We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay for this time of year.”
Review of Lord Camden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lord Camden Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

All staff were more then helpful and very friendly. The room was very clean and beds so comfortable, with plenty of plump pillows. The continental breakfast was better then most, having eggs cooked to order, hot oatmeal and make your own waffles. The view of the main shopping district and the bay in the background was pleasant to look at from our balcony. The location was perfect, as we didn't have to use our car to travel to see the bay, shop or eat.
It was a very relaxing weekend and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Donna K,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased you chose Lord Camden Inn as your home away from home when visiting Camden and surrounding Midcoast area. Thank you for your comments regarding our clean and comfortable rooms and amenities, breakfast, our location and views. We are very fortunate to be able to share our downtown location with our guests offering Camden’s shops and restaurants just footsteps from our entrances.

We would be delighted to see you return and look forward to your next stay with us!

Kindly,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
There are newer reviews for Lord Camden Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 616 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had a very relaxing weekend staying at the Lord Camden Inn. It was our first time in this area. We were told many years ago about Camden being so beautiful. A family member stayed in Camden on their honeymoon. We were more than pleased with this Inn. We stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the beautiful harbor. It is such a quaint little town where the mountains meet the ocean. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. So many stores and restaurants were in walking distance. We stayed the last weekend in March and I can't imagine how beautiful this town is in the summer with all the boats in the harbor. This Inn is just so perfectly located. The room was pretty large, and I loved all the quaint brick walls inside and out of the room. Looking forward to going back with my extended family members. I know many of them would love this Inn and the area.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor overlooking the harbor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patdenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Patdenm,

Thank you so much for your review of our Inn! Your comments were a warm welcome and the staff and I appreciate you taking the time to mention the Inns decor and helpful staff. We value our close proximity as an anchor for the downtown of Camden allowing our guests to be just footsteps to all of the shops and restaurants.

We are so glad to hear of your referral and that you took the time to follow through and become a guest of ours. Please let us know if we may be of service in the future!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

So, I've been a regular customer of the Lord Camden Inn for many, many years and I'm growing a little disappointed lately. This historically was a stand out property and one which I would highly recommend to friends and family, but it's just not feeling the same and I'm not quite sure exactly why, but I have some ideas. Still a great property, extremely well located, and great bones and architecture, etc. The rooms were getting tired, but it seems that there have been some renovations and updating. I did just stay in one of the basic rooms at the back of the hotel with a river view and the room was nicely done, and very fresh, although I should point out that the ceiling was peeling and coming down by the exterior wall above the sliding door to the deck. Also, the curtain was inadequately weighted and blew like a sail all night when the heater came on. And, cable went out around midnight, and there was no storm in the area. I think my lack of enthusiasm is brought out by the ho hum staff at the front desk. It's not that they're unpleasant or discourteous in any way, but rather I just kind of get that "oh it's another guest checking in" type of demeanor. I've always felt this way, and it's always slightly bothered me that the registration system doesn't have some better way of recognizing and acknowledging repeat guests. It would be nice if upon check in, there was a "Welcome back Sir" and a sense of comfort and understanding that I know my way around, etc., rather than the generic check in. Also, as often times I check in off-season, and I am coming on work related corporate travel reservations which only book the lower priced rooms, if there's availability would it really hurt to say Sir we would be pleased to offer you a street view room for no additional charge? This is a really great property and I still recommend it highly, but to keep that special feeling, I really think LCI needs to spend a little more time and doing a better job at recognizing repeat guests and making guests feel a little more appreciated and special in general.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear michael w,

We greatly appreciate your review contribution to our TripAdvisor page! I would like to sincerely apologize for the customer service experience that you mentioned above. Every staff member at Lord Camden Inn takes great pride in the guest experience and looks forward to seeing familiar faces and sharing knowledge about the Midcoast area. It is difficult to recognize repeating guests prior to arrival when reservations are booked via third party rather than directly with us, as those rooms are picked by the consumer and assigned specifically by those sites with little information given to us. We utilize a great tracking system for direct bookings by phone or through our online reservation system and would love to share our loyalty program with you next time you are with us!

I do also apologize for the cable television outage during your stay which was completely unexpected and was not the fault of the inner workings of the Inn. I worked diligently yesterday with the cable company to remedy this and in return received information in the later afternoon hours that there was a cable update that happened at midnight that our service provider did not contact us about. Once armed with this knowledge management was tasked with resetting every room individually so as to not wait for a service representative to arrive and further delay the restart.

Thank you for noticing our updates! We are proud to be bringing Lord Camden Inn a sense of freshness after these years to include new carpeting, bedding accents, flat screen televisions, complete room painting to now include a warm and inviting color palettes, and there is still plenty more to come!

We value your loyalty to Lord Camden Inn and encourage you to contact us directly during your next booking.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Our recent stay at the Lord Camden Inn was amazing! First of all, the stay had been a Christmas gift. We had never been to Camden although we have visited Maine many times. It's a lovely seaside community. The Inn itself far exceeded our expectations. Location in the center of town made it easy to access the local ambiance. The staff could not do enough for us. Their suggestions and recommendations were right on the mark. Courtesy and professionalism were their hallmarks. The suite we had offered a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, Jacuzzi, and a most impressive shower stall! The suite was spacious and well-appointed. The linens, both on the bed and in the bathroom were of excellent quality. The gas fireplace added another welcoming touch for a March evening. The breakfast offerings labeled as "continental" were more than generous with a broad variety of options. The blueberry scones were particularly tasty! This may have been our first visit but it won't be our last. We're looking forward to a repeat visit in the fall!

Room Tip: Handicap room on the first floor was particularly convenient, roomy, and easy to navigate.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a comfortable, well located, friendly spot to stay if you're visiting the Maine seacoast. There is so much to do in the area that this does not need to be a "hang out in the hotel" type hotel. The location allows you to walk around Camden, which is really cool.
We checked in late and we're greeted by a very friendly hostess who was expecting us. The one weird thing is that you park about three blocks away, and you need to borrow a keypass to open the gate. Be sure to leave the car at the back door while you check in and drop off your bags, then go park the car.
The room was like a junior suite with a sitting room. Nothing over the top, but everything worked, including the fridge and KEURIG coffee maker. The bed was really comfortable. My wife usually has trouble sleeping, and she slept like a rock. The room was facing "Main Street" with a little balcony. It was pretty cold so that didn't get much use, but nice to have. There was no room noise, which was great because we heard very loud talking from the room next to ours when we were in the hall.
There is a basic but free and quick breakfast with eggs, waffles, toast, etc. Great coffee. Very nice hostess.
We don't have kids but there were quite a few here so definitely family friendly.
Rate-wise we got our stay through Groupon so it was a REALLY good value. I'm not sure what the normal rate is. I bet it's pretty pricey in the high season but if you want a comfortable and friendly place in the ideal downtown location, it would be worth it to stay at The Lord Camden Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Pretty, right smack in the middle of town. Almost hidden in the center. Old inn feel, narrow hallways and stairs with thick carpeting. Nice little deck overlooking the river below. Luxurious furnishings with THE nicest sheets and comforter ever. Really delightful. Very nice breakfast. Lovely stay. Parking is not convenient but worth the short walk.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zacsmimi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Lord Camden Inn. The staff were friendly and very, very helpful. At check in, Cassandra made us feel so welcomed and went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed for a memorable stay. The breakfast was yummy and ample as we're the cookies in the lobby. Our room was comfortable and beautiful. We enjoyed watching the sun rise over Camden Harbor. The hotel oozes with character. It was in such a convenient location for walking around town and to the scenic harbor. We would definitely like to stay again at this lovely hotel.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
170 reviews
6.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.3 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Camden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Camden Inn

Address: 24 Main St, Camden, ME 04843-1704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#4 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range: $172 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Camden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lord Camden Inn, Camden’s finest luxury, boutique hotel, boasting unsurpassed service, comfort and elegance, with a premier village location and magnificent views of Camden Harbor and the surrounding coastal mountains.From the moment you first arrive, you'll know that this is no ordinary Inn. The warm and inviting atmosphere, colorful walls decorated with paintings by local artists, and the restored antique furnishings will grab your attention and evoke a smile. Our arched doorways, finely crafted wainscoting, brick walls, fireplace, and the hot coffee and tray of freshly made cookies awaiting your arrival will say "come in and relax, you have arrived."The Lord Camden Inn boasts 36 guestrooms and suites spanning four floors. Each room is a stunning architectural arrangement of light and space, many of which incorporate old world brick walls with modern and stylish marble and granite surfaces, wainscoting, and crown molding. The ultimate application of comfort, style and elegance. Lord Camden Inn is a AAA 3-Diamond rated property, 100% non-smoking, and pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Lord Camden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Camden Hotel Camden
Lord Camden Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing