We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza! Improving service and quality.”
Review of Seabright - CLOSED

Seabright
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: Pizza
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Hope, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great pizza! Improving service and quality.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

By far this is the best pizza we've eaten in the Camden area and we keep coming back for more. Nice wine list and mixed drinks. The pizzas are creatively put together and can be a flavor explosion for your taste buds. Service is a bit spotty, sometimes timely and friendly, and sometimes down right rude. We attribute that to being a new business. Sometimes the pizzas have a crust and ingredients that are burnt too much but that seems to be improving. We don't mind paying cash as the prices are a great value for pizza this good. Keep improving Seabright and we'll keep coming back. Waiting for a lobster pizza to appear on the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seedlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lovely waitstaff and cool atmosphere. Gorgonzola fig prosciutto pizza is exquisite! I dine here every week.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catso007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cash only policy”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Be aware that this is the only major restaurant in Camden that has a cash only policy which the manager seems very arrogant about if mentioned. The result is the restaurant can be guest unfriendly and certainly looses more customers than the "no credit card" policy saves in expenses. The sister restaurants Francine and Shepards Pie accept all credit cards except Amex. As a town local this leaves a very bad taste.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenatype, Owner at Seabright, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
hey Josh
if you would prefer me to raise prices by 3.5 % so that you can avoid walking down the street with $30 dollars in your pocket then i will do so. Your money will go straight to a billion dollar government bailed out bank - in credit card fees. We here at seabright lose about $200 in business per month to pure credit card believers like yourself... as opposed to tens of thousands of hard earned dollars paid at our other restaurants ( for nothing in return).
thanks
Chef Brian Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disgusting place...worms”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We started our evening sitting outside where the service was poor, the table was dirty and the staff seemed annoyed. I asked if they could clean the table for us. We ordered a pitcher of beer, a salad and a pizza. The salad was one of two choices on the limited menu. The salad had "fresh olives". The only thing fresh on the olives were little worms crawling around. This was disgusting and when pointed out to the staff, they were looking like they didn't believe what I was telling them! Once a worm started moving around the staff member was able to see it! They said nothing! I told them this was gross and unacceptable. No manager, no apology. Waitress actually came out to the porch while my wife was spitting out her salad and asked if I wanted her to get the check for the two half glasses of beer that we consumed. Are you kidding?! Stay away from this place!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Boston D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenatype, Owner at Seabright, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
we use only local organic lettuces - wash them twice in icy cold water and spin them dry in a huge clean salad spinner- somehow a tiny green caterpillar made it on the plate.
this is not ok -but a near violent response was not called for and insinuating that we serve unfresh food borders on ignorance. All of our ingredients are personally sourced every day from farmers by me
thanks
chef Brian Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unique pizza toppings”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife & I stopped by on short notice to pick up a pizza to go. It is located on the water front (but no view). The staff was friendly, helpful and the service was great. They offer hand tossed, thin crust pizza with unique topping combinations. While we enjoyed the overall pizza and end crust, the bottom was too soggy for our taste. Take notice that they take cash only

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2BKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seabright also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing