We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable way to spend the morning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schooner Olad Windjammer Cruise

Schooner Olad Windjammer Cruise
Ranked #3 of 11 Tours in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable way to spend the morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We took the two hour trip which departed Camden's waterfront. Cruised the Penobscot Bay and water was very calm and pleasant. 17 passenger excursion and boat used both sail and motor. Saw dolphins, seals, and an eagles nest on one of the islands.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KrakowRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    20
    1
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rough seas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The captain and mate were fabulous. They did everything they could to make our trip as comfortable as possible. They get an excellent. However, it was very windy that day and we all had to hold on tight to keep from sliding all over the deck. It's a beautiful schooner and on a normal windy day would no doubt be quite enjoyable. To be fair, one of the younger guys seemed to be having the time of his life.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MerryWanderer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Readington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun in the fog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Captain Aaron and Mate Jeff did a great job working with the passengers on whether or not to sail in very foggy conditions. We were reserved for the noon sailing, with unusually late fog rolling in. Aaron was checking with people who were out in the bay to get the best info available about conditions, waited a little while to see if conditions improved, and then gathered the passengers to offer options. We could cancel, switch to a later sail, go out for only an hour, or go for the 2-hours. A few people chose not to go, but over a dozen of us decided to try out the foggy sail. Aaron and Jeff were informative and entertaining and good company while piloting us around the area. Would it have been even better in gorgeous weather? Sure. We'd gone out on the Olad about 10 years ago (not long after Aaron became captain) and know how beautiful the area is from the water. Still, this was a new experience, and still a pleasure to be out there. Would have liked to hear more of Jeff's singing! We took beer and sandwiches, the guys helped with the sails, and Aaron reminded everyone to use sunscreen (foggy conditions are actually really dangerous for sunburn), offering it around for people who needed it. Would strongly recommend this as a fun way to see the area and get a taste of bygone days.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful ship, but NOT FAMILY FRIENDLY”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The Olad is a beautiful ship, but I am sorry to say that the trip is NOT FAMILY FRIENDLY.

We had beautiful weather and a nice morning breeze for our sail and were excited to take the kids along with us. We sat right up at the front of the ship so the kids could steer and learn from the captain.

Very early on, we realized that the captain (Aaron) did not really have a filter. His language was definitely not child appropriate, and we felt trapped on the ship. Furthermore, he spent most of the cruise talking about himself rather than pointing out the scenery, history and wildlife.

Also, safety was not really taken seriously on board. We had a very hard time convincing our daughter, who is nine, to wear her life jacket because she saw younger children on board who were not wearing theirs. The crew didn't step in at all. Even if it's not required by law, it seems like they should strongly encourage the use of life jackets for all children.

We walked away very frustrated and disappointed by the experience. We took a trip earlier in the week on Captain Jack's lobster boat and would highly encourage families to consider his trip instead!

Helpful?
3 Thank spelks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Let's go again!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had a beautiful trip out and back this past weekend. Relaxing way to see the harbor-great crew, very knowledgeable. Would do it again in a heartbeat!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Olad Windjammer Cruise also viewed

 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Schooner Olad Windjammer Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing