We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Maine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camden Windward House
Ranked #4 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2007

Stayed here with our 2 teenage children - great accommodation - Crow's Nest suite - two rooms at top of house each with bathroom and a small lounge. Inn itself was super, great balcony off the bar - the inn is licensed and have a good wine cellar. Welcoming lounge with early morning coffee and super cakes/biscuits with tea or homemade lemonade each afternoon. Good garden too. Breakfasts were excellent - the best we had at various New England Inns. Would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persephone20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 420 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2006

We only stayed one night here, but wished we had booked for longer.

The inn is conveniently located to central Camden with plenty of space.

We had a lovely room with a big balcony with view towards the hills.- which ewas great for relaxing on.

afternoon cookies and breakfast wewre both very good!

Best to book either directly with the inn, on the web or through a recommended travel agent. Unfortunately we used the Vacations Group in the UK and were over-charged

Stayed: August 2006
1  Thank Addyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2006

My husband and I had 9 glorious days at the Camden Windward House at the end of July/beginning of August - probably some of the longest staying guests but this was an exceptional place to make our centre and explore the region and we were really sorry to leave. We had glorious weather and loved our room - the Brass Room - particularly as it had a balcony with furniture which overlooked the garden at the back of the house and which we made good use of both in the morning and evenings. The bed was just so comfortable - nothing else matched it on the rest of our holiday and although there was ac in every room, we hardly needed to use ours because of the ceiling fan and plenty of fresh air through the window and door to the balcony The whole house is just delightful, feels like a 'home' and we felt lucky to find it and share it and are convinced that our decision to leave safe but impersonal 'hotel land' is fully justified. Our hosts Jesse and Kristen couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble and they are genuinely interested in their guests and take the time to talk, listen, advise and share some laughs. We really felt we had made new friends. Jesse's breakfasts were delicious and what a challenge to produce a different menu every day!

Camden itself is a real gem and we never tired of the wonderful view of the harbour when we walked those few yards down the road to town and turned the corner by the library. The shops are really good and believe me I sampled the majority of them! As far as eating locally, we loved the food particularly the upstairs balcony of the Camden Deli for lunch. For something a little more special in the evenings try Ephemere - it was superb. Other fun places included Peter Otts and Cappy's. Other guests at the time liked Atlantica too but we did not have time to try it. Saving it for our next visit.

We were lucky enough to have the good weather to get out on the water. The Schooner 'Surprise' was a fun 2 hour sail particularly when the wind got up and we also went out on a smaller boat with the 'Lobster Man' - a really informative 2 hour 'nature' trip that would suit kids as well. Make sure you go through the back route to Rockport (delightful harbour) and see the Black Belted Galloway cows at Aldermarle Farm. Mount Battie is a 'must' on a clear day. Castine to the north is an interesting town to stroll around and the best lobster roll in the area is to be had at the Variety Store. To the south - Port Clyde is 40 minutes drive away and take the boat to Monhegan Island - interesting artist colony. Eat at the pier at Port Clyde on the way back - excellent menu and try the 'catch of the day'. Further south and about one and a half hours away is Freeport and here you can really shop 'til you drop'. Also, although Wiscassett bridge will certainly hold you up on this route, at the south side is Red's, again an excellent lobster roll. Rather nearer is Rockland and ofcourse the Lobster Festival in August . Some really good live music in the evenings but otherwise only go if you like to eat lobster all day and ride the fairground! No need to drive though - a tram goes from Camden regularly on the hour. Also at Rockland is an excellent lighhouse museum and the Farnsworth Gallery. Driving off the main highway in the whole area is much more fun if you have a good map - the side roads and the peninsulas are really pretty. Also try Meganticook lake beach for safe swimming/paddling for the kids.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BWHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2006

Thank FingerlakesEmigrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2006

Stayed: April 2006
Thank benny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buffy4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia, PA
12
Reviewed October 20, 2005

Stayed: October 2005
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.2 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
0 mi away
Hawthorn Inn
Hawthorn Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Windward House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Windward House

Address: 6 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1611
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range: $163 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camden Windward House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful Bed and Breakfast is rich in charm and history. 1 block from the harbor, stores and restaurants. Walking distance to everything including hiking trails and schooner boats. The Inn is friendly and has all modern day amenities. Breakfast is a menu style and made to order. Tea and treats are available during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camden Windward House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Windward House Hotel Camden
Camden Windward House Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing