We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2008

We spent two days at the Timbercliffe Cottage Lodge, which is a beautiful old house with a great porch that has been lovingly and tastefully restored in a colonial ‘Williamsburg’ style with plenty of character – even the floors slope slightly in places! It has been decorated with great attention to detail; check out the staircase – there is a beautiful painting on the front of each stair!

We stayed in the Chancey Keep Room which was extremely spacious and had a wonderful view of Pennobscot Bay. The bed was amazingly comfortable with wonderful linens and there was a gas fireplace for the chilly evenings. There are two common rooms for guests to use and after we came back from an evening meal, a fire was roaring in the sitting room inviting you to sit and chat with other guests.

Breakfast was served in the formal dining room and was delicious and filling – Karen also makes the most wonderful afternoon treats and they also have a butler’s pantry with endless tea, coffee, sodas etc. which was very useful.

Dave and Karen are very friendly and gracious hosts that make you feel comfortable and immediately at home. By the way, Caffrey, the Golden Retriever is absolutely adorable and although he doesn't mingle with the guests, he loves to have a fuss made of him! We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: April 2008
3  Thank mummabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 244 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2007

At the very last minute we found an opportunity to get away to Camden for one overnight during the week of Fourth of July. After researching B&B options and reading the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor we called the Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn and were luck enough to book the last room available. As all of the reviewers before us have said-Karen, Dave and Caffrey will make you feel as if you are the most important guests who have ever walked through the door of their beautiful inn. This B&B exceeded all of our expectations. I’m not sure how they find enough hours in the day to stay on top of every detail, but their dedication to delivering such a delightful experience for their guests is evident. We will definitely make plans to visit Camden again next summer, but only if the Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn has a room available!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IrishBostonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

We have stayed with Karen and Dave twice...both times in the winter months as we were in Camden on business. They have renovated this lovely old place and it is so comfortable and relaxing. The rooms are warm and tastefully done, not overdone, and appointed with everything you could want. The beds are super comfortable and have high end linens that are so great to sleep on. The room we stayed in, Goodwyfe Mary, has a gas fireplace that is so realistic, you would think it was real and it was great to be able to regulate the temp of the room to what we wanted. It is a corner room with a really pretty view of the harbor...so nice to wake up to that view.

One really nice feature of this place is that all the rooms are on the second floor so you really have a feeling of privacy in your room. It is perfectly situated on a hill within a couple of blocks of town so there is no noise from the road or the town yet it is so easy to walk to town. I think it may be one of the only B&B's in Camden that has a view of the harbor.

Nice touches like a great little butlers pantry with a fridge for snacks, etc and they always have great homemade goodies to eat. A cool coffeemaker that makes a great cup of fresh coffee anytime. Plenty of Poland spring water and a fire in the wonderful fireplaces in the common rooms in the winter....so inviting to walk into from the outside on a colds winter day and a real fire smells so great.

Karen does a fabulous job with breakfast...we loved everything she made.

Karen and Dave are so personable and friendly and helpful yet they have the gift of knowing when to be there to lend a hand and when to step back and give you your space. Within hours of being there, we felt like we were visiting old friends. Such lovely people....we wish them great success in their lovely inn.

Donna and Buck
Trumbull, CT

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank LovesEastportME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

I had the good fortune to stay at Timbercliffe Cottage while I was on business in Midcoast Maine recently. I loved it. As a single female traveler, it offered that wonderful sense of security. The innkeepers, Karen and Dave, are incredibly nice and accommodating. When I asked for a lowfat breakfast, I was served a fabulous omelette accompanied by homemade bread.
The decor is definitely "Williamsburg colonial" in keeping with the age of the home. However, they've carefully added many modern amenities, like free wi-fi (which I end up paying for in hotels), and hair dryers. I loved the view of Pennobscot Bay and the islands beyond from the porch, which is filled with wicker furniture.

I would highly recommend the Timbercliffe Cottage to anyone looking for a place to stay in Camden!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CousinsIslandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

Our one night visit was very pleasant and breakfast the next morning was ample and delightful! We sat on the porch and had a beautiful view while enjoying Karen's cooking. Dave was also welcoming and provided many suggestions regarding dinner for our evening meal. The 1620 Chamber was well appointed and we enjoyed meeting the other guests. Will return!

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ozblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Our two night stay just after Labor Day was simply too short - I wish we could have stayed with Karen and Dave at Timbercliffe Cottage longer. It was the best B&B of our 11 night vacation in Maine and Rhode Island. Dave and Karen are warm and helpful hosts, they feel like friends right away.

Our experience was fabulous. The rooms are very thoughtfully put together and give you a true early New England feel. Sitting out on the wrap-around porch one evening when the house was quiet, we were able to pretend the lovely view belonged to us alone - it was a sweet daydream!

I especially admired the pantry filled with treats for the guest, well, more specifically the uber fabulous expresso/coffee machine. I saw the same model at Williams Sonoma. Delish coffee to go with the fresh baked cookies, heaven!

We stayed in the 1620 Chamber and it was a very nice size room with a king bed and had a lot of nice little touches and decorations. Towels and bedding are high quality and super comfy. I will have to say that the bathroom for the 1620 Chamber is seriously tiny, but this is a seriously old home. It is not surprising that a bathroom could be small and it did not impact the enjoyment of our stay at all. If a big bathroom is important to you, however, you should absolutely still stay at Timbercliffe - just choose a different room.

Both mornings we were able to have our breakfast outside on the porch. The food was artfully presented and delicious. Karen works hard on the quality and variety of dishes and it shows. We never left hungry.

Timbercliffe Cottage is the perfect choice for the traveler to Camden who appreciates warm hospitality and lovely surroundings (and a cookie or two!).

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyCheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We stayed at this B&B for three nights and wished it could have been longer. From the moment we booked our reservations- we knew the service was going to be great! Karen and Dave were very nice but not overbearing like some innkeepers we have met. They have outdone themselves when it comes to restoring the inn and they certainly put their heart into every decision. The decor was tasteful and the breakfast was very tasty! In regards to the previous comment about the portions being skimpy – I think everyone has opinions on what a serving size is however it was plenty for all of the guests that I dined with and Karen offered seconds every morning. We look forward to our next trip to Camden ( and to Timbercliffe)

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loves2travelanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.8 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hawthorn Inn
Hawthorn Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#3 of 19 in Camden
669 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#15 of 19 in Camden
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Camden Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 7 Timbercliffe Dr, Camden, ME 04843-4524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range: $146 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed and Breakfast is in a senic location on Timbercliffe Drive with romantic views of Penobscot Bay. This historic home is centrally located between downtown Camden, Maine and Camden Hills State Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing