We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything the very best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Ranked #11 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“everything the very best”
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This was a five day splurge with my fiancée. We spend two wonderful nights at the White Barn Inn and two amazing nights at Camden Harbour Inn. The service is by far the best ever experienced, the rooms are very luxurious and modern and breakfast is included. Dinner at restaurant (separate review) was exceptional. We highly recommend this inn if you are looking for luxury, service, gourmet cuisine and best vistas over the harbor.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalesale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    38
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
43
258
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We were thrilled with our midwinter getaway stay, just one night with dinner at Natalie's. We felt welcomed from the moment we walked in the door. Our third-floor room overlooked the harbor and Camden Hills. It was lovely to relax and read in. The bed was splendidly comfortable. The staff greeted us by name when we came down for dinner and breakfast. Dinner at Natalie's was excellent, inventive without being overly so, and the breakfast was no slouch either. We also enjoyed time before dinner in the comfortable common room, with the fire, comfy chairs, and tables for cards or games. Altogether a great experience, and one I hope we get to repeat!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lets_go_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

My boyfriend and I recently returned from an overnight stay at the Camden Inn, and I can honestly say that we were so floored by the service that we couldn't wait to get home and write this review. From the moment we walked in the door, our needs were anticipated and met. I have never felt so taken care of by a Bed and Breakfast. Everyone was extremely friendly. Upon arrival to our room, we found a hand-written note, a small Maine momento, and some complimentary bottled water. We were also treated to a cocktail.

We dined at the restaurant located in the B&B and received similar thoughtful and attentive service. As we were eating, our bed was turned down and delicious chocolates were left for us in our room.

The breakfast was phenomenal. People addressed us by name. While we were eating, the Inn-Keeper (Raymond?) cleared the snow off of our car! We couldn't believe it! At the end of our stay, he also brought our bags down to the car and put two waters inside of our drink holders. We were so impressed! We hope that everyone has a chance to be so pampered. Thank you Camden Inn for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We are spoiled and staying in Camden didn't sound to appealing to us at first. Recommended by friends as one of the best in the USA, we decided to give the inn a try. Exceeding expectations and more, what an amazing property Camden Harbour Inn is. The room was luxurious, tasteful and had every amenity you could imagine including a great steam shower. However best quality is the service, as you would only find it at some of the legend hotels in Asia. No wonder our friends were raving and no wonder the inn was awarded one of the best in the world. It always takes the Dutch (owners) to create the best experience, atmosphere and service. We will be back

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uryoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Even though I gave most categories a "very good" rating, my over all experience was excellent because of Natalie's, the restaurant located in the Camden Harbour Inn. The ability to stay overnight without having to leave for dining is very desirable for me especially when the food offered is creative and delicious. We had two dinners and breakfasts there. Everything we ate from appetizer to dessert were of the highest quality. Their bar manager, Thomas, creates some very unique cocktails as well! Try his "Maine Hike"!

We stayed in "Curacao" which is a corner room on the second floor with a deck over looking the harbour and Penobscot Bay. The view is very nice but the third floor room on this corner would be the best view if you don't care about having a deck. There are power lines in your view on the second floor but we rather enjoyed having the deck, even in November!

We only have one complaint which could easily be remedied:

1. There was not an Ipod docking station as stated on their website. There is a MP3 outlet in the radio and television but you'll need to bring along your own cable to attach to it. We have the appropriate cables but did not bring them because the website mentions the docking station. We surprisingly found the cable for purchase at the local drug store.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NonUnTurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Describe the service you experienced
We were greeted by our first name upon arrival -- even our 3 year old was greeted by name. The managers, a husband and wife team, couldn't have been more gracious.

Tell us how you liked the room
Despite the steep staircase (more a concern for little ones and older ones :D) - 2 flights of stairs - our room the siam suite was located on the third level and so much more spacious than I expected with direct views of Mt. Battie and the harbour. We had a king bed and we had requested a roll away last minute which was conveniently set up for us when they did their turn down service. There was plenty of space for our family of 3 to enjoy.

Talk about the location & amenities
I knew when I booked the Inn that it was located walking distance to town... but it's location is perfect. It sits on top of a hill atop of Bayview Avenue that runs directly down to
Main Street. The walk is 2 minutes and is so convenient to everything - including accessing the harbor. We met two of the massage therapists and although we did not take advantage of the spa it is nice that they offer it. They also had a voucher for us to enjoy a complimentary cocktail in their lounge which was the perfect way to settle in after our late afternoon arrival. Breakfast also comes with the room reservation and this is not just a continental breakfast. They have gourmet options and although the menu items were not extensive the staff was ready to accomodate any request. WE enjoyed their house smoothies!

Say what you liked best & least
We liked the simple modern and eastern flair the hotel offered as well as the level of hospitality and comfort. They had a coffee and tea station with cakes and mixed nuts, snacks in the lobby along with a library of books and DVDs for adults and kids alike. And although we could tell they probably do not host many young families (we were the only ones with a small child staying there when we were there) - they never made us feel unwelcome -- in fact -- upon check in our daughter was presented with her own stuffed animal compliments of the hotel. FABULOUS! I cannot say a negative thing about the Camden Harbour Inn. Very comfortable and classy establishment! I would absolutely recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sopolobstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill Inn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We loved the Camden Harbour Inn. We were there very off season so it was quiet and we had much of the property to ourselves. We loved the rocks fireplace in the parlor, loved the decor in Natalie's (and thought the food--both dinner and breakfast--was great), and loved the location. Our room, the Siam Suite, was spotless, very well appointed, and had a great view. The off-season price made it a nice value. Next time we'll stay longer and venture into town for dinner one night--we love the Hartstone Inn's Michael Salmon, and Francine's, and...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan_bluehillinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
161 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn

Property: Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Address: 83 Bayview St, Camden, ME 04843-2204
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais and Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn is a AAA Four Diamond property, resting on the picturesque coast of Maine. The hotel features panoramic views of the mountains and harbor, creating the perfect setting for your next New England getaway. The recently remodeled boutique hotel features luxurious guest rooms and suites, stunning views, and a restaurant awarded top 100 in America preparing amazing dishes, you'll never want to leave! Just minutes from the harbor landing in the center of town, the Inn is Camden's most luxurious boutique lodging location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Harbour Hotel Camden
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing