to stay an extra day. It was no problem. My sister wanted to join us for breakfast one day. No problem. Staying there was so pampering! The staff made us feel as though we were their personal guests. The room was exquisite (it was the most comfortable bed I'd ever slept in, and sitting in front of the fire during the snowstorm was so nice!), the food astonishing, the cooking class wonderful, and the overall experience was truly something we'd love to repeat. Having family in the area, we rarely stay in bed and breakfasts, but we'd do it again in a minute. Camden is a great place to get away to in the summer and winter, and I think that Hartstone is an amazing value for the rates they charge, especially given their location. We had a terrific time!

  • Liked — Location, above and beyond service, and food.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kgirlnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    105
    38
    19
    11
See reviews for
71
761
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

My husband and I were given a Select Registry gift card for our anniversary. Select Registry, if you're not familiar, is a group of highly rated Bed & Breakfast's throughout the country. We thought it was a great gift, but we were really torn on where to go. We wanted to go somewhere where we could have a nice, relaxing weekend but at the same time have something fun to do. Choosing the Hartstone Inn in Camden, Maine was the perfect decision!

The Hartstone Inn is a wonderful retreat in the charming town of Camden. Our room was beautifully decorated and nice and cozy with a fireplace and just about the warmest blanket I've ever felt draped across the bed. (Such a great blanket, we even bought the same one in the Inn's gift shop before leaving!) Our room also had a large Jacuzzi tub which added to the relaxation we were seeking.

My favorite part of our get-away weekend was the food! Breakfast was fabulous, each morning there were two courses of delicious, gourmet goodies, and a creative homemade fruit smoothie. Dinner was not only a wonderful five course meal that we enjoyed in the qaint dining room at the Inn, but it was even more special because we got to help prepare it! That's right; we enrolled for the "Chef for a Day" class that is offered at the Hartstone Inn, and helped prepare dinner (while learning the tricks of the trade) from the wonderfully talented and very patient Chef Michael Salmon. If you are someone who equally enjoys cooking and eating great food, this is the experience for you!

In addition to all the wonderful amenities, cooking classes, lovely rooms and charming setting, the ownership and service at the Hartstone Inn is impeccable. We felt taken care of from the moment we arrived. Our winter get-away has got us licking our lips wondering, "What's on the menu this summer?" We can't wait to return.

  • Liked — The food!
  • Disliked — It's cold in Maine in the winter...but very pretty
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester, ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2008

My boyfriend and I booked a weekend away at the Hartstone Inn after receiving a BB Online gift certificate and reading all the wonderful reviews of Hartstone online. I wasn't sure it would live up to the reviews and the website (which really shows off the beautiful rooms), but it truly exceeded our expectations.

The staff were pleasant and welcoming. All the rooms were beautifully decorated, very cozy, and immaculate. The bed was so comfortable and they provided all the amenities of home.

The evening we arrived we enjoyed dinner at Hartstone and were so pleased! It worked out that we had a private dining room with a fireplace (first come, first serve for seating for the 7PM dinner) and the meal was fantastic. The main course was a sauteed halibut with a cauliflower puree and raisin, pinenut and caper sauce and was delicious! Dessert was a hazelnut souffle with chocolate sauce. My boyfriend was concerned that "gourmet" cuisine might mean little portions -- not the case at Hartstone! We were so full; it was nice that all we had to do was go upstairs to our room and relax. Chef, Michael Salmon, came around during the meal to check in and say hello. His wife served many of this dishes. This attention to detail and high quality services is present throughout the B&B.

The following day, I participated in the cooking class which is run by Chef/Owner Michael Salmon. The food prepared was fabulous! The class began with Raspberry Mojitos and wine was available for the duration of the 2 hours class. He prepared a blue cheese and shrimp tartlet with bosc pears, hanger steak with a chimi-curri sauce, creme carmel with plumped apricots and candied tangerine peels. It sounded like it would be really difficult to make, but Michael was able to present the recipes and techniques in a manner that is doable for the at-home cook. I took home some great recipes that I can't wait to try!

The dinner and cooking class can give you an idea of what breakfast looked like. This not your average B&B breakfast. Apple tarts, eggs benedict with smoked salmon, pineapple fritters with pistachio and a vanilla custard sauce (which my boyfriend is still talking about!) and quiche.

Hartstone is perfect for a really special occasion, but affordable enough for a just a great weekend away. We drove from central Massachusetts (about 4 hours) and it was absolutely worth the trip! I highly recommend it and can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Atmosphere, Excellent Food
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ering14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2008

My husband and I returned from another magnificent weekend in Camden, Maine. We've been staying with Mary Jo and Michael for many years. They are outstanding hosts in every way. Mary Jo has a wonderful way of attending to personal details, whether it's remembering we like hot chocolate at breakfast, or providing tips on buying the perfect mattress topper. We look forward to each interaction with her. Michael's food always sends us over the top. His expertise and panache makes even here-to-for "least favorites" (e.g., lamb) taste divine. We always feel pampered in his dining room!

Our February stay was at the Hartstone's latest acquisition, the Camden Hideaway. Nestled close to the Hartstone Inn, this fantastic property combines intimacy with treasured Hartsone hallmarks of delicious breakfasts and rooms that are complete retreats. We brought 3 couples with us and they became quick converts!

Don't miss an opportunity to have the Hartstone experience. It's the best discovery we ever made.

  • Liked — Top notch accommodations, excellent food
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank meemwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2008

From the minute we pulled into the parking lot we noticed the lovely landscaping around the Inn. We knew this place was taken care of.

We where warmly welcomed by Mary Jo (co-owner) who showed us to our room, a spacious bi-level suite. The bedroom was so romantic King size bed with columns on the second floor and a sitting area on the first floor. We felt like a King and Queen. We got so comfortable we did not want to leave the room but we were so glad we did for the outstanding cuisine. Just when we thought it couldn’t get better than this it did. Do not miss dinner at the Heathstone! Prepared by Michael: award wining chef and owner.

The staff was wonderful, especially at dinner and breakfast, which was in a lovely sunny breakfast room and there were choices for breakfast, what a treat.

We did venture out during our stay and each day we had help with things to do and directions to get there.

One last recommendation: if you are looking for something extra memorable, they offer many choices. We had the personalized Chocolates; we even took a picture of them unfortunately not with a digital camera.

We were sad to leave but know we will be back again and again. We appreciate all the special touches in decorating nothing was overdone. Everything was just perfect!!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank netripgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2008

My husband and I just returned from another relaxing and fabulous weekend at the Hartstone Inn. (1/18/08 thru 1/21/08)This was our third stay in the past four months and each time as we are driving home, we begin planning our next visit.

The Hartstone Inn was the first Inn my husband and I visited together several years back, and we continue to compare other Inn's to the fabulous service, welcoming staff, and attention to detail that we consistently receive. I can tell you that in our experience, no other Inn can compare.

Mary Jo, Michael and their staff go above and beyond to ensure all of their guests feel welcome and pampered during their stay. With each visit we are delighted to greet our hosts and experience all that the Hartstone has to offer, from the comfortable beds, luxuriously appointed guest rooms, fabulous breakfasts, and of course Michael's amazing dinners.

We look forward to our next visit to this lovely place, we like to think of it as our special little corner in the world. Thank you Mary Jo, Michael, Lori and others for making each visit so special.

  • Liked — Everything! Mary Jo, Michael and their staff make each visit memorable
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything was excellent.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaPuppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

My wife and I returned last week from a wonderful New Years trip to Camden, Maine and the Hartstone Inn. We have returned to the Hartstone to greet the last seven New Years and a few summer visits also. Michael and Mary Jo just make it feel like you are comming home whenever you visit. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated. Breakfast is seved everyday and is not to be missed. Another treat is Michael's dinners; 5 courses on most nights but on New Years eve it is a ten course wonder.

Everyone at the Harstone wants you to have a great visit and it shows in all they do.

I always eagerly await our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank David251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartstone Inn & Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartstone Inn & Hideaway

Property: Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Address: 41 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartstone Inn & Hideaway 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine dining B&B Fodor's considers "An elegant and sophisticated retreat and culinary destination offering a unique experience in pampered luxury." Recipient of AAA's 4 Diamond Award of excellence for lodging and dining. Luxurious amenities include: memorable multi-course breakfast, fine linens & robes, down comforters and pillows, gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, MP3 players, TV/DVD, complementary WiFi and guest computers. Enhance your stay w/a gourmet picnic, massage or become Chef for the Day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hartstone Inn & Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartstone Inn And Hideaway
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway Hotel Camden
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing