We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Cheeses”
Review of Fromviandoux - CLOSED

Fromviandoux
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Orland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Cheeses”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

On entering you note a very modern looking establishment. Good food but they need to work on their presentations. Ordered an Abysinth and it came with a small spoon for the sugar and a water glass which dripped all over the table. The duck entree was very tasty but came on a rectangular plate with no side dishes. We were not told that vegetables were not included. Luckily our spouses had the burger and we stole their fries.
I recommend the cheese plate as an appetizer or for dessert.
They have a great assortment of cheeses.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Toothdoc1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    19
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just from the name alone, one can sense that someone is taking themselves a little too seriously here. Fromviandoux is a portmanteau of initial syllables of the French words for cheese, meat and sweets: fromage, viande and doux. It's a name that most of the people in the area--whether locals or visitors "from away"--most likely can't pronounce, let alone remember. Upon our visit, that suspicion was confirmed.

My wife and I decided to give it a try as we are always interested in the restaurants that seem to be popping up in the mid-coast in ever increasing numbers. Upon entering the building, the faux-upscale interior is austere and un-inviting. Although there were only two or three tables occupied, there were at least four people on the floor--including the manager, who was walking around with a totally cold expression and demeanor. The bar was also empty, and all this had us questioning how long this experiment in pretense would last in little Camden-by-the-Sea through the long winter months ahead. But back to the review.

The bartender was also taking himself a little too seriously. He handed us menus and came back to give us water--which was poured from a bottle (although obviously filled from the tap) into ridiculous looking tall glasses. My wife ordered a glass of wine, which she liked. I ordered a classic cocktail, a Negroni--one that any good barman should know--and then watched him make it incorrectly and serve it on a cloth napkin that he ceremoniously unfolded before straining the shaker into my glass. (queue major eyeroll) We looked over the menus, but between reading the descriptions and watching the wait staff file out en masse to a couple of the tables with gigantic rectangular and square plates with little bits of this and that on them, we decided that we would just finish our drinks and head elsewhere.

I would certainly not spend any time returning to watch another episode of their dog and pony show. I can only imagine what "modern high-tea" is like. Yeesh. Perhaps a name change to "PrétCherMoye" is in order ... short for pretentious, expensive and average, en Français, bien entendu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rolf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really good food, lovely atmosphere great prices”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We found this restaurant on trip advisor while travelling through the area and we are glad we tried it. It's a little out of the way, but you feel you've stumbled onto something special when you enter. The decor is very fresh and tasteful but also warm and cozy. The menu is limited, but focused with larger and smaller plates so you can really put together any size meal you want. We were not extremely hungry, so I had an appetizer of spectacular lobster cream soup with mushrooms and shallots. Small helping but very rich. The mushrooms and shallots provided depth without overwhelming the lobster. My companion had a green salad with beets which she raved about. She had the pork belly from the "smaller" portion of the menu and I had the duck from the "larger" section. The pork was well cooked and accompanied by a potato hash. Perfectly sized helping for the rich ingredients. The duck was crusted with honey and presented with slices of delicata squash alternating with slices of duck. Again, the meat was perfectly done. We skipped the cheese, but will definitely try it next time. The selection was excellent. For dessert, I had a trio of sorbets, including cranberry sage which tasted like Thanksgiving in a spoon. The other dessert we had was a scoop of the cranberry sorbet accompanied by a chocolate chip pecan cookie which was perfect - warm from the oven with a crispy exterior and chewy center. My one criticism, and it is minor, was with the service. Everyone was extremely nice, but they were trying too hard to be perfect. Service was very formal, but with tiny errors which would not have been noticed without the slight air of pretention. It's a new restaurant, so they will get the balance right in time. The most impressive thing to me was that they were able to provide this level of quality for the prices they charge. Extremely reasonable and with the menu structure, you can put together any kind of meal you want. Granted, I'm used to Boston prices, but i've never thought mid-coast Maine prices were much lower than in the city. Well done.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jqpjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Who knew good food could be fun as well as delicious?”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Fromviandoux, despite its a-bit-too-precious name made up by its owners from "fromage (cheese), viande (meat), and doux (sweet)", is now our "celebration" restaurant, worthy of anniversary, birthday, and any special occasion. We live about 20 minutes away, and are glad to be this close to a restaurant that fosters enjoyment, conversation, and culinary pleasure. The meat "charcuterie" choices and "smalls" are a delight, from the perfectly cooked sweetbreads, to the duck rillettes, to - well - all of them. The larger dishes are perfect for splitting as a couple, from fish to meat to pasta dishes to vegetables to - well - all of them. The wine list is interesting, the desserts a pleasure (with celebratory chocolate messages provided by the pastry chef par for the course if they know why you're there), and the service is just right - not too fast, not too slow. We even appreciated the plates, the artistry of the food platings, and the heavy-and-comfortable-in-the-hand flatware. But the cheese plate is a diner's playground: your cheese choices and accompaniments displayed with style on a large square plate with handmade crackers. You can spend a good half hour playing with this course's combinations and tastes, and it's just plain fun to talk about what you're eating, and to share. So much so that the good desserts can seem like an anticlimax. Add a very good single malt scotch whisky selection and this half of TwoinMaine is one very happy customer. Price is a bit high for the midcoast of Maine, but who cares when this place is the occasional splurge? In the last five years we have eaten well all over the US, in Scotland, France, and New Zealand (with even an incredible few experiences in Newfoundland and throughout the Canadian maritimes). But this small restaurant in Camden, Maine is well up on our list of new favorites. So make a reservation, be prepared to spend two hours or more over your meal, enjoy a place with a hum of conversation but not too much noise, and on your way out start thinking of when you plan to return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twoinmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible manager”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Ice cold manager wondering around restaurant as if she owns it.
Her demenour patronizes guest and makes people feel inferior.
Disgraceful ...!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Roadster623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fromviandoux also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing