We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to eat later in the evening. Food is very good. The bar areas are fun and the upstairs is a party place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cappy's Chowder House - CLOSED

Cappy's Chowder House
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Apopka
Level Contributor
145 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great place to eat later in the evening. Food is very good. The bar areas are fun and the upstairs is a party place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

The clam chowder was excellent and so were the piss clams. Enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and bar area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank c9860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    448
    244
    91
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good chowder”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

The chowder was good, but not really knock your socks off good, and not a lot of chowder selections.
Fun atmosphere tho, cool place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank riverboy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lobstah!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

My first time in Maine, I had eaten lobster earlier in the week in Acadia, and was disappointed. I thought I would try again, and went all out with the Cappys Seafood Bliss 3 course meal, which included clam chowder, muscles, clams, lobster, and blueberry pie. I am no expert, but this lobster was unbelievable! All the food was delicious, it was the perfect place to top off our trip. Service was just ok.

Helpful?
Thank Phillip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to eat out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Ideally situated, and well priced. We did not have a booking so had a 10 minute wait. In the bar where we were treated to some local brews.
The lobster was great as was the seafood chowder.
Overall a great place to eat in Camden

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank brettb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wednesday night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Went to Cappy's on a rainy Maine night hoping to try the famous chowda. After the four of us were seated, we waited over 10 minutes and no one ever came near our table with water, menus or anything else. It was not a busy night, we left and never did get the chowda. This kind of service is not acceptable, no matter how good the food may be.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunnyday118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cappy's Chowder House also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing