We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THIS PLACE!!”
Review of Lord Camden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lord Camden Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had spent the majority of our trip in Ogunquit and Wells, but decided to drive north and check out Camden and boy were we glad we did! We needed a pet friendly place to stay and happened upon Lord Camden Inn and let me tell you, I'm glad we did!! For a pet friendly place, they didn't put us in the basement like most places do. We had a beautiful room on the second floor (209) overlooking the town from our balcony and we loved it!! Very nice reception and quite place! Can't say enough good about them, we will definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: Stay overlooking the town! You can people watch and be entertained with that :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deRoosReward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    166
    49
    7
    1
See reviews for
128
305
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stay on Sunday and Monday Labor Day. The accomodations were very nice and close to shopping and the harbor- only the street traffic could be a problem for a longer stay. Stayed in a king fireplace on the second floor street side. The buffet breakfast was very good but also could be a little boring if a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pate129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

What a treat to stay at the Lord Camden Inn! We loved the room--spacious, beautiful furnishings and tasteful decorations! Also plenty of outlets! We enjoyed our balcony view of the street below, though I will say that the planter needed some attention. The breakfast was wonderful and served in an attractive dining area. Staff was terrific and helped with any question or need we had. The only minor drawback was the parking--car needed to be parked off-site and it was slightly inconvenient to get the pass to open the gate and return so other guests could use it. For that reason, we didn't take our car out too much, but didn't need to as there was so much to do within walking distance. We would definitely recommend this inn to anyone visiting the area and we would love to go back if our future plans included Camden!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were very impressed by the personalized service, which could not have been any friendlier or more helpful. The desk staff helped with recommendations and even dinner / activity reservations. Breakfast was included. Most impressive: I called ahead because I follow a gluten-free, egg-free and dairy-free diet, and the Inn prepared for me three different kinds of delicious homemade vegan gluten-free muffins. I also had plain oatmeal, which was not available with the regular buffet. Savina was especially gracious and wonderful, and even gave me extra muffins for our trip home. Rooms were spacious and perfect for our 4-person family. Unfortunately, I have to add that the blanket on the pull-out sofa was not clean when we arrived and the decor /bathrooms could be more updated. All in all it was a fantastic place to stay, right in the middle of Camden, especially with our young family.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are quiet and face a small canal. Our suite was big and perfect for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I liked the Lord Camden, but felt that if they just did a little more it would be more in line with their pricing and we would've felt happier spending our money there. On check in, there was no one to be seen. We paged the clerk and waited at least 10 minutes. I had to go to the bathroom and couldn't find one myself, but when another guest walked through I asked him and he directed me to the 2nd floor. It would have been nice to have the clerk there, or at least come promptly, or at the very least, have a sign directing travelers to the facilities. It's not a short drive from PWM.

Our room on the 4th floor had a nice view of the harbor over the roof tops of main street, but if you sat in the chairs, the low wall blocked the view. There also was a flower box on the balcony in dire need of some maintenance and deadheading. We kept the door to the balcony open the entire time as the room really smelled like it had been occupied by a smoker, despite the no-smoking policy of the hotel. The front desk clerk came up and sprayed when I mentioned it, but it had little effect.

The bed was very very comfortable, but the heavy decorative bed covering just got in the way, how much nicer to just have a simple duvet?

The bathroom had only one towel bar and the hook that may have been on the back of the door was missing, so there was no room to hang towels after using them. The maids even had to leave the towels folded on the corner of the tub as there is no other place for them. The ubiquitous sign asking guests to reuse the towels is fine, but if we don't have anywhere to hang them what should we do? There was a thick layer of dust on a ceiling pipe that clearly had been overlooked for some time. Kind of grossed me out.

There is no closet, just a hanging space, and it also wasn't thouroughly cleaned as I found a previous guest's grungy baseball cap on the shelf there. The bed is on a platform so forget about putting your luggage under the bed, the coffee table has a bar running across the bottom so you can't put it below there either. As a result we picked our way around our open luggage for three days, which was almost impossible once our daughter joined us and used the pull-out sofa one night.

The breakfast was very good, although some more seasonal fruit rather than melon, pineapple and grapes would have been nice.

The location is excellent and walking distance to everything, the parking is nearby and free.

I will probably stay there again because of the location, but will lower my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtrippernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Rarely can I say I was pleasantly surprised by a hotel stay. We booked Lord Camden for a one night stay in Camden as we passed through en route to Bar Harbor. Not expecting much, we were taken by this charming inn. Perfectly located along the main street, the rooms were cozy and very comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was really great with great coffee and a selection of teas and juices. Hot food selection was ample with someone actually cooking the eggs in the kitchen. Waffle maker and fresh pastries and cookies - delicious!

The only negative was the fact we were only staying one night! As I sat in our less than stellar hotel room in Bar Harbor, I had wished we could have stayed in Camden one more night to enjoy the Lord Camden Inn for another evening.

One last comment, we had a street view room with a porch that we would have loved to sit and enjoy people watching. Unfortunately, the window box flowers (although very beautiful) were covered in mites and aphids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WindyCity2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, New York (Buffalo area)
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The parking is difficult - the secure parking lot is one block away but an easy walk. We have a river view suite. It is nice to have 2 rooms - gives us each a little privacy. Breakfast comes with the room so that is a nice start to the day. The staff is great - young and friendly at the desk. Tea and coffee is always availble in the lobby and we have a Keurig in our room also. It is great to be able to walk to many restaurants, rather than having to get in the car again. Good choice for us.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loranfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
150 reviews
6.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.3 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Camden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Camden Inn

Property: Lord Camden Inn
Address: 24 Main St, Camden, ME 04843-1704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#4 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Camden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lord Camden Inn, Camden’s finest luxury, boutique hotel, boasting unsurpassed service, comfort and elegance, with a premier village location and magnificent views of Camden Harbor and the surrounding coastal mountains.From the moment you first arrive, you'll know that this is no ordinary Inn. The warm and inviting atmosphere, colorful walls decorated with paintings by local artists, and the restored antique furnishings will grab your attention and evoke a smile. Our arched doorways, finely crafted wainscoting, brick walls, fireplace, and the hot coffee and tray of freshly made cookies awaiting your arrival will say "come in and relax, you have arrived."The Lord Camden Inn boasts 36 guestrooms and suites spanning four floors. Each room is a stunning architectural arrangement of light and space, many of which incorporate old world brick walls with modern and stylish marble and granite surfaces, wainscoting, and crown molding. The ultimate application of comfort, style and elegance. Lord Camden Inn is a AAA 3-Diamond rated property, 100% non-smoking, and pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Lord Camden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Camden Hotel Camden
Lord Camden Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing