We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay in Camden!”
Review of Captain Swift Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Swift Inn
Ranked #11 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
1 review
“Best Place to stay in Camden!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Norm and Linda are warm and friendly people. Immediately upon our arrival we were greeted by Norm who was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us a few ideas of things to do on our four day stay before showing us to our rooms. We stayed in the Coastal Hideaway Suite which was very spacious and comfortable. The whirlpool bath also comes in very handy after a day of hiking around Mt. Battie and Megunticook. The breakfast was amazing all four days we stayed. Two courses every day with coffee and juice. The inn is only a short walk to downtown and the harbor. We am looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffandJessK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
185
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I agree with the reviews below; The Captain Swift Inn is a great choice. Linda and Norm are wonderful hosts, and very helpful with local information, especially with Norm's "custom" map. Ajax the dog is a sweetie, too. Breakfasts were very good, and the Bay Breeze room was roomy and comfortable. I appreciated the guest passes for the local YMCA, and it was so convenient to be able to walk to the town center. Don't miss visiting the Camden Library-great harbor views and lots of interesting history.

Room Tip: The Bay Breeze is nice, but up the narrow, steep staircase in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We returned to the Captain Swift recently for our second visit under the current owners. The inn is very well situated in the picturesque town of Camden Maine. It’s walking distance to town and restaurants and has ample parking. The innkeepers are very nice and most accommodating. Breakfasts were delicious and they readily adjusted to our special needs. The food was of very high quality with plenty of fruit but I would suggest some healthier and less filling options be made available. Our room was very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. We had the handicapped room right off the main sitting area but were not bothered by the noise outside the room. The hosts are very helpful with things to do in the area. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pisces0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Linda and Norm are great. We immediately were put to ease by Norm who showed us to the Greensleeves room. Small but very adequate with a nice sitting area. We stayed for to nights and enjoyed our sleep. Breakfasts will hold you to dinner time. Blueberry pancakes, bacon, and roasted pears the first day and made to order veggie omelets, sausage, pumpkin muffin and yogurt, granola and blackberries and strawberry. By far, tis was the most delicious and generous breakfasts on our two week stay along the Maine coasts. Ajax the dog is delightful. We would highly recommend the Captain Swift. Great value and lovely people.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doloresandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our one-night stay at the Captain Swift Inn. The room was clean, spacious and very thoughtfully equipped for our enjoyment and ease. The Inn, on one of the town's main streets, is within easy walking distance to the shops, galleries, and restaurants of the Camden harbor. Our hosts were caring and have years of providing the best B & B experience possible. Breakfast was substantial, and filled us so that we skipped lunch that day. I was especially pleased with the extra-large mugs for coffee and tea. They seemed to say "please, enjoy all that we have to offer."

Room Tip: Accommodation for guests with mobility issues are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lovely B&B! Room was charming and spacious, breakfast delicious, hosts very friendly and accommodating. Steep stairway was a bit challenging for my mobility-impaired husband, but by taking it slow and carefully, he did just fine. Proximity to town and the harbor was a plus. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, ON
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Captain Swift Inn is a wonderful B&B that my husband and I have returned to over the past couple of years. We have a long day of travel before we arrive in Camden, so knowing we have a lovely place to stay makes the trip worthwhile. Our most recent stays, (a night in July and another this month), were fabulous. Linda and Norm are amazing people and run the Inn to perfection and always make us feel welcome! The rooms are clean and comfortable and you feel like you are home. Cookies and lemonade on the sideboard in the entrance room each day are a nice treat. Breakfast is always delicious and filling. (The waffles are my favorite). They have coffee set out in the entrance area to enjoy before breakfast and they also have a Kuerig coffee maker in the dining room with a great selection of coffee and tea. The location of the Inn is ideal so you can park your vehicle and walk to the downtown area for dinner, shopping and sightseeing. Our great experiences at the Captain Swift Inn have us looking forward to returning next year. Thanks again Linda and Norm!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 125Nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#3 of 19 in Camden
342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Swift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Swift Inn

Property: Captain Swift Inn
Address: 72 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1907
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Camden, Maine finest at the Captain Swift Inn. This 1810, Federal-style home sits in the heart of Camden, a beautiful seaside village in Mid-coast Maine. Just a short stroll from the inn and you will find yourself amongst the abundance of Camden's unique shops, galleries, restaurants and the historic windjammers of Camden Harbor... all just waiting for you to explore. The Captain Swift Inn offers guest rooms for romantic escapes, family getaways, or just to relax and renew. A delicious complimentary, multi-course breakfast is served each morning of your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain Swift Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing