We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best nights sleep ever”
Review of Lord Camden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lord Camden Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best nights sleep ever”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place has a sister property in Camden which is about $200 per night more (Grand Harbor Inn). This place has the same amenities, beds, bedding, tv, etc. The bed was so comfortable I can't describe it. Room was great and the hotel was good. Breakfast was good and you have to try their homeade granola. I would highly recommend this nice boutique hotel.

Room Tip: We overlooked the river with a private balcony. It was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Lizaguire,

I would like to take the time to thank you for your contribution to our TripAdvisor! Your title says it all! We continually receive comments regarding our bedding package and great night stay our guests have while staying with us. Our bedding package including Sealy Ultraplush mattresses along with luxurious cotton/sateen Cuddledown linens and pillows are indeed a dreamer’s paradise!

Thank you for your high recommendation! We look forward to your return to Midcoast Maine!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    170
    50
    7
    1
See reviews for
131
309
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in mid-Sept. Pleasant and helpful staff, comfortable bed, nice linens, ample and varied breakfast, clean, convenient. The 2nd fl. room I had was not large, but more than adequate for my needs, and very inviting in appearance. There was some visual evidence on the carpet of it being a "pet-friendly" hotel - a couple of stains -- but nothing that made the room feel dirty or unpleasant. I am very sensitive to smells, and am always delighted when there is neither the smell of moisture nor perfumey air freshener (nor anything else for that matter)! I can comfortably recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Anonymous9,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn! I am pleased to learn of your enjoyment during your stay with us. Thank you for your comments on our linens, bed, breakfast, cleanliness, and staff! We strive to create a relaxing and memorable stay for our guests both in form and function. Being made up of multiple different room types we are certain to have something to offer for all travelers in size, amenity, and views.

We look forward to your future stays with us!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our third visit to the Lord Camden Inn in Camden, Maine. The hotel has all the amenities. Rooms have in-room coffee/tea service, refrigerators, large screen TVs and are tastefully decorated. Almost all rooms have balconies overlooking the harbor or the village. There is elevator service. All members of the front desk, housekeeping and breakfast staff were friendly and welcoming. We were able to request the room we wanted to reserve having enjoyed the location in the past. The breakfast was perfect with your choice of hot-cooked, cereals, fruit, yogurt, waffles, etc. A local artist, Marianne W. Smith, has a gallery in the hotel and her work is displayed throughout. There are plenty of wonderful, varied restaurants, all within walking distance from the hotel. There is even a group of wineries within a short drive
from town. This is where we will stay for each visit to this lovely area.

Room Tip: Rooms with the full harbor view can have alot of street noise but who cares...what a beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Laurie S,

Thank you for your recent stay review of Lord Camden Inn! We value your loyalty and are excited to see your contribution to our TripAdvisor page! Your review is full of beautiful and kind highlights of not only our Inn but the great area of Camden and we couldn’t be more delighted to read it! Thank you for your comments towards our amenities and staff! We strive to provide exceptional service, comfort, and amenities and work hard to create a stay worth remembering!

We look forward to seeing you return!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed one night. Very cozy and quaint hotel located in the heart of Camden. Very clean and fairly comfortable. The room was a bit small and the tv was fuzzy and not HD. Parking was offsite but real easy to get to. Location is real close to nice restaurants in Camden. We'd probably stay there again. The front desk staff weren't the friendliest but got business taken care of.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Chris H,

Thank you for your review of Lord Camden Inn during your recent stay with us! Thank you for your kind words toward the Inns cleanliness, comfort, location and complimentary parking! We are lucky to provide our guests with Camden’s downtown amenities all within footsteps from our entrances. I’m apologize you did not receive the friendliest of service as we strive to provide legendary customer service and continually receive praise for this area. I would love to learn more of your customer service experience if you would contact me, as we will use your feedback as a tool towards further improvement. You will be happy to learn we are currently upgrading our television package to include new flat screen televisions which will work alongside the digital converter boxes to promote a sharper cleaner image. We’re excited to have this upgrade and look forward to completion by the end of this year.

I hope to see you return and look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, New York
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We love this hotel. This was our second stay at the Lord Camdenn Inn. Checked in 9/2/13 and checked out 9/4/13. We stayed in rooms 408 and 409. 408 had the full harbor view which is beautiful. 409 has a village view (could see mostly the roof of the hotel), not so spectacular. Both rooms were very clean and quite comfortable. Both also had patios where you could sit outside.

The staff was very helpful. All of our questions were answered. And they gave us several great suggestions for things to do in Camden. We booked the Schooner Daysail Package. It was very foggy and we weren't sure the schooner was even going to go out for the sunset cruise. The staff made reservations for us and told us that they would let us know if the cruise was cancelled, so we would be free to go shopping, etc. for the day. The cruise wasn't cancelled, it was a great time.

Breakfast is unbelievable! Belgian waffles, bagels, English muffins, scrambled eggs, western omelet, yogurt, granola, fruit, oatmeal, etc. Fresh (a nearby bakery/restaurant) provides baked goods, such as scones and muffins, daily.

The LCI is centrally located. You can park your car (parking is free in a lot a couple blocks away) and walk almost everywhere in town. Within walking distance there is shopping, the harbor, restaurants, and a beautiful park across the road.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OccasionalTraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear OccasionalTraveler87,

Thank you SO MUCH for you review of our Inn! It was such a pleasure to read and learn of your positive stay with us! Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff breakfast and location. We strive to provide legendary customer service and I’m happy to hear we met the mark in providing this along with recommendations during your stay! I’m happy to learn of your enjoyment with our breakfast as we are pleased to present fresh and local offerings to our guests.

Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back to LCI!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We liked the central location of the inn, perfectly in the middle of Main Street, and from the top floor (room 408) we had great views of the harbor and looking down onto the street.

The inn has beautiful brick detail, I don't know what they converted it from input whatever it was they kept original details intact. Our room had a cool brick wall and was definitely cozy. The bathroom was just ok and had a couple of issues: very tight shower, and lots of mildew in the shower. The room also is limited on outlets. The bed is really comfy and the room gets great light in the morning.

Fitness room was good, again very small but good cardio equipment. Breakfast was nice, all the basics you could want. Service was very friendly, and I liked the cookie jar in the lobby (perfect after dinner snack).

Room Tip: Room 408 is on the top floor, has nice views of the harbor and Main Street. Also a small but nice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear chris72206,

I would like to take the time to thank you for your TripAdvisor contribution! Lord Camden Inn was converted from a Masonic Temple built in 1893 in the year of 1982; opening with 24 rooms on May of 1984. The owners worked hard to restore and keep the historic presence throughout the Inn and it’s guestrooms. I’m pleased to read of your enjoyment of our historic brick walls throughout the Inn as well as your room and view! We are pleased to offer many views for our guests including the Full Harbor View you enjoyed. Over the past few years we have been upgrading and renovating the Inn to include carpeting, bedding, paint, and full room renovations. We have certainly reviewed the room you stayed in and are working towards new options in bath and bedroom. Our fitness room which offers LifeFitness equipment is a great room for cardio and weight training and although small in size we are glad you were able to experience this amenity.

Thank you for your kind words towards our staff and cookie jar! Both of which are a great highlight to many of our guest stays!

We look forward to your return to Midcoast, Maine!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Upon arrival we were less than impressed by the service. It was difficult to find the two parking spots to drop off our luggage even though we have GPS. After a phone call we were there, by the ice cream stand, and went in to check in. We asked for help with our luggage and the receptionist said (dismissively) that she was the only one there. My sister and I (who are both senior-citizens) lugged our suitcases up seven granite-faced stairs that are not wheel-friendly and on to the elevator up our room. Our room was quite nice, but there was no one there to tell us about breakfast, the ice machine, etc. We finally found the ice machine and the breakfast room. All three mornings there was only ONE person in the busy breakfast-room keeping everything supplied and cooking the scrambled eggs and clearing the tables. She was excellent in her job, but clearly needed some help. She was very appreciative when we knew where to take our dirty dishes. Why can't an up-scale hotel hire a few students to handle the luggage and breakfast chores? We referred to the receptionist as "Miss Hospitality."

Room Tip: It is fun to have a room with a balcony facing the street to do some people-watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanielmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Spanielmama,

I would like to thank you for providing a review of Lord Camden Inn. I am disappointed to learn of your service experience during your stay with us however. Lord Camden Inn has become known for legendary service and we take pride in striving to provide above and beyond services. Although we do not have a luggage attendant as this has become a less requested service with today’s travelers, we do always offer luggage service by our Front Desk Associates. Rest assured I am looking into why this service was not offered and further more passed off upon your inquiry. Amenities of our Inn such as breakfast, ice, fitness center, parking and wifi are points of mention at time of arrival as well as located on the room number card as we highlight each of these areas during receiving your room keys. Thank you for your compliments towards our breakfast as well as our Kitchen Associate. This is indeed a one person operation which can get busy at times as the hours are open for guests to come and go as they please from 7am to 9:30am. Being a family room atmosphere, our guests are able to clear tables themselves or our Associate does this as well; we thank you for your assistance with your table.

Thank you again for your stay with us at Lord Camden Inn. Your review and feedback is greatly appreciated and helps us to continue forward and positive growth.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
161 reviews
6.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.3 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Camden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Camden Inn

Property: Lord Camden Inn
Address: 24 Main St, Camden, ME 04843-1704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#4 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Camden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lord Camden Inn, Camden’s finest luxury, boutique hotel, boasting unsurpassed service, comfort and elegance, with a premier village location and magnificent views of Camden Harbor and the surrounding coastal mountains.From the moment you first arrive, you'll know that this is no ordinary Inn. The warm and inviting atmosphere, colorful walls decorated with paintings by local artists, and the restored antique furnishings will grab your attention and evoke a smile. Our arched doorways, finely crafted wainscoting, brick walls, fireplace, and the hot coffee and tray of freshly made cookies awaiting your arrival will say "come in and relax, you have arrived."The Lord Camden Inn boasts 36 guestrooms and suites spanning four floors. Each room is a stunning architectural arrangement of light and space, many of which incorporate old world brick walls with modern and stylish marble and granite surfaces, wainscoting, and crown molding. The ultimate application of comfort, style and elegance. Lord Camden Inn is a AAA 3-Diamond rated property, 100% non-smoking, and pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lord Camden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Camden Hotel Camden
Lord Camden Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing