We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice, affordable place in Camden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birchwood

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birchwood
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Vermont
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“nice, affordable place in Camden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

My mother and I went to Maine on the spur of the moment without reservations. We were in Camden and drove by the Birchwood Motel. The price was much lower than other places we had stopped, so we booked a room. It was great! Plainly furnished but had all the necessities and was very clean. The motel has a lovely long verandah with chairs outside each room. The view is of the ocean with the forest in front of it.

The owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast (included in the price of the room) was served in the lobby and consisted of coffee and juice, pastries, and a bowl of fruit salad - a nice bonus! Our room with two double beds was about $85 plus tax, which is cheap in Camden in the summer. We would definitely stay at the Birchwood again.

  • Liked — price, view, cleanliness
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeLoveToTravel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    25
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
53
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ephrata, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2007

The Birchwood Motel was a really nice place at a great price.

My husband and I arrived on a Wednesday morning after staying on windjammer for three days. We were hoping to register and take a hot shower in our room. However, I figured we would be turned away since we arrived so early. I was pleasantly surprised when our hostess said our room was ready and we could check-in early. She even gave us extra towels after we told her we had been staying on a boat for several days.

The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The breakfast consisted of fresh fruit salad, danishes, juice, and hot coffee. The view of the bay was beautiful. The hosts were wonderful, very friendly, and informative.

I would definately stay at the Birchwood Motel again.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, great value
  • Disliked — Breakfast choices
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aem102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2006

I stayed at the Birchwood for two nights on my way to Freedom, Maine, and I couldn't have been happier. The couple who owns the Birchwood is friendly, available, and helpful. It is very inexpensive for the area but still includes a basic breakfast and nice lodging. Highly recommended for anyone on a budget. Also: nice views of the bay!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2005

You never quite know what you're going to get when you see places on the internet or just drive down the highway. We booked the Birchwood Motel based on the cryptic descriptions on the internet and the key tag line "best value in Camden". The place is exactly what you want in a motel -- close to town, impeccably clean, friendly service, cable TV, comfie bed and AC in the heat of the summer. The morning coffee sitting out on the porch was a bonus!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2004

Clean rooms, friendly service, quiet location. Just booked for a second stay.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2004

Pretty, clean, comfortable, and friendly place. Beautiful view of Penobscot Bay as you sit on the porch in great rocking chairs with lovely blooming flowers at your feet. Quick and tasty complimentary breakfast. Great owners - husband and wife who were so helpful and informative. On their recommendation, drove 5 minutes into th town of Camden and went on a windjammer/sailboat two-hour cruise in the bay on the ship, The Surprise. Gorgeous boat, great vistas, plus wonderful, interesting couple who are the owners of The Surprise. Thanks to them we road 10 minutes up to Mount Battey, took along our lunch, and saw the bay and forest as Edna St. Vincent Millay described them!!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
1.2 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
7.6 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.3 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood

Property: Birchwood
Address: 530 Belfast Rd, Camden, ME 04843-4522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Camden
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room is water view at solar-powered Birchwood - a vintage roadside lodge in charming Camden, Maine that is more like an agricultural bed & breakfast than a typical motel, hotel or inn. Set across the road from Penobscot Bay amid the lush gardens of its farmette. Owned and operated by a local family, Birchwood is well known as Camden's Best Value. Just 2.5 miles north of Camden's downtown harbor district. Offering a variety of lodging options: standard guest rooms, deluxe rooms, cottage and vacation rentals. Light continental breakfast of organic coffee and teas, fresh juice and fruit and a wholesome homemade baked good offered each morning in our spacious reception. Clean, green and uniquely Camden, Maine. What more do you really need? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Camden
Birchwood Motel Camden
Birchwood Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing