We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great waterfront location...not so great food”
Review of Waterfront

Waterfront
Ranked #7 of 49 Restaurants in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great waterfront location...not so great food”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The restaurant enjoys a direct waterfront location with a deck overlooking the harbor. If you want to order from the full dinner menu, they do not take reservations for parties under 6. We arrived at 6:30pm hoping to get seated on the outdoor deck...we were willing to trade-off mediocre food for the view, but we were told it was a 45-minute wait. We decided to eat inside where we got seated immediately. Food was below average. The oysters I ordered were not the freshest and were very small. The entrees were uninspiring. Recommend only going if you can get the reservation outside, otherwise not worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    413
    167
    57
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High traffic restaurant with excellent food and a stellar harbor view.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The food quality is excellent and portions are plentiful. The service was a bit slow for a restaurant that is used to such high volume in the summer. The bartender, I think his name was Neil, had a tough task of keeping our drinks full but powered through seemingly effortlessly and did a marvelous job of keeping us happy. We will definitely return for more fried clams and halibut!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fooddude2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful patio”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We sat right on the water and were able to enjoy all of the activities of the active bay (sailing classes going out, many boats going in and out of the water by the boat hauler).

I had a HUGE crab roll for lunch and it was very tasty. I enjoyed the dining experience, although our waiter was a bit slow, but it was vacation so that was alright,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seinna43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eh!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's a tourist place, really. The food is just passable. The vegetarian option (squash ravioli) seemed like a frozen entree they have around for vegetarians. It was too heavy and lacked style
Of course they don't cater to vegetarians but more and more groups include one so make an effort. My friend's lobster was fine until water just poured from one of the claws. Gross. The families in the place seemed happy enough. Blue cheese dressing was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aumont Aubrac, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant and good food”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a very nice evening at the Waterfront restaurant, with very good food (Sea food and fish). Staff very friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank frenchy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing