We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boynton-McKay Food Co.

Boynton-McKay Food Co.
Ranked #15 of 47 Restaurants in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Ate here twice for lunch. Great salads, paninis, quesadillas etc with inventive,fresh, local ingredients, and very friendly staff

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Prjctfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    57
    14
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome blueberry pancakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and had breakfast here yesterday. The previous reviews were true! What a gem of a breakfast place.

We ordered the blueberry pancakes and the breakfast skills #1 and decided to share them both. The blueberry pancakes were the best I've ever had. Super light and fluffy and FULL of fresh Maine blueberries. The skillet came out with fresh hashbrowns (made with sauteed onions like my grandmother used to make) smothered in mushrooms, spinach, broccoli, tomatoes and cheese and then topped with scrambled eggs. It's basically a deconstructed vegetable omelet with hashbrowns, but it too was delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee, cozy atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Boynton-McKay has earned its good reputation. I usually come here for coffee and a pastry in the morning before the other tourists arrive. The espresso drinks are excellent, pastries and desserts are equally good. I have eaten lunch here only once and it was good too. Service is friendly, although it can be slow when the place is full during the tourist season. But who cares if the service is slow? The location is superb, in the middle of downtown Camden, and the atmosphere in the cafe is so cozy and pleasant that I don't mind waiting for my food and drink.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottWindham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kitchen closes at 3”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were really bummed when we walked in right at 3 and the kitchen had closed. Although they are open until 5

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank herbstfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast before a hike up Mount Battie on a Wednesday morning.

Pros: Food is yummy! I ordered the skillet breakfast and it was perfect...onions, potatoes, chorizo, eggs, cheese. The restaurant itself is really fun, housed in an old pharmacy with giant booths to sit in.

Cons: The ordering/seating situation was a bit confusing. You go up to a window to order, but I think you need to have a table before you can order. So we were ushered back outside to wait for a table, which only took about 10 minutes. Then we went to the counter to order/pay and a waitress brought the food over when it was ready. I'm not sure if this makes things more efficient for them, but it could be explained more clearly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boynton-McKay Food Co. also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Boynton-McKay Food Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing