We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay missed on a couple levels..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed at the inn in July - and there were a couple things that surprised/disappointed us. We are seasoned travelers and frankly rarely complain about a hotel and basically never ask for a different room . We arent complainers and frankly cant stand people who are. With that as a background - we checked into the half occupied Camden Harbor Inn. We were only in Maine for 4 nights - and consequently only had one medium size suitcase. We are shown to our room - and it had a mini writing desk - a couple of funky mod chairs - a small open set of shelves - but literally no place to put the suitcase. There also wasnt a set of drawers - because i would have unpacked the suitcase and put it under the bed. So we asked the guy at the front desk if we could get a room with a table /chair /anything to put the suitcase on OR a room with a few drawers so that we could unpack the suitcase. He showed us another room - which was not decorated as nicely - but i didnt really care - so i said this is fine we'll switch. He then informs me that the room is in a higher price category. So I was irritated. At 375 a night i expect to be able to get into the sutcase. He went on to say that most rooms have a set of drawers in the closet but ours didnt. OK - get rid of all of the euro crap furntiure - the mini writing desk the chairs and the magazine shelves and put in a suitcase rack or a set of drawers. whatever.

the restaurant is supposed to be good at the hotel. We were goiing to eat there the first night but then decided - since we were annoyed - to eat in town and reconsider. We had a lovely meal in town. The next night we debated and thought we might go ahead and eat at the hotel. Well they were having a special korean or taiwanise chef in ( I love asian food so that doesnt bother me) but the menu was fixed price and too many courses/too much food for what we were in the mood for. I was surprised/annoyed that they didnt tell us this when we checked in? I mean you would think they would want their guests to know what the options were to eat there.

One other interesting tidbit - the hotel was def NOT full - you see everyone at breakfast etc. You can figure these things out. Well - the second night we were headed out to dinner and someone called and inquired about room availability. The person at the front desk said they only had one room left - but proceeded to describe how great the room was etc. I can assure you they had several empty rooms left - they just dont want to negotiate.

All this said - i can see how it is possible to have a nicer experience there - it just didnt thrill us and we would try other spots .

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chichichicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 383 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

My partner and I drove to Rockport Maine for the lobster fest but got in a night early.
The Camden Inn had one night available. We were very happy. We arrived to a suite that blew us away. A personal private note awaited us. This is an Inn in Camden but decorated with such class and taste with a modern feel. We were just WOW'D. We had a private balcony and the breakfast was to die for. If you want the comforts of an Inn but a luxury feel this is it. Would go back a trillion times over.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBOUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Camden Harbor Inn provides guests all the comfort of a traditional inn with modern style and panache - and one of the best kitchens in Maine, Natalie's restaurant. The decor is elegantly trendy, the staff is friendly and very helpful and the rooms have every amenity necessary for a luxurious and relaxing vacation. This hotel has set a new standard for future accommodations and I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Penobscot Bay area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modernemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We went to Camden Harbour Inn for Memorial Day weekend, and it was such a wonderful experience. Camden is not a hopping nightlife town, but if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing vacation by the water... it's perfect.

Things I really liked about Camden Harbour Inn:
- THE FOOD. Breakfast was served in Natalie's restaurant (in the inn) and it was not the strange, B&B type meal where you have to sit with strangers or scoop from a buffet. The first day I had poached eggs benedict with maine lobster. We also had dinner at Natalie's once. It is definitely the nicest place for dinner that we saw with the most patrons. Here, too, the food was tremendous albeit a little pricey. We ordered from the bar menu (still very gourmet) and the bill came to about $80 with drinks.

- The tiny details. Chocolates, slippers, and a "good night" note waiting for us in our room when got back in for the night. Glass of sparkling wine upon arrival.

- The bed. Fluffy, feathered, heaven.

Things we didn't necessarily like:
- The restaurant, since it's so popular, dominates the downstairs in the evening. Restaurant patrons spilled over into the inn's area. With no nightlife in the town, we felt like we were trapped in our room a bit by 9 pm.

- Price of restaurants in Camden. We didn't really find any place that was THAT great (as compared to Natalie's) and yet the prices were pretty astronomical. $24 for spaghetti and meatballs? What?

- Dress and decor of some restaurants. On the second night we ate at Paolina's Way, thinking from the menu and reviews that it would be more of an upscale, gourmet, organic italian restaurant. Instead, we found people in jeans, eating pretty average pizza. Unfortunately, this was not unique. We also tried another place that we thought would be moderately nice (views of the water, $25 entrees) and we found people in tank tops, flip flops, paper napkins, and sticky plastic covered menus.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccasey518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We decided to do something different for New Year's Eve and went with the New Year's package at Camden Harbor Inn. Wow from the fabulous bed, extraordinary hospitality and exceptional food it doesn't get any better . Camden is quiet that time of year but this Inn was just perfect for a nice relaxing and fun stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanstatemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

CHI is a beautiful inn run by the nicest people! They remembered our names, they gave us the same room as the last time we stayed there. We love the decor and the relaxed atmosphere - we wore jeans the whole time and didn't feel out of place! We ate at Natalie's which is on site and had 2 excellent dinners and breakfasts. Chef Klang is so creative and the food was outstanding! We will definitely visit again. We would recommend a minimum of 2 nights stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harley05portlandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We loved our stay at Camden Harbour Inn. From the moment you are greeted at your car, you know this place is topnotch. Normally I would not stay at smaller inns or B&B’s because it often feels like your visiting your auntie. Not at Camden Harbour Inn; luxurious and comfortable room, a large lounge with big fireplace and an amazing restaurant are making this a high-end luxurious getaway. The staff is very friendly and helpful and everything looks spotless new. The breakfast is included (mimosas too!) and delightful, dinner a triumph. We stayed at Camden Harbour Inn during Maine Restaurant Week and the inn and restaurant were sold out the entire weekend, however it never felt crowded and you never had to wait for anything.

We loved the ice bar that was great fun and unexpected. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beacongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.8 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
174 reviews
6.2 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn

Address: 83 Bayview St, Camden, ME 04843-2204
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range: $242 - $802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais and Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn is a AAA Four Diamond property, resting on the picturesque coast of Maine. The hotel features panoramic views of the mountains and harbor, creating the perfect setting for your next New England getaway. The recently remodeled boutique hotel features luxurious guest rooms and suites, stunning views, and a restaurant awarded top 100 in America preparing amazing dishes, you'll never want to leave! Just minutes from the harbor landing in the center of town, the Inn is Camden's most luxurious boutique lodging location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Harbour Hotel Camden
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing