We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little chef-owned and -run bistro”
Review of Francine Bistro

Francine Bistro
Ranked #10 of 48 Restaurants in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice little chef-owned and -run bistro”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Consistently good, varied menu. Only drawback is that it's small, and open limited days and limited hours. Well, I suppose that's not necessarily a drawback. But do call for a reservation; you'll need it, and with good reason.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Owlfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    82
    44
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fancy French Restaurant”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant, but I got sick following the very rich meal. I ate a type of green plant with a "spring egg." This didn't sit well with me. My husband loved his meal, though.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Far to expensive for portions served.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Needs more of an selection, far to over priced. One should not have to leave hungry after spending 75+ on just themselves.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nikolai7590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, ME
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Top Restaurant in Camden, ME”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Really terrific food that's not cheap but worth it. Only complaint is that the music is played too loud.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Propasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“setting the standard in camden,PERFECT”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

being a local chef you tend to want to be defensive to other restaurants,its human nature,all I can say about francine is that it was the best food i have eaten in camden or any other town in a very long time,it takes alot to impress me,but the flavors and the combination of textures and herbs were,well perfect,I had the poutine simple but thats the point,very good,duck pate and the crab and lentil chip app,were a flavor explosion,I never eat chicken but try it here very fresh creative,my dessert which for many chefs are their weak point,awesome the sesame ice cream and chocolate torte,very nice portions for the money super friendly staff,I've never been but i'm a new regular,thank you for restoring my faith in food in knox county I was starting to get worried,,

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ssscout78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francine Bistro also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Francine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing