We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
Lord Camden Inn(Camden)(Great Value!)
$239
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Crest Inn(Camden)(Great Value!)
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
16 Bay View(Camden)
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitehall(Camden)(Great Value!)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Harbor Inn(Camden)
$499
$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Towne Motel(Camden)(Great Value!)
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveler rating
230
12
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
230
12
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchcookiesb bsgreat porchother guestspenobscot bayhalf milelarge tableexcellent hostsold friendshost and hostesscoastal townbreakfast was deliciousthree nightssitting areacould not have been morebed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 244 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2010

As much as I have used TripAdvisor, I have never written a review- until now. No hotel or B&B has been worth the time and effort of doing so, except Timbercliffe. Whenever we go to Maine, my husband and I stay at Timbercliffe for a few nights. We've stayed three times since 2007, and each time is exceptional and even better than the last. Camden is a great home-base for day-trips along the coast, as well as the various peninsulas. Karen and Dave are wonderful innkeepers and hosts, and have gone above and beyond to make our stays incredible. Karen has thought of every last detail (from the Provence-style toiletries to the period decor to the freshly-baked cookies each afternoon in the guest's kitchen), and Dave must know every restaurant in a 40-mile radius. (His suggestions have never failed us yet!) The breakfasts are so outstanding, you never need lunch. Karen and Dave are warm and inviting hosts, but not intrusive in any way.

We've stayed in three different rooms, and each has its own charm. The small deck off the roof (widow's peak?) has the best view of the bay in or near Camden, and is the perfect place to read a book in the rocking chairs. If it's colder, stay inside in the comfortable surroundings reading in the wing-back chairs in front of the fire. If you're looking for a peaceful, restorative stay, you won't get better than Timbercliffe.

I'm always amazed that Timbercliffe isn't higher in the overall ratings for Camden. During our last stay we toured several other B&Bs in Camden as part of the Camden Cake Walk. None hold a candle to Timbercliffe (and Karen's cakes were by far the best)! My husband has allergies to nuts, and Karen even made sure that some of the goodies she made for the cake walk were nut-free.

We can't wait until our next yearly trip to Maine and Timbercliffe Cottage.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOVA4Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We decided to stay at Timbercliffe after following Karen on Twiter for a a few months.
Karen & Dave are very welcoming and do their best to anticpate their guests needs. They're keen to share their knowledge of the local area and offer to help out guests. It was raining quite heavily when we were there and they said, if we got stuck in the rain, they would happily come and pick us up if we called.
The B&B itself is immaculate, very roomy with a library and lounge, with fire that was lit for us. There's a small kitchen with fridge to cool drinks and a coffee machine providing coffee on tap.
We spent a couple of post dinner evenings on the porch, looking out to sea enjoying a beer and glass of wine. There's enough space to sit outside for several people to do so in privacy if they want to.
Timbercliffe is within walking distance of Camden, which has plenty of lovely restaurants. This was actually our third visit as we love the town.
It was lovely to sit outside on the porch and have breakfast, which you can do even when it's raining as the porch is covered. Breakfasts tasty and substantial and kept us going all day. By the end of the holiday we were skipping lunch and sharing an entree in the evening!
Our room itself was comfortable with 2 easy chairs and views out to the sea. The bathroom has a freestanding bath with shower over - plenty of hot water, nice toiletries and loads of big towels!
Thank you to Karen & Dave for their hospitality and warm welcome. It was great to meet you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BramblingTweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed here at the end of June/early July and were extremely pleased. We had not been to Maine before, and after driving up along most of the coast and stopping in several towns, I don't think we could have chosen better than Camden. The town itself is small but very cute. Timbercliffe is set out a little bit from the main town, but it was an easy (maybe 10min?) walk. Unlike most places, the building is set back from the road, which was nice because cars weren't rushing right by. We stayed in the 1620 room, which I think may be bigger than some of the other rooms. The furniture was nice and everything was immaculate. The owners made us feel extremely welcome without being overbearing. The downstairs common areas (parlor, library, porch) were nicely decorated and very clean. There was a fire every night in the parlor. We had a fireplace in our room as well but did not use it. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful. Each morning was something different, but we always started with a dish of fruit and a muffin or pastry, and then the main meal. There were also cookies in the kitchen and coffee, soda, etc. My only complaint of the entire stay was that the bathroom in our room was very, very small. It was a lovely place, a great value compared to other places we considered, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice quiet stay in Maine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holcomb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

A place like home, a beautiful home, with a large porch. Beautiful rooms with nice furniture.
Karen and Dave are great hosts who make you feel very welcome!
Karen's breakfast's are a culinary experience, as are her cookies to go with the afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank just4job
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Timbercliffe Inn in the Good Wyfe Mary room; it said it had an Ocean view, and it did; you could gaze at the Ocean while lying on the bed in the beautifully appointed room with a fireplace. Sweet!

The breakfast was truly delicious, and the coffee maker off the dining room made a great cup anytime you wanted it (and there were some tasty homemade cookies there also if you wanted a snack with you coffee). The owners were great people and very generous with their time and knowledge of the area. They had tickets to the Maine Botanical Gardens and gave them to us; so nice of them, and the gardens were beautiful!

Also, I left a jacket in the room, and when I contacted them about it, they got back to me instantly to tell me they'd ship it to me.

All in all, a wonderful stay at a beautiful B&B with excellent hosts. Definitely would recommend.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank coupleintheir30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews