We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Camden Place
Ranked #15 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient and very comfortable”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

This was really a pleasant surprise. A beautiful room, an extremely helpful person at the desk and parking within feet of the entrance. Walk to everything in Camden. Will go Back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank us795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    26
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
61
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Our room was huge and very comfortable, clean and well appointed. One of the few B&B's that had a room with two queens that could accommodate three adults. The Innkeepers were very nice and helpful. Wine was provided in the sitting area at no charge. Our breakfast in the next door Bagel place was very good and convenient. The location was one block off the main street and you could walk anywhere from the Inn ... even a few miles down the road to Camden State Park if you like to walk/hike.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likestotravel009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Everything you've read about this hotel is true. It is a wonderful place- it has all the character and charm of a B&B with the professionalism and quality of a hotel. Everything about this place is perfect- location, service, cleanliness, decor, comfort, parking, you name it. For those not familiar with the are Camden is a quaint town on it's own but it is also just a short drive to Rockland (if you're coming for the Maine Lobster Festival).

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveler223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Camden, Maine, is a protected harbor with deep water, sufficient to have allowed sailing ships in past times to anchor safely, bringing the wool to the mills here which were fed by the running streams. Now, at the head of this harbor, over a previous mill race, lies The Inn at Camden Place, a small delightfully comfortable inn. The Inn is airy, clean and done in a white/beige theme that emphasizes the open theme, very refreshing. The rooms are large, either with queen or king beds. The room we (3 total) stayed in had two queens and was quite large, more like a suite. Breakfast is supplied at a nearby bagel shop, a wide range of food for breakfast, not simply bagels. The main room, in which the front desk resides, offers a red or white wine available to guests 24/7, along with the usual coffee. Camden is an active tourist town, full of shops and restaurants, with a harbor full of diverse types of boats, many of which (quite possibly all...) are for rent for tours, 2 hours at the time or for days, you choose. This is a wonderful seaside town, not too far from the Acadia national park. The Inn at Camden Place is lush, comfortable and makes one feel like a million dollars. Bottom line: stay here when in Camden, one cannot do any better.

  • Liked — Clean, roomy, efficient, center of town, absolutely comfortable
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travel035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We had not pre-booked this hotel/B&B and after checking out other accommodation in Camden we discovered this gem! This is a value for money hotel with spacious, clean and well appointed room and bathroom, complimentary wine for guests in the lounge each evening and inclusive continental breakfast at the bagel restaurant next door. The hotel is centrally located and was once the Brewster shirt factory! It has been fully renovated and it is hard to believe its former life. The hotel sits above the river which once drove the waterwheel to power the machines in the Brewster factory. The sound of the gushing river adds to the restful ambiance of the hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. It is a short walk to a number of very nice restaurants in Camden.

  • Liked — Spacious quality appointmentsand value for money
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gglg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcheek1050
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2007

We booked our room at The Inn after looking all around for lodging during the Maine Lobster Fest with no luck. Upon arrival we were given a very warm welcome. Our room was very large and the entire place was spotless! The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. This was our last stop after staying in other areas on the Midcoast. Our stay there was the highlight of our trip! Wish we were still there!

  • Liked — overall experience
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcheek1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We stopped one night in Camden and walked into the Inn at Camden Place and we were pleasantly surprised, although the room we stayed in was on the third level (no elevator) so hauling our luggage was a minor chore. The room was fairly large, exceptionally clean and new-seeming furnishings were very nice, with two very comfortable easy chairs facing the TV in a sitting area partitioned off from the bed. The pictures on the Expedia site (although not our room) are accurate to the style, roominess and comfort of the Inn. There are nice large lounge areas with free coffee and wine available, as well as a free breakfast in the adjacent bagel shop. Easy to walk to anywhere in downtown Camden.

  • Liked — quiet and very clean
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cactraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Camden Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Camden Place

Property: The Inn at Camden Place
Address: 14 Tannery Ln, Camden, ME 04843-1709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Camden Place 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Camden, Maine, The Inn at Camden Place is an eleven room hotel. Attractively appointed rooms in the newly renovated Brewster Building, the Inn sits over the Megunticook Water which leads directly to lovely Camden Harbor. Within walking distance of multiple restaurants, bars and entertainment opportunities. We also offer salon and spa services at Green With Envy Salon, steps away from our entrance. We welcome large groups, wedding parties, and offer very enticing packaging rates! Welcome to The Inn at Camden Place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Camden Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Camden Place Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing