We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chowdah!”
Review of Cappy's Chowder House - CLOSED

Cappy's Chowder House
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chowdah!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We took out some chowder and chilli during our recent stay in Camden. The both were very good but the homemade oyster crackers were the highlight of the lunch. Cappy's is always good for pub fare.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    448
    244
    91
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockport
2 reviews
“Good choice”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Last minute choice because its Monday and many other places are closed. Happy with our choice. Small place, we were lucky to get a table. Yummy lobster bites as appetizers. Husband got fish and chips. I got the small salad and small chowder. Food was fine, prices are fine. Service wasn't fab, the manager had to take our order. Quick dinner, we were in and out within 30 minutes. Loved the ambience from the outside.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy1111john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Gotta get a chowda”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Always fun and tasty, friendly and easy to get to. Cappys
is always a spot to stop on any visit in town. Take some
soups or chowers home with you too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mar w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A+ chowder”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

After hiking up Mt Battie I can't think of a better spot for homemade, local clammy-creamy goodness. Excellent, friendly service. Loads of freshly made, Maine specialities. Perfect for kids, great beer selection, extensive menu all make for an outstanding lunch after a wintery, cold, hard hike with kids. Not cheap, but worth every penny.

Helpful?
Thank Kehsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great Food In A Locals Favorite”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This restaurant came highly recommended by several locals that we had asked for dining suggestions. Their clam chowder was amazing as was the clam basket. My daughter had fried oysters that she really enjoyed and my wife had their burger. Would recommend.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank fldave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cappy's Chowder House also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing