We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birchwood Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Camden
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenmoor by the Sea(Lincolnville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Battie Motel(Lincolnville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Inn at Ocean's Edge(Lincolnville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitehall(Camden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
80
26
8
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
26
8
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesfresh fruitlight breakfastcorner king roomfair tradeplace to sleepfellow travelersfriendly hostscoffee makerrooms are cleaneach morningmaine coastjennyaccommodationscurtainsfridgemattress
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 116 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Wow! Eco-friendly and sustainable right down to the blueberry scones made fresh by the owner! The soap was from Maine, the mattress, all the furniture were all made in Maine;)
View of the ocean from afar!
Clean and Classy!
Did I mention affordable?! No? Then, yes it was inexpensive compared to other competitors.
I would definitely return again and again.

Sincerely,
Cheryl & Lynn (happy guests from Williamstown, MA)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnowJams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in the motel for one night yet had a wonderful experience. The motel is owned by a family and you can sense it when you're there. The price was fair and had a discount for AAA members. The room was clean and the sheets were bright-clean. Coffee and home-baked cookies in the morning with a great view from the balcony did it for us...
Jenny was really great and helpful.
Very cosy place to stay on the way to Bar Harbour..

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T0niCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Birchwood is wonderful and reflects in every way its eco-friendly hosts, Jenny and Eric. My sister and I stayed 5 nights in the brand new 2-bedroom apartment -- we could have stayed forever! This is not your ordinary motel. The property is beautifully situated, the decor is tasteful and thoughtful, our rooms were fresh and spotless, and the breakfast scones were delicious. This is Maine as it was meant to be.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmeliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Returned to Birchwood and enjoyed it even more than the first time. We had a king room and the room was perfectly clean, the bed was super comfy and the bathroom had been renovated. The owner was extremely helpful with both hiking advice and restaurant recommendations. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SatNamMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Birchwood is a series of wonderful surprises. Affordable lodging in an expensive area, a spotless room with a lovely cotton quilt (instead of typical motel polyester), and actual homemade scones and fresh fruit for breakfast. The hosts are personable and helpful, and knowing that one is staying in a place that is committed to the environment is terrific.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews