We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Endearing, & Ever Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camden Windward House
Ranked #5 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent, Endearing, & Ever Lovely”
Reviewed August 7, 2007

This was our first visit to the New England area and easily, one of the most pleasant of all our Love Project destinations to date.

Jesse greeted us at a very late hour (we drove from Boston) and in the midst of a spectacular lightening storm! The Windrose suite is a particularly romantic room complete with an old fashion clawfoot tub, thee most comfortable bed we have experienced yet on this venture, and fresh flowers to boot from the inn's plentiful gardens.
Kristen and Jesse make your stay easy and relaxed with your very own breakfast menu to peruse each morning and their willingness to make suggestions for activities, reservations for dinner, or just to chat about the history of the town. Ask to throw the ball around with the adorably sweet "Moxie" (the resident Labradoodle).
Camden is evidence of a phenomenon no one ever talks about: NORTHERN hospitality! We were so amazed (simply because we're not used to it!) and very pleased with the genuine "hello's" & "nice weather we're having" comments received from most locals as we passed by them in town.
And because food is such an important piece of our traveling adventures, it bears mentioning that we were in shellfish heaven for this long weekend! We did not experience one subpar meal the entire time (we're still dreaming about those lobster rolls). Go sailing with one of the many Schooner outfitters (we went with the Olad) for gorgeous views of the coastline.
Thank you for participating Kristen & Jesse! We're so glad we chose the Windward House!

Marco & Lisa from aloveproject

  • Liked — the charm and genuine hospitality
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aloveproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    35
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
43
264
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Just returned from a three night stay at the Windward
Bed & Breakfast in Camden, Maine. The three most
outstanding features of this lovely, historic and wonderfully
located inn was the terrific bed, great shower and
a breakfast where you could actually choose what you
wished to eat. Unlike other B&B's where you are forced to
eat whatever the innkeeper is preparing, Kristin and
Jessie BiFulco offer you great choices, like blueberry
pancakes, oatmeal, eggs any style and of course their
daily special. The Innkeepers are very friendly and warm.
Their recommendations of restaurants and attractions in the
area were right on the money. The inn is situated within
walking distance of the charming town and harbor where
we went sailing on the landmark sailboat "Surprise", a
great experience. This young couple who have recently
purchased the Windward are natural innkeepers, a quality
you don't always find. Our room in the Rose Suite was spacious
and very private. I highly recommend this B& B and will
certainly return.

  • Liked — Suite was very spacious and had large bathroom with soaking tub and separate shower
  • Disliked — A number of steps going up to suite which was on second floor
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, ME
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

Location, location, location -right on the edge of town, the WIndward house is ideal for a day and night in Camden. We stayed in the Brass room which had our own deck and was perfect for a bottle of wine before we went our for an amazing dinner at Francine's Bistro.
The bed was quite comfortable and the breakfast food was quite good - although a little hectic as it was the start of the summer season. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Maine03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

Stayed here with our 2 teenage children - great accommodation - Crow's Nest suite - two rooms at top of house each with bathroom and a small lounge. Inn itself was super, great balcony off the bar - the inn is licensed and have a good wine cellar. Welcoming lounge with early morning coffee and super cakes/biscuits with tea or homemade lemonade each afternoon. Good garden too. Breakfasts were excellent - the best we had at various New England Inns. Would definitely revisit.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Persephone20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

We only stayed one night here, but wished we had booked for longer.

The inn is conveniently located to central Camden with plenty of space.

We had a lovely room with a big balcony with view towards the hills.- which ewas great for relaxing on.

afternoon cookies and breakfast wewre both very good!

Best to book either directly with the inn, on the web or through a recommended travel agent. Unfortunately we used the Vacations Group in the UK and were over-charged

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Addyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

My husband and I had 9 glorious days at the Camden Windward House at the end of July/beginning of August - probably some of the longest staying guests but this was an exceptional place to make our centre and explore the region and we were really sorry to leave. We had glorious weather and loved our room - the Brass Room - particularly as it had a balcony with furniture which overlooked the garden at the back of the house and which we made good use of both in the morning and evenings. The bed was just so comfortable - nothing else matched it on the rest of our holiday and although there was ac in every room, we hardly needed to use ours because of the ceiling fan and plenty of fresh air through the window and door to the balcony The whole house is just delightful, feels like a 'home' and we felt lucky to find it and share it and are convinced that our decision to leave safe but impersonal 'hotel land' is fully justified. Our hosts Jesse and Kristen couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble and they are genuinely interested in their guests and take the time to talk, listen, advise and share some laughs. We really felt we had made new friends. Jesse's breakfasts were delicious and what a challenge to produce a different menu every day!

Camden itself is a real gem and we never tired of the wonderful view of the harbour when we walked those few yards down the road to town and turned the corner by the library. The shops are really good and believe me I sampled the majority of them! As far as eating locally, we loved the food particularly the upstairs balcony of the Camden Deli for lunch. For something a little more special in the evenings try Ephemere - it was superb. Other fun places included Peter Otts and Cappy's. Other guests at the time liked Atlantica too but we did not have time to try it. Saving it for our next visit.

We were lucky enough to have the good weather to get out on the water. The Schooner 'Surprise' was a fun 2 hour sail particularly when the wind got up and we also went out on a smaller boat with the 'Lobster Man' - a really informative 2 hour 'nature' trip that would suit kids as well. Make sure you go through the back route to Rockport (delightful harbour) and see the Black Belted Galloway cows at Aldermarle Farm. Mount Battie is a 'must' on a clear day. Castine to the north is an interesting town to stroll around and the best lobster roll in the area is to be had at the Variety Store. To the south - Port Clyde is 40 minutes drive away and take the boat to Monhegan Island - interesting artist colony. Eat at the pier at Port Clyde on the way back - excellent menu and try the 'catch of the day'. Further south and about one and a half hours away is Freeport and here you can really shop 'til you drop'. Also, although Wiscassett bridge will certainly hold you up on this route, at the south side is Red's, again an excellent lobster roll. Rather nearer is Rockland and ofcourse the Lobster Festival in August . Some really good live music in the evenings but otherwise only go if you like to eat lobster all day and ride the fairground! No need to drive though - a tram goes from Camden regularly on the hour. Also at Rockland is an excellent lighhouse museum and the Farnsworth Gallery. Driving off the main highway in the whole area is much more fun if you have a good map - the side roads and the peninsulas are really pretty. Also try Meganticook lake beach for safe swimming/paddling for the kids.

  • Liked — Friendliness of teh hosts
  • Disliked — There was nothing we didn't like
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BWHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.1 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#3 of 19 in Camden
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Windward House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Windward House

Property: Camden Windward House
Address: 6 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1611
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camden Windward House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful Bed and Breakfast is rich in charm and history. 1 block from the harbor, stores and restaurants. Walking distance to everything including hiking trails and schooner boats. The Inn is friendly and has all modern day amenities. Breakfast is a menu style and made to order. Tea and treats are available during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Camden Windward House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Windward House Hotel Camden
Camden Windward House Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing