We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise in Camden Maine”
Review of Comida - MOVED

Comida
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Comida is a Latin fusion restaurant located in the beautiful sea side town of Camden, Maine and inspired by the owner's travel and work in Central America and Mexico. The menu is chef-owner Tom Sigler's inspiration, and is a culmination of many years of culinary training and restaurant cooking experience. The menu is Latin inspired with a uniquely Maine twist, and rotates regularly with the seasons. It features an array of Spanish, Cuban, Mexican, Central, and South American dishes. Comida's menu utilizes Maine's freshest local ingredients, and the food is prepared from scratch daily. We also offer delicious hand crafted cocktails and an eclectic beer and wine list.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise in Camden Maine”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This restaurant was close to our Inn in the center of town ... We walked by ,checked out the menu, and made a reservation in this charming if small storefront restaurant.
Dinner was delicious and very creative. A nice change from the "typical seafood" restaurants that abound in Camden.
From the Salad and the Fish Tacos to the special of the day seafood dish (swordfish)- All were seasoned with a Mexican slant and accompanied by sides that were tasty and fresh..I even enjoyed the black beans and rice because of the preparation( I usually do not eat them!)
I would highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to eating there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadeen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had dinner here on our first night in Camden. Nothing fancy, great music, and a great meal.
Try the chicken with a side of greens. Next time we are in town, we would certainly have dinner here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfecto,”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

No lobster roll here. ;)

We started with shaved Brussels sprout salad and green tomato gazpacho. Both had a wonderful freshness and depth of flavor. Delicious! Followed those with calamari in a skillet and fish tacos. The calamari dish, with its accompanying sauce and spice, was perfect. Would highly recommend. The tacos were good, however not quite as good as everything else. We ate on the small patio & liked people watching.

For drinks, try the fresh mint limeade. Well, OK, why not a margarita!

We also ate at Natalie's and enjoyed Comidas more.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaturdaysChildWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We vacationed in Maine for two weeks, and decided to try Comida, a newer restaurant in Camden. The building looks like it may tip over, but that is part of the charm, we went very early, 5 pm, so we could make the Rockport Opera. We had this charming little place to ourselves. I had the fish tacos..extraordinary! Do try fresh hot sauce in the bottle on the table. Yummy. My sister in law had chicken mole and raved about it. Nice casual, charming feel and unique latin cuisine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“delish”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Really great food and a wonderful find on the main street. Nice outside area. Very friendly staff. Latin American style with lots of choice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brid49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comida also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing