We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Camden Hills
Ranked #5 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Trumbull, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Situated on a lovely piece of property. Perfectly located to all points of interest. The room was clean, the service was great and being greeted by Oslo and Phil made it so welcoming. I enjoyed my stay immensely and when I return, I want to book one of the suites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    35
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
194
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The photos on the webpage look wonderful and driving up it looks wonderful....but then the room itself is like a tacky motel. Junky mismatched 70's furniture, a t.v. set on a "oak" cabinet with a refrigerator inside. Marginally clean, a bright light right outside so that you couldn't open the blinds to let fresh air in while sleeping. Threadbare towels.
This was a "lodge" ?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank javagirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blissinvt, General Manager at The Lodge at Camden Hills, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I am very sorry that you felt "misled" and we really appreciate your feedback. We will continue to update our facility as we have been doing. We try to incorporate a few extra amenities such as a small refrigerator in the basic rooms and the oak cabinet is built exactly for that and fits most efficiently in the space available. I'm also sorry you didn't figure out that you had control of the lighting outside your room...with a flip of a switch you could have had your wish. There is, of course, required lighting outside for safety purposes. I see by your other reviews that you hold a high standard and we'll work hard to live up to those expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Lodge at Camden Hills, in the Snow Cottage, for our one year wedding anniversary. The cottage was beautiful!! It was so clean (I mean immaculate) and comfy. They had a wood burning fireplace which was perfect for the not so nice, or warm, weather we had this weekend. The jacuzzi tub was great...the Lodge also had special bath salts to add to the water that smelled amazing. The kitchen was fully functional which was a nice addition when we wanted to reheat food, or cook. We ate at several restaurants during our stay at the recommendation of Kelly. She had such great advice on what to do and where to go. Her dogs were also there and were such a great welcoming crew!! The view of the water from the porch was also nice! I can not wait to go back to the Lodge at Camden Hills...I'm sure it's even more amazing in the winter!! Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carla b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Lodge at Camden Hills is a wonderful place to relax in a beautiful Maine setting yet is is very close to all the scenic wonders and stores in Camden. We stayed in the "Snow Cottage" and it was very spacious and beautifully appointed- lots of extras and the kitchen made it possible to fix a light breakfast before heading out for the day. My husband is handicapped and the owner made a real effort to meet his needs.

Room Tip: Snow Cottage was our room and was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dab_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I celebrated my birthday here in July. We had a great time and were very relaxed. Stayed in one of the cottages and like the others have said we thought it was well stocked and extremely comfortable. My only wish was that we could have stayed a bit longer. Couldn't have asked for more. Kelly could not have been nicer. Looking forward to a return visit soon. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The cottages are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherryC371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We visited the Lodge at Camden Hills to celebrate our seventh anniversary. We enjoyed our stay in the Snow Cottage, which was lovely and bright, very nicely arranged. The cottage was equipped with a two person jacuzzi tub and a wood-burning fireplace. The Lodge is about a mile from Camden village and is a lovely spot to sit on the deck and take in the sea views. Kelly, the manager, was very friendly and helpful. We hated to leave, and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The cottages are absolutely lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I purchased a voucher through a discount cell phone app we subscribe to for The Lodge. It was so worth it! We can picture a return in the near future! The space is perfect for a get-a-way for two. They were so helpful in recommending places to eat and visit. They kept our place neat and tidy. Such an amazing bunch of people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
1.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.2 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Camden Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Camden Hills

Property: The Lodge at Camden Hills
Address: 186 Belfast Road, Camden, ME 04843-4517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Camden Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Camden Hills is one of the Camden's most scenic properties. Owned by the Burgess family for over forty years, the Lodge is a village of four cottages, four suites, and four standard rooms in five unique buildings across nine acres. With a view of Penobscot Bay ahead and Mount Battie directly behind us, it is easy to relax at the Lodge. Watch sailboats on the bay, wind-blown from island to island, from your private deck. Enjoy well-appointed, clean, and comfortable lodging. There is comfort in the privacy of your own space at the Lodge. Each room has a private entrance with parking and a deck with water views of Penobscot Bay. Our goal is to make our rooms as comfortable as possible. It is our experience that after a good night's sleep, Maine will work its magic on your mind and spirit! Our luxurious bedding by Cuddledown will lull you into a peaceful slumber. Our Maine-made comforters and pillows along with 400-thread count, 100% combed cotton bedding are inviting, soft, and comfortable. A continental breakfast basket is hung outside your door each morning so you can enjoy breakfast in your room at your leisure before heading out to explore the mid-coast. Start your morning with freshly-brewed coffee, tea, local baked goods, Maine-made Stonewall Kitchen jam, and orange juice. At day's end experience dramatically dark, star-filled skies, the robust smell of fir trees mixed with a little wood smoke, and cool air on your skin. Together these elements create an experience that is what Maine is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Lodge at Camden Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Camden Hills Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing