We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inns at Blackberry Common
Ranked #7 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
“Lovely inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great location - 10 min walk to the town/waterfront. Kind staff with good suggestions on things to do in the area (even on a rainy day). Very nice room. The breakfast was amazing! We plan to go back again next summer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Bette Davis" room, (apparently named because she stayed there at one tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoytraveling19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    30
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
223
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

It's hard to sum up all of the great things about our stay at the Inns at Blackberry Common in one review, but I'll give it my best shot. My husband and I were just married at the Inns this past weekend, in the gorgeous gardens out back. Cyndi and Jim went above and beyond to make sure not only our big day, but our entire weekend went wonderfully. Not to mention, both of the Inns were completely full for the weekend, but we never would've known it since Jim & Cyndi were so attentive. Our families all flew in from the midwest, never having been to Maine, and I know that each and everyone of them had a wonderful time and really enjoyed their stay. I can't go too far without mentioning the amazing food we ate while at the Inn. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and our wedding dinner was fabulous! Jim is truly an incredible chef! The Inn is only a few blocks from downtown (easily walkable), where there are plenty of great restaurants and shops to check out. In the end, we had a wonderful stay and look forward to returning in the near future!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Treetops" room and felt it was worth every penny! The room was absolute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was surprised to see that this Inn was not ranked closer to #1 in Camden. This was our 2nd stay because we so loved it the 1st time. And we were just as delighted the 2nd time! Meticulous attention to detail, truly exceptional (somehow multicourse, yet light & delicious, daily variety, always beautifully presented w/fresh delicate flowers and herbs from their garden) breakfast - easily one of the best for all the B&B's we've stayed in, our bed was wonderful. I had avoided the pancakes the 1st morning for something more diet friendly (my request was easily accommodated). The owner/chef happened to chat with us the next day, saying they do whatever possible to put fresh, healthy food into their guests. For example the pancakes are actually made with whole grain flours, etc. I realized that at this place I could easily eat the pancakes (which I did on the next morning - very light and so delicious!) and stay true to my diet.
We're planning another visit next summer and look forward to booking our 3rd stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindarosscs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyndiO, Owner at Inns at Blackberry Common, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
First of all, thank you for taking your time to write a review! It does show that your travel experiences are very important to you... and they are to us too! We are so glad that you again enjoyed your stay here with us and that you appreciate the efforts we make in creating breakfast menus that are both healthy and delicious! Using our fresh herbs from the garden...and our own blackberries ... we then locally source all our other ingredients so that many dishes become a seasonal favorite!

And we are happy to hear you were well rested in those comfy beds and that you appreciated our attention to the little details! Any suggestions are always welcome on what else we can do to enhance your stay with us.

So glad you will be returning...that is truly the very best reward for us! And thank you again for your review...we too hope to move to the top of the list!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
389 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We travel quite a bit and really enjoy staying at Passport To New England Inns. My wife and I decided on the Inns at Blackberry Common for a short visit to the Maine coast. Not only were we glad we made this Inn our choice but we were especially pleased with our room. I will say that I generally look at the Inn's web-site prior to booking a room to insure I have some idea of what's available when I make my plans with the Inn so I did have some idea of the room in advance. The room had a nice seating area and a separate entrance to the garden. Very conducive to relaxing in while reading a good book or knitting, we did both, who needs TV. The staff was very courteous and helpful from the check-in process right through our leaving. Anytime we needed anything all we had to do was ask and it was taken care of promptly. Jim and Cyndi, the innkeepers, were great and very knowledgeable about the area. They provided both dining and day activity information and reservations for the latter activities. Jim prepared the most amazing breakfasts and you could tell he was a culinary trained chef. My wife is diabetic and was perfectly pleased with breakfast and its suitability to her needs. It was actually nice to not have to decide from an extensive menu what to eat for breakfast. We look forward to returning some weekend between November and June when Jim prepares Saturday Dinner. The gardens were very nice and in the morning you had the choice of dining inside or on the patio, of course that would depend on the weather. There is much to see and do in the area and the Inn's location made it convenient to walk down to the harbor as well travel to other local towns and sights. Be sure and take the drive up Mt Battie (or hike if you are into that), the views are spectacular. We went out on a Schooner for a 2+ hour trip and really enjoyed the ride, the sea air, and again the views of Penobscot Bay. If you are ever in this area I would recommend a stay at the Inns at Blackberry Common.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickandPaulineP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Our first B&B on the trip. We received a warm welcome, some problems with our two booking but not the fault of the owners.
We ate out down at the waterfront, great food and prices. Breakfast at the Blackberry was really good.
One issue for older people may be dragging heavy cases up narrow stairs.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank E-pottii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We didn't feel comfortable at this place. "Too early" was the first welcome we got as we came in earlier than the check-in time. I was warned immediately that I should have used the front door and rang the bell for check in, instead of using the side door that's near the parking area. I hadn't seen the sign next to the side door prompting to use the front door for check-in. I can't say the innkeeper lady wasn't nice, she did try to be helpful, I just didn't feel comfortable.

The breakfast may be the best thing about this inn, but it was the worst part of our stay here. They seem to cook carefully prepared starters, pancakes, waffles and omletes, but we don't eat anything sweet, and we don't like to eat too much eggs or butter. Even though they tried hard to satisfy our needs it turned out to be too time consuming and too complicated. The first day I was happy with polenta without the sweet sauce, and egg-white omelet.The second day our wish for boiled eggs had to be passed to the chef and turned down a couple of times before it was eventually granted. We had to spend much more time for breakfast than we wished. By the way, breakfast ends at 9:30 am. The third day we went to the market and had breakfast at the patio of our room.

But if you are flexible about food and you don't mind waiting for breakfast to be served it may be a good place for you.

There were good coffee machines in both buildings, but there wasn't always coffee.

Our room had a private entrance and a little patio (in Elms building) (make sure you have bug repellent). The room itself smelled pretty bad. The rooms in the main building may be very different of course, but the only reason I stayed at this inn was the private patio, but it wasn't very private and there was a lot of street noise. We also woke up at 8:30 in the morning to machinery noise; they were doing work near the patio, I'm not sure what.

No fridge. Shower was powerful, but water was leaking out of the shower cabin. Ten minutes walk to town center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDRaigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Unlike other recent reviewers our stay was not so enjoyable. We got allocted room 4 which is on the 3rd floor at the top of the building with no view and a very low ceiling. Washbasin is in the room rather than in the bathroom which we did not like. We found the room claustrophobic
and banged our heads several times on the low ceiling. No TV in room!

Breakfast was good and we liked the location

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.4 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.4 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inns at Blackberry Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns at Blackberry Common

Property: Inns at Blackberry Common
Address: 82 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inns at Blackberry Common 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Camden's best bed and breakfast inns, member of Select Registry! Just 3 blocks to harbor, shops & restaurants. Beautiful guest rooms many with fireplaces; all air conditioned. Private baths, many with soaking or whirlpool tubs. Choose a garden room with private entrance overlooking an acre of Maine perennial gardens with our own herbs and blackberry patch. Multi course gourmet breakfast daily. Special packages! Free wireless internet; free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inns at Blackberry Common reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns At Blackberry Common Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing