We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”

Peter Ott's on the water
Ranked #9 of 48 Restaurants in Camden
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on Camden Harbor next to the public landing, serving lunch and dinner. Enjoy our comfortable warm inside seating with two fireplaces or our outside seating, only feet from the harbor and schooners with panoramic views of Camden Harbor.
maine
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

nice place. we had a great waitress,a great table, and a nice meal. food was good 2 different fish dishes were cooked right and plated well. a nice salad bar for 6 dollars added to entree had some good items, very good dressings,made for a nice meal. This was not a WOW but it was a nice place and we will return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlefield3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    206
    102
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Understaffed”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a beautiful venue in the heart of Camden. My wife and I ate here our last night of vacation. We arrived about 6 P.M. and everything went well. Drinks arrived promptly and our dinners shortly thereafter - 1 1/2 pound lobster for my wife and haddock cakes for me. The food was very good. As we enjoyed our meal, the place filled very quickly and you could see the wait staff go into harried mode. This restaurant seats probably 80+ patrons and it was staffed with two waitresses and a bartender. While our drink and food service was timely, it took forever and several requests to get our check. I hate to imagine what the food service was like for those who came after us. The servers were working their butts off - this is a staffing issue. I am really sick of owners / managers of successful restaurants understaffing in order to increase profits. Hello - you are in a service industry!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brooksville, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not what I expected. Especially for the price.”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Long time location nice chef and good food. But not impressed at all last night. Blue cheese dressing with no flavor but a lot of unknown lumps. Fresh salad bar though. Bacon wrapped scallops shouldn't have been served ! Way over cooked and bacon was hard. Only bacon flavor.
Service was great and remembered us from 8 months ago. But we won't return again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We go to Peter Ott's EVERY time we are in Camden! The service and food are some of the best we have ever had! The steaks are perfection. The salad bar is fresh and delicious! We love the homemade dressings! The prices are very fair!

Last time we were there, we stayed for about 2 hours for an amazing meal and dessert! We never felt rushed, and really loved the slower pace, as we were celebrating our anniversary.

We will be back EVERY time we are in Camden! We can't get enough!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seacoastered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Steak out this place on the edge of the wharf”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

One of my favorite places when I visit Camden. Peter Otts makes great steak and serves excellent cocktails. This place is terrific and you will never be disappointed. I pass through Camden about once a year and always make sure I get at least one meal here. You will enjoy it. The salad bar is also great if you like that type of thing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cmehavefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter Ott's on the water also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Peter Ott's on the water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing