We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Experience”
Review of Abigail's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abigail's Inn
Ranked #14 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2008

The distinctive touch of Innkeepers Beth and Kipp is evident everywhere as they personally invite you into their home. The entire house is spotless, yet abundantly covered with huge helpings of tender loving care. The rooms reflect their history, yet are upgraded to today’s modern comforts. Breakfast included such wonders as baked bananas and Dutch Bunny, yet Beth and Kipp say they have never attended a culinary school. They are encyclopedic in their knowledge of the area and its history, and can recommend locations and establishments to meet any of your travel needs. Abigail’s is a delightful inn run by delightful people.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KenMontNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 97 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2008

What an amazing place Abigail's Inn is! My wife and I stayed there for just one night and we wished we never left. We were making a trip to Bar Harbor and wanted to split the trip in half so we chose Abigail's as a midway point. We're glad we did. I recommend booking the Copper Beach Suite, but the other rooms were equally impressive, if a tad smaller. The inn keepers, Kip and his wife (we didn't get a chance to meet her as we only had a brief stay) were excellent from A-Z. All in all, a wonderful experience in a beautiful village in Maine. We will certainly be going back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cesara74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

We stopped off in Camden on our roadtrip from Atlantic Canada to Boston, and were thrilled to have chosen Abigail's Inn.

The town of Camden is wonderfully picturesque, and Abigail's made our stay delightful. We chose it because of its proximity to the hiking trails (which we took advantage of), and reasonable rates. The Inn is also situated just steps from the downtown area.

We chose the Rose Garden room, which was plenty large enough for our needs (and kinder to our student budget.)

Kipp and Beth were warm and attentive hosts, and served us a delicious breakfast whose hilights included "Blueberry Delight" and a "Dutch Bunny."

I would definitely stay here again, and plan to recommend it to friends as well!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank FreddybeachCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

Just returned from a trip up the Maine Coast, staying in B&B's all the way. Abigail's Inn was the best -- it shines in our memory! The room was wonderful, so comfortable and clean, and the breakfasts were remarkable (and beautiful to look at) but the best part was the friendliness of Beth and Kipp that left us feeling like old friends. The advice they gave on what to see helped us to really get the most out of this beautiful area, and we will definitely hope to visit them again. I can't recommend this B&B highly enough!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

My husband and I were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and wanted to travel to Maine. We searched on-line and found Abigail's B&B. PERFECT!!! I can't say enough about Kipp and Beth. Having only four rooms must be what allows them to give the absolute personal service that they give. They are very attentive to detail-our room was warm and cozy and the decorative creativeness the couple has is amazing. Brownies and beverages awaited us - along with very personal attention. Breakfast was amazing and they opened their home to us like they had known us for years.
Beautiful family, home and town to visit. Even though we visited during the "off-season", we are already planning a return visit and would not dream of staying anywhere else. They were very helpful in telling us about the area and making suggestions on where to eat, visit and even shop.
Again, it was PERFECT and we can't wait to go back.
Ed & Terri Moore

Stayed: May 2008
Thank collide07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

Since this was my first trip to Maine, I wanted it to be memorable and it was! The lion's share of the credit goes to Abigail's Inn and its wonderful owners, Kipp & Beth. From greeting me at the door until I left kicking & screaming, they were the consummate hosts. Add to the mix a precious child and a gentle greyhound who appears occasionally, and you have an unbeatable combination. Breakfast is simply amazing - you will not be hungry until late afternoon - and the dining room & its view of the garden is so soothing. I stayed in the Jefferson Davis room and was thoroughly impressed. Having stayed at the Ritz in Paris & Claridge's in London, I can truthfully say that the Jefferson Davis room is right up there for decor and comfort. The bath is quite spacious by B&B standards too. Coming in each afternoon to TWO fireplaces in the main floor parlors was so welcoming, along with the fabulous treats and warm drinks that also awaited. You won't find two more gracious hosts than Kipp & Beth. And I can't wait to get back in a couple of months!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ReadyToGoAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2007

Abigail's looked great on the website and was just as attractive when we saw it in person. The innkeepers made us feel very welcome and the big front porch was perfect to enjoy our coffee and cookies while we planned where we would have dinner. Camden is a must see village for anyone travelling in Maine. Breakfast was yummy. Our room, the Abigail and John, was spacious and very comfortable. Would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SilkyCard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
6.6 mi away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
6.5 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#3 of 19 in Camden
668 reviews
6.5 mi away
Camden Windward House
Camden Windward House
#4 of 19 in Camden
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
397 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hawthorn Inn
Hawthorn Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
373 reviews
6.7 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#15 of 19 in Camden
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Inn

Address: 8 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at one of Camden, Maine's most intimate Bed & Breakfasts with private off-street parking in a great location - just steps from the center of town and the harbor. Choose from one of our 4 well appointed guest rooms, enjoy a delicious breakfast and then start off on your daily adventure - sailing, hiking, kayaking, shopping, dining, or just kicking back on our large front porch. Come rest, relax, and leave the car behind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abigail's Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing