We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT HAMBERGERS”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cappy's Chowder House - CLOSED

Cappy's Chowder House
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT HAMBERGERS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I ate at Cappy's on the way up to Bar Harbor. We asked the woman working at the Lord Camden Inn where we could get a good burger (tired of sea food). She quickly said "go to Cappy's" and she was right! The hambergers were so good! The staff is mostly friendly and the place is cute. We ended up going back for another burger on our way home. I would definitely recommend eating here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    448
    244
    91
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great view and great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We got lucky and had a table at the window front with a great view at the harbour.

The food was excellent:
Clam Chowder and lobster roll (of course...it's Maine!)

Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zeljko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, nice folks, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We sat in the bar area (not at the bar) and our server was very friendly as was the bar tender and a few folks at the bar. The decor was warm and inviting, definitely felt like Maine.

We had the Baked Stuffed Haddock and Cappy's Seafood Dinner. The Stuffed Haddock was tasty, I'm not usually a fan of baked fish dishes but this was tasty. Of course, you can't go wrong with the Seafood Dinner - clam chowder (delicious!), mussels, clams, corn on the cob, potatoes, and a freshly steamed Maine Lobster! Follow it all up with Blueberry pie...

Definitely worth a visit if you are in Camden.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeNJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowder!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband & I wandered in Cappy's for dinner after touring the harbor and were given a table on the second floor over-looking the harbor. We had a great server named CeeCee. The clam chowder was fantastic and the broiled salmon was so tasty. Everything was fresh including the pear/craneberry salad with house balsamic dijon dressing. Had to buy some in their bakery downstairs!! The FRESH blueberry pie is to-die-for, a definite must-have!!! Will be back....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Light Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We each enjoyed a fantastic salad of fresh greens / pears / cranberries / sunflower seeds & walnuts with an amazing Balsamic Dijon dressing and then shared a quesadilla with delicious cheese. Great service - and we got the delicious blueberry pie to go - a really nice meal!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyVagabond2458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cappy's Chowder House also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing