We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute perfect place for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camden Windward House
Ranked #4 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Conway, NH
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute perfect place for us!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I couldn't ask for a better B&B. The location is ideal-- right in town, within walking distance to everything, including the trail up a small mtn. The owners are wonderfully laid back and friendly. I had delicious home baked fresh cookies when I arrived! The room was amazing and included a TV and movies and a comfy couch and a great bathroom, plus a full super comfy king bed. The price was so so reasonable for off-season (thank you!) and the breakfast= best I've ever had!!! They made me gluten-free pancakes without any hesitation. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone, but would especially recommend it to someone with dietary restrictions. They do fantastic gluten-free, vegan and I have no doubt could meet everyone's needs with grace and high quality. I can't wait to stay here again and again...

Room Tip: Chart Room was super roomy and comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    36
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
272
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My Honey took me to a nice B&B in Camden, Maine last weekend called the Windward House. Our room had a private entrance, gas 'wood' stove, vaulted ceilings, large windows, private deck, jacuzzi tub, and came with a great breakfast (with vegetarian bacon or sausage options!).

It snowed lightly that evening, making a pretty scene to look at through the large windows, while we snuggled next to the fire with a glass of wine.

Kristen Bifulco, one of the Innkeepers, came out and chatted with us during breakfast about the area and things to do.

We had a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie314T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a great place to stay.Great location to every thing in Camden. Very walkable. Friendly hosts both were very easy to talk to, seemed like getting a cup of their excellent coffee sitting by the pretty fireplace or sitting in the simple dinning room with them would have been a very nice and interesting thing to do. They run a very nice place.We stayed in the brass room on the 2nd floor it was clean, spacious, comfortable with a great queen brass bed,2 comfortable chairs a table lots of lights large chest of draws a small flat screen tv and a large bright bathroom with heat a window a large shower with 2 seats and lot of shelves for storage. and a huge private deck over looking the back yard with many plantings and gardens and trees.With the leaves down we had a nice view of mount battie and the star on the top. very nice. The room as was the whole house was very quiet inside. We had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was very nice. there is coffee ready at 7:00 am breakfast was served from 7:30 to 9:30 you get a menu with options breakfast starts with a small bowl of fresh fruit several choices of juice then pancakes waffles eggs plus the best bacon we have had or sausage.There is also a special of the day. In 2 days wife had cheddar mushroom omelet and orange yoghourt pancakes, I had the same pancakes and eggs Benedict which were excellent, very nice portions you started your day full of very good comfort food. They serve quality food that can be made vegan or gulton free. There are many B&Bs in Camden I do not think you could make a bad choice, but when you add it all up location, friendly, breakfast with time and food choices all in a clean,, simple, unpretentious home and a good value This is the place. We shall return.

Room Tip: all rooms are different check website they offer good descriptions and accurate pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlefield3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the Windward House Inn in Camden in October.
The friendly welcome by Jesse and Kristi was the start of a great stay. The inn is perfectly situated for the town and waterfront with excellent restaurants and shops.
The room was very comfortable and, unusually for an inn, a choice of breakfasts was provided which were first class. Jesse, there's always room for you at our house in Wales.
If you're travelling the Maine coast, you will not find better.
Ignore my rating of swimming pool - there was not one but that made no difference when there was so much to do in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Windward House multiple times over a ten year span. I very much enjoy Kristi and Jesse's attention to details with each of our visits. They have even had my favorite breakfast made for me two different visits! I LOVE the short walk to downtown Camden and the view of the Bay from the lawn at the Library. I have stayed in most of the rooms at the Inn and find I enjoy the room off the main sitting area and the room with its own entrance near the drive way (can't recall the "current" room names!) I look forward to each of my visits to my "home away from home".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Camden Windward House is a lovely guest house close to the centre of camden. The breakfasts are to die for and the hosts, Kristi and Jesse were fantastic. The organised a trip for us to catch our own lobster then cooked it for us in the evening...fantastic service.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Selina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had only two nights in this beautiful, historic B&B, but wished it could have been more. Located only a few blocks from the downtown and harbor area. No need to worry about driving. Park in the private lot and go! Our room was on the second floor and was gorgeous. A dreamy comfortable bed with period furniture and a clean and spacious bathroom. Each morning we were greeted with a delicious home made breakfast. It was so enjoyable meeting the other guests and chatting over coffee and wonderful food. Our hosts were friendly and helpful with any questions we had. We highly recommend this lovely B&B for anyone visiting picturesque Camden.

Room Tip: Pick any one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apher97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Windward House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Windward House

Property: Camden Windward House
Address: 6 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1611
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camden Windward House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful Bed and Breakfast is rich in charm and history. 1 block from the harbor, stores and restaurants. Walking distance to everything including hiking trails and schooner boats. The Inn is friendly and has all modern day amenities. Breakfast is a menu style and made to order. Tea and treats are available during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Camden Windward House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Windward House Hotel Camden
Camden Windward House Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing