We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Unexpected Surprise”
Review of Lord Camden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lord Camden Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had a wonderful visit at the Lord Camden Inn. The room was exceptionally spotless and beautifully decorated. The staff welcoming - and cookies to boot! We were on the second floor which had a balcony overlooking the main street of Camden and the beautiful harbor. The beds and pillows were so comfortable I did not want to get up in the AM! Keurig coffee maker with assorted teas, coffees and hot cocoa were in the room. We had a wonderful breakfast that was included in the rate. If you are looking for a special quiet get-away in a charming little town - this is the gem!

Room Tip: Although we did not see all the rooms - we were able to see a fourth floor room although a better ou...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Michelle L,

We sincerely thank you for contributing to our TripAdvisor Page! I am so pleased to learn of your enjoyment with Lord Camden Inn during your trip to Camden! Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the décor, upkeep, amenities provided as well as our highly remarked bedding package.

We are excited to have been a memorable part of your get-away and look forward to assisting you in creating more memories in the future!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
There are newer reviews for Lord Camden Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 617 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is you average hotel, with a good location in town. The rooms are average sized. The Keurig was dirty, creamers were old and mugs were dirty. Bathroom was decent. Continental breakfast was typical with lukewarm eggs, sausage and oatmeal. The parking lot was up the road and you needed to obtain and return a key for the lot from the front desk every time you needed to park. Wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MollysPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear MindysPoints,

I am thankful you shared a review on our TripAdvisor page. I would like to sincerely apologize for your stay experience as it is indeed not to the caliber of our services! I only wish we had a chance to have been able to address these during your stay as we strive for greatness in all aspects of our Inn to accommodate our guests towards a comfortable stay. I encourage you to give us another chance so that we may show you the hospitality that Lord Camden Inn has become well known for.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a fun boutique hotel that is dog friendly and has a very nice staff. Some (?) of the rooms have brick walls which was a fun touch. The bath amenities were high end Etro brand and quite lovely (good size and plentiful). The in-room coffee/tea/chai/hot chocolate is a Keurig machine. The balconies that each room has are nice (ours faced the main street in town). The bed was very comfortable, like sleeping on a cloud. We were in town for a wedding and were very happy with the accommodations, the free breakfast, and the people who work at the Lord Camden Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLFERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear JLFERG,

Thank you so much for contributing to our Inn’s TripAdvisor page! I am so pleased to learn of your enjoyment of our amenities and services during your stay with us. I receive many compliments towards our bed amenity and especially love your comments towards them being cloud like. I will be sure to share your compliments to our entire staff!

We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to Camden, Maine.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This converted Odd Fellows Lodge ( or some such group) has a fun interior...and the rooms are nice enough and not moldy. The staff is friendly too. But there it ends. It is located on the main street of a smallish town with just a few touristy shops and restaurants. The 'view' is the roof of the shops across the street. We ended up here after trying two other more appealing appearing hotels and being stunned by their off-season prices. Even so THIS place was about 40% more than we spent for ANY other room anywhere in a two week drive thru the Eastern seaboard and the Canadian Maritime provinces. It was late and we settled. We did not see what justifies the exorbitant prices in this little town but I guess there must be something I am missing. There is a cute bay but I mean really, Maine is full of such pretty bays (many of which we stayed at for much much less). Anyway, this place also makes you park a long block away and take a special key to get into their uncovered lot. Inconvenient especially if raining. So.. it is nice enough place to stay if you must stay in Camden.....but unless you dont really care about a view or about your money...probably can do better in another town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear anne g,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our Inn. I would like to take the time to apologize that you were unable to fully experience Camden as it should be with such a short overnight stay resulting in a below satisfactory remembrance of our town. Camden and the surrounding Midcoast region offer a wide variety of things to do and places to see, and surely much more than just the bay. Our little area of Maine is a destination to be desired for many Maine travelers as at any point you may visit many of our local shops and artist galleries; dine at an abundance of cuisine offerings; sail on one of Maine’s most picturesque Harbors and coastline; explore tremendous views and lookouts from an array of hiking opportunities, and all within footsteps from our entrances. Although we know there are lesser priced options as well as higher, we strive to provide high end products such as Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, luxurious cotton-sateen Cuddledown linens adorned with rich fabrics from Pacific Coast accents, legendary customer and concierge services. Our 4 story boutique Inn situated within an 1883 historic brick building is surely not one of replication. Once a Masonic Temple, our Inn boasts many of Camden’s scenery from any one of our 33 balconies whether it is a Full Harbor View, a residential Village View, a River View, or a Main Street view.

We do understand your concerns about parking and have partnered with this lot to offer complimentary guest parking, keeping them safe from the hourly restrictions of the town’s streets.

Thank you once again for contributing to our TripAdvisor page as we value all forms of feedback so that we may continue to grown in a positive direction. I greatly encourage you to give Camden another try when you are able to spend a full day with us or more so that you will see its beauty as one of many sought after destinations throughout New England! We would be delighted and honored to have you as a guest of ours when you do return!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed over Memorial Day weekend. The hotel is right on The main street and within walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the street and the harbor. When you walk in, tere is a place to hang your clothes, there are only 6 hangers - I like a few more. Extra pillows, an iron and ironing board and extra pillows.

The bathroom was on the right and while it was small, had nice toiletries and white fluffy towels. There was no shelf space but a vanity under the sink for storage. Could use a coat of paint and a picture in my opinion but suited our needs just fine.

As you walk further in the room, there is a little kitchenette with cupboards, a microwave, a small refrigerator, wine glasses,mand a single brew Keurig with a variety of teas, coffees, half-and-half and sweeteners.

There is a television with a DVR - you can borrow movies from the lobby. There're three large drawers under for storage. Beyon that is a charming brick wall with a sofa, floor lamp and coffee table.

There is a king size bed that was extremely comfortable with plenty of pillows. MIT had a beautiful comforter ad shame. Two nightstands on the sides.

There is a small desk and chair.

The most wonderful part of the room we did not get to enjoy because it rained the whole tie was the large private balcony overlooking te harbor.

There is a help yourself breakfast buffet on the second floor with a nice variety. Fresh fruit, yogurt, a variety of fresh breads, oatmeal with add-ins (granola, cranberries, etc.), cold cereal, make your own Belgium waffles, eggs, bacon, teas, coffee, juices... Very clean and replenished frequently

There USA fitness center on the fourth floor which we did not use.

There is free parking a block away.

The hotel nice and we would stay here again. The rooms are clean but showing their age which adds to the charm depending on your point of view.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aml3679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had no room reservations for the Inn but had seen the website. My husband and I were delighted to see actual accommodations lived up to site. Room was great; staff very friendly and helpful; location couldn't be better; breakfast buffet was wonderful, including the nice breakfast room. Hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Room was on street side which in May the traffic noise was very light; but I would think during the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fudgerater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We loved staying here. The location to all of the little shops and harbor was so convenient. We spent a lot of time wondering around Camden so I was happy the beds were so comfortable because at the end of each day I needed a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
170 reviews
6.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.3 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Camden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Camden Inn

Address: 24 Main St, Camden, ME 04843-1704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#4 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range: $171 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Camden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lord Camden Inn, Camden’s finest luxury, boutique hotel, boasting unsurpassed service, comfort and elegance, with a premier village location and magnificent views of Camden Harbor and the surrounding coastal mountains.From the moment you first arrive, you'll know that this is no ordinary Inn. The warm and inviting atmosphere, colorful walls decorated with paintings by local artists, and the restored antique furnishings will grab your attention and evoke a smile. Our arched doorways, finely crafted wainscoting, brick walls, fireplace, and the hot coffee and tray of freshly made cookies awaiting your arrival will say "come in and relax, you have arrived."The Lord Camden Inn boasts 36 guestrooms and suites spanning four floors. Each room is a stunning architectural arrangement of light and space, many of which incorporate old world brick walls with modern and stylish marble and granite surfaces, wainscoting, and crown molding. The ultimate application of comfort, style and elegance. Lord Camden Inn is a AAA 3-Diamond rated property, 100% non-smoking, and pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lord Camden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Camden Hotel Camden
Lord Camden Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing