We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camden Windward House
Ranked #4 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed for one night and enjoyed a beautiful room, (with hand pressed sheets,!), a great homemade breakfast with menu choices,and local ingredients, and the personal attention of our hosts. Following a warm welcome, we were given suggestions for trails to hike and points of interests in the downtown area.

Very well located, everything is in walking distance and parking alongside the Inn made it easy to leave the car for the duration of the visit.

Camden is lovely and so were our hosts; we look forward to going back. and recommend it wholeheartedly.

The Dionnes

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denyse l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    36
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
273
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Etowah, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Tucked away, just outside the busiest section of Camden...this is a gem! Private off-street parking provides peace of mind about not getting a parking spot or a parking ticket. The friendly staff really takes pride in ensuring you have a wonderful experience.

Situated within very close walking distance to the "strip" this was the perfect place to stay. They even double-double glazed the windows so that any fear of traffic noise was simply a non-issue.

And the room...the Chart Room was SUCH a nice suite! Everything we wanted or needed was right within reach. Great books, TV, fridge...air conditioning (thank you!!!)

Oh, but wait! The FOOD!!!! We had an excellent hand-crafted COOKED TO ORDER breakfast. This was a first for me in the realm of B&Bs.

Overall, an excellent stay. Many thanks to Kristi & Jesse & Gang!!!

Room Tip: Either the Chart Room or the big new suite added on upstairs in the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregWeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Camden Windward House for one night and absolutely loved it! First of all, we arrived early and Kristie right away made us feel comfortable and gave us great recommedations for our day and night. In the meanwhile, she had them finish cleaning our room so that we could get into it and get situated before we left for a hike. She gave us great suggestions and made our reservation for dinner that night at a fabulous place. The next morning we had an amazing breakfast in a very comfortable atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again and recommed to anyone visiting Camden!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Comfortable B&B with an outstanding breakfast and gracious hosts. My wife is vegan and Jesse had no problem accomodating her needs during breakfast. Windward house is ideally located close to downtown Camden and adjacent to Camden Hills State Park which offers many great hiking trails.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocco I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern, VA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Camden Windward House was pleasant, although I would not recommend the Crows Nest room unless you are trying to save a bit. The hosts were very nice; breakfast was good; the house was extremely clean (I have a dust allergy and didn't have any problems here) and it is in town, just a few blocks and about a one minute walk to the heart of town. You cannot beat the convenience.

We stayed in the Crows Nest room on the top floor - I believe there are two; we stayed in one that had one large bed. It was quiet and had a cute skylight above the bed. As we do expect in a B&B, there was no desk and no ironing board etc - this is not a hotel. However, what was a little difficult was, there was a low ceiling in half of the small ensuite bathroom, and the smallest shower ever (we are small people and yet our elbows hit the sides of the shower stall when we each took a shower). You might think twice before booking that room.

Room Tip: Crows Nest room is quiet and clean, but has a bathroom with slanted ceiling - watch your head! - and...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thymus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacambier
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We travel "Down East" Maine virtually every summer, and stay at Windward House when in Camden. We have seen this B&B become increasingly comfortable, and refined due to the efforts of the inkeepers and owners, Jesse and Kristie. Unlike many of the B&B's, they are the owners, hosts, and 'up keepers' of this lovely 'base' just a block from the heart of bucolic Camden Harbor. When in town, try here first, don't overlook the entirely organic home cooked menu, and enjoy what my wife and I look for when relaxing along the beautiful Maine coast.

Room Tip: Be clear about number in your party, as several room configurations exist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacambier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Certainly one of the best, if not the very best, B & B we've stayed in is the Camden Windward House. This beautiful historic house has been restored with every modern convenience. Although it is located on busy US 1, it is nestled on lovely grounds just a few blocks from the tourist crowds that swell into picturesque Camden. You'll get a great nights sleep here. The husband-wife owners provide an outstanding breakfast each morning, and they couldn't be friendler or more helpful, including making dinner reservations for you. Our room was the Chart Room Suite 5 with canopy bed, small tv and French doors leading to a private deck, and the suite included a sitting room with fireplace, AC, large tv/vcr/dvd, library with books and dvds, and a bathroom with a Jacuzzi whirlpool tub/shower combination.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EasyTraveller12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Windward House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Windward House

Property: Camden Windward House
Address: 6 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1611
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camden Windward House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful Bed and Breakfast is rich in charm and history. 1 block from the harbor, stores and restaurants. Walking distance to everything including hiking trails and schooner boats. The Inn is friendly and has all modern day amenities. Breakfast is a menu style and made to order. Tea and treats are available during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Camden Windward House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Windward House Hotel Camden
Camden Windward House Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing