We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap... maybe you get what you pay for though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Camden Hills
Ranked #5 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap... maybe you get what you pay for though”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

We chose the lodge as a cheap lodging alternative to the pricy options in Camden proper. In terms of features, our cottage did indeed have a distant ocean view. The deck was a pleasant place to sip a drink and enjoy the view. To get an idea, the ocean is perhaps half a mile away, but the elevated position of the lodge makes for a nice sweeping overview interrupted by US-1 and a number of trees. But, it is largely as advertised.

The appearance of the rooms is almost exactly what we expected based on the photos on the lodge's web site. The room was generally clean in appearance. I say "appearance" with a reason... the room in which we stayed was extremely moldy and mildewy... allergy sufferers beware! The room also had a blight of insects, including some spiders and ants. I awoke from the first night with a massive bug bite on my foot that is currently the size of a dime. The general impression we have is that this was once a nice place that has been 'let go' for a number of years. There is moss growing on the exterior walls and roof, peeling paint on the exterior (though the interior paint was spotless), and some exterior wood on the deck that is extremely distressed. The grounds are decent, if a bit overgrown.

Overall, we paid about 1/3 of what most hotels in Camden cost. If you are traveling on a shoestring, this might be an acceptable lodging choice for you. Bear in mind that some of the other units may be nicer than ours (we stayed in Unit 11). But, you should know that this lodge is a good distance away from Camden proper. The main draw of Camden seems to be strolling and shopping in the business district, and it's probably a solid 30 minute walk from the lodge. If you don't mind roughing it, then this could be your solution. But, for anyone expecting a pristine romantic getaway... beware. The money you would spend in upgrading to a nicer inn (especially one closer to Camden's center) is likely money well spent.

Our experience with the staff was okay... a bit lackadaisical (including no confirmation number for our reservation... "you're in the book, so there's really no need"), but there were no major meltdowns.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WolfpackVortex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    35
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
194
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

We will long remember our winter weekend getaway. We wanted a cozy nest with special appointments to just unplug and reconnect with one another. We found it in Camden at the Lodge at Camden Hills. Cottage 15 had the fireplace, jacuzzi, big comfortable bed, beautiful furnishings, kitchenette, cd player....the Burgess's think of everything. The place is immaculately clean. The scenery is stunning even in winter. We did a little window shopping and explored the area. We ate out twice but it was hard to tear ourselves away from the cottage. We noshed on cheese, olives and bread from the Market basket down the road.

Even though the cottage is a little bit more than we usually spend on motel stays ($195 per night) it is totally worth it . I hope we make this an annual winter experience.

P.S.
I work in the tourism industry. these folks KNOW guests services!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downeastmaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

We've stayed here a number of times over the past 4 years, most recently this past August. We originally selected this spot because of the pet friendly accommodations. However, we keep going back because the accommodations are great for both the dogs and the humans. This last trip we stayed in Cottage 20. The cottage is very spacious for two adults and two dogs. The room was very comfortable with a separate living and sleeping area. It also had a kitchen. We had a great view from our room and the porch and fireplace were both bonuses. The location just about a 1 mile from town is also perfect. The Lodge is well run and the owners are very friendly. We will definitely continue to return.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HDMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

Camden, Maine The Lodge at Camden Hills
Date: June 24, 2008
Reviewer: A frequent traveler in New England
This is a well operated "Lodge," a mile north of downtown Camden on Route 1. It's close to town, yet located on a property with trees and grass and with views of the bay in the distance. The rooms are mostly in one building on a slight incline above the road, so there is no road noise and one can park behind each unit with level access into the rooms. . They are well furnished and well maintained, with cable TV, refrigerators, air conditioning, private phone and in-room coffee and tea. Some rooms have decks facing toward the bay. There are suites with a galley kitchens sitting area and fireplace. You are very close to Camden Hills State Park with lots of opportunites for walking. We've been to Camden many times and we have found the Lodge to be our aboslute favorite. For a room with a queen bed during the summer the cost is $150.

  • Liked — well kept, close to town yet in the trees, views of the water
  • Disliked — no high speed internet, but it's available handily in the town library
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahhhson, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2008

We very much enjoyed our 3rd or 4th trip to the Lodge at Camden Hills. Typically, we have stayed during New Years for a relaxing start to the new year, but this time we went in February. We stayed in the Firepace and Jacuzzi cottage and what a retreat they are! Just sitting by the roaring wood burning fire was just what my wife and I wanted while the snow was coming down outside and the outdoor temps were frigid. The jacuzzi is great too. We like having the little fridge and kitchen area for snacking and keeping beverages cold. Our room was made up promptly each day and our fire was made up each day, requiring just a simple match to get it going. The rates were very reasonable too. It couldn't have been more perfect. We enjoyed the little town of Camden with all the little shops and restaurants as well. You won't be disappointed if you give this place a try for a relaxing Winter retreat away from the hustle and bustle and the daily grind of the city.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2007

We stumbled upon this place during our recent road trip, and what a wonderful find. The people are exceptionally friendly, and the accommodation first class. The area is beautiful. The cabin-style rooms are located in a woodland setting with views over the sea. Although the weather was a little chilly, we stood on our private deck and watched the sun set, then star-gazed.

Our room was spotlessly clean and spacious. We will definitely return in the future (must be wonderful to stay there in the summer).

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EnglandTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

Marvelous setting ,close to town, but away from the crowds and traffic. Excellent accommodations, friendly hosts,will help with any of your needs. Will stay at Lodges whenever in the area.Rated *****

  • Liked — Privacy ,Accessability
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrsajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
1.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.2 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Camden Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Camden Hills

Property: The Lodge at Camden Hills
Address: 186 Belfast Road, Camden, ME 04843-4517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Camden Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Camden Hills is one of the Camden's most scenic properties. Owned by the Burgess family for over forty years, the Lodge is a village of four cottages, four suites, and four standard rooms in five unique buildings across nine acres. With a view of Penobscot Bay ahead and Mount Battie directly behind us, it is easy to relax at the Lodge. Watch sailboats on the bay, wind-blown from island to island, from your private deck. Enjoy well-appointed, clean, and comfortable lodging. There is comfort in the privacy of your own space at the Lodge. Each room has a private entrance with parking and a deck with water views of Penobscot Bay. Our goal is to make our rooms as comfortable as possible. It is our experience that after a good night's sleep, Maine will work its magic on your mind and spirit! Our luxurious bedding by Cuddledown will lull you into a peaceful slumber. Our Maine-made comforters and pillows along with 400-thread count, 100% combed cotton bedding are inviting, soft, and comfortable. A continental breakfast basket is hung outside your door each morning so you can enjoy breakfast in your room at your leisure before heading out to explore the mid-coast. Start your morning with freshly-brewed coffee, tea, local baked goods, Maine-made Stonewall Kitchen jam, and orange juice. At day's end experience dramatically dark, star-filled skies, the robust smell of fir trees mixed with a little wood smoke, and cool air on your skin. Together these elements create an experience that is what Maine is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Lodge at Camden Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Camden Hills Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing