We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rocky Maine Coast Views at Beloin's: "The Way Life Should Be" (Affordable Paradise)”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beloin's on the Maine Coast
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Rocky Maine Coast Views at Beloin's: "The Way Life Should Be" (Affordable Paradise)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Both cottages & motel rooms at Beloin's, a mile north of the perfect town of Camden, Maine, and right on Route 1, are located on the waterfront. In fact, practically IN the gorgeous north Atlantic Ocean - more precisely, Penobscot Bay. HUGE gorgeous views of the sea and light, with islands, sailboats, lobster boats, sea birds, & paradise. Simply our favorite annual get-away: low-key, comfortable, warm, perfect kicking-back, especially with refrigerator and stove or microwave. A year without Beloin's is a year...well, we always get there one way or another. The best of mid-coast Maine: just 4 hours from Boston area, but feels like another planet, in the best way possible. NOT lap of luxury, but extremely comfortabe; if you're looking for in-room Ritz-On-The-Sea, wrong choice. But if you just love love love being right on the ocean in comfy rooms with astonishing views, at very affordable rates, you will be VERY happy here.

Room Tip: Choice of rooms with full kitchenette, or basic mini-refrig/microwave. Helpful for maximum enjoyment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneOfBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    28
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
42
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,092 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,630 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I've been staying with Beloin's on the Maine Coast for over twenty-five years. After all this time, you can still color me a satisfied, enthusiastic customer. I always stay in the shore motel units, each of which have screened-in porches just above the rocky shoreline. The place is absolute heaven in terms of isolation away from the herd that populates the shops and tourist restaurants in town.

On my last stay, I spent four nights in unit 11, a small and spare motel unit with a double bed, a pair of chairs, a desk, refrigerator, and TV...there is a small round table and pair of patio chairs on the screened in porch and a tiny bathroom with toilet, rudimentary sink, and rustic shower.

Maine rustic is the best way to describe this place. If you want 21st century amenities, just keep stepping. This might not be the place for you. But if you love the sound of the sea, the breath of salt air, and the cries of the gulls, you are in for the treat of your life. For a few days, you can forget about the Internet, ringing phones, and a busy life. Sit and enjoy the view. It's a little bit of heaven.

Besides the shore motel units, there are also cottages down by the sea. These are tightly spaced and less private than the shore units, but each has its fans. None of it is fancy or high-toned...Enjoy the back to basic quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru,NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

First and LAST visit to Beloins! We should have known when a 9 times returning guest next door to our cabin introduced himself to us and said, " Great view and rustic place; it is about one step above a tent and P---ping in the woods but you'll love it." Well, the view was spectacular and the weather incredible but our 3 night stay in an antiquated cabin with mold, mildew, spiders and the 3 inch gap under the door was indeed, "rustic." When we asked for some more towels after we had arrived because we had to sop up the water on the bathroom floor BEFORE we could use it, the housekeeper said, "yeah, that unit has either a leaking shower or a toilet!" The floor in the bathroom was absolutely mushy when stepped on so we all steered clear of certain spots. It is a great attempt for a cliff-side retreat but spend your money elsewhere if you hold with some degree of cleanliness and 21st century ammenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolynPPeru_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is the third time we've stayed in one of the cottages by the water and it can't be beat! Very simply designed, the screened-in porch is the special feature here. With a bucket of shrimp and a crisp white wine, we were in heaven! We just sat and listened to the waves pound the rocks immediately below us. This spot is pure bliss!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLF1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Back again at Beloins, to relax and renew to the sound of the waves and little else... The cabins are very basic, clean and comfortable. Our german shepherd has always been welcome, and everyone is so friendly... we love it! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We love #19 for 1 BR, #17 for 2 BR.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nurdjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I had the option to stay in a cabin on the ocean or the motel which is not on the ocean. We got to check out both before we decided. We opted for the less expensive motel since we were only there to sleep and would be at our familys lake house during the day. If we were to go back we would choose the cabins on the ocean. They were bright, had a great view and private. The motel was a bit dated and could use some tlc. If you don't mind going for a rustic place with not a ton of amenities pick this property. The owners were very nice and helpful and the small private beach on the property was awesome!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonpaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, NH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Don't be fooled by view from Rte 1. Drive down dirt road (@ 1/2 mile) to oceanfront motel or cabins (1 & 2 bedrooms). There is no traffic noise and view is best you can find anywhere. You are right on the ocean. Owners / staff are friendly and helpful. Pet friendly too.

The accomodations are not fancy, but comfortable and relaxed. This is a true gem. You will not find anything that compares on the coast of Maine. My wife and I have been going there for 25 years - just returned and have already made reservations for next year.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms - Cabins or motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CharlieLancaster_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
1.4 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.7 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
3.2 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beloin's on the Maine Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beloin's on the Maine Coast

Property: Beloin's on the Maine Coast
Address: 254 Belfast Road, U.S. Route 1, Camden, ME 04843
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Beloin`s On The Maine Coast Hotel Camden
Beloin's On The Maine Coast Camden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing