We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Camden!”
Review of Norumbega Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Norumbega Inn
Ranked #6 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We chose the Norumbega Inn for a mother-daughter reunion trip based on its exterior; we'd passed the castle many times, and we wanted to see if the interior could possibly live up to the beauty of the exterior. Well, we had no idea how good things were about to become . . .

Enter to a series of wood-panelled rooms, inviting chairs, bookshelves, a blazing fire, faint tantalizing fragrances, twilight skies framed by tall windows.

Based on other reviews, we opted to try Chef Phil Crispo's dinner, having no idea at the time that he'd won a Chopped TV competition. The chef is a modest man with immense talents, and the food was utterly divine. Course after course appeared, each one beautiful, surprising, and delicious. I'll try to attach a few pictures. Great attention to nuance, to precise balancing of flavors. We were enchanted. Breakfast the next morning was every bit as wonderful. The portions were paced, so that we didn't feel overwhelmed, but nourished in the best possible ways. We came away with all kinds of ideas for our own cooking!

Oh, and the room. We chose the Warwick, a lovely space with gas fireplace and view of Penobscot Bay. Sue made us welcome, giving us a tour of the inn and charming us with her humor and great spirit. Their plans for the inn sound delightful. A pub in the basement? Oh, yes!

Yes, we will return, and yes, you should go. It's an unforgettable place, a real gem. Nothing else in Maine comes close to this kind of magic. And we were there on a very cold day in March. Imagine what spring and summer might bring?

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msabsinthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 194 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed in two different rooms with views of Camden Harbor! What a magical place! All the fireplaces are so romantic.

We were on a part business, part personal trip, and the team did a fantastic job accommodating our needs.

Dinner was incredible, the five course tasting menu was a once in a lifetime experience! Phil is a king in the kitchen.

It was all perfect.

Thanks again!!!

Room Tip: Not a bad choice in the house, the team was incredibly honest and straightforward about the choices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george1234567890_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Warmth and Maine in February may sound like an oxymoron but the Norumbega manages to make it a reality from the minute you step in from the frigid temperatures outside. The glow of the warm wood in entrance hall and the crackling log fire made us forget immediately how cold we had been just seconds earlier. The welcome and tour from Linda as she showed us to our room made us feel like old friends arriving for a visit. We settled into our room and and sank into the comfy armchairs to take in the incredible view while nibbling on some delicious lemon ginger and lavender blueberry shortbread cookies. Chef Phil with his Scottish background makes simply the best shortbread this side of the Atlantic so be sure you try them when you visit. This was my birthday trip and we had asked to have dinner but were totally unprepared for the feast that awaited us. Fish and chips, served in newspaper the perfect sized portion to start our multi course meal, Chef Phil's creativity and passion for food was very much in evidence as the evening unfolded, we loved every bite but after much discussion decided that the Mushroom Pot Pie was the favorite dish of the night. Perfectly cooked mushrooms and a local aged brie baked under a disc of flaky puff pastry that burst with flavor and melted in your mouth, it was sublime. Sue's warmth and graciousness made the evening perfect. Fires glowed and crackled in the fireplaces, music played, our every need seemed to have been anticipated and we felt so well taken care of. We awoke the next morning to find the world blanketed in a layer of fresh fallen snow and made our way down to breakfast served by the fire in the sunny dining room. Tea came British style brewed in a pot, coffee was served in a French press, orange juice was fresh squeezed. Oatmeal, served as the first course blended three kinds of oats with millet and quinoa topped with blueberry compote, followed by a choice of omelet or french toast with bananas, we chose one of each and happily shared, add to this a basket of home made pastries including some light and fluffy potatoes scones, served with sweet butter and strawberry rhubarb jam, it was the perfect way to start the day. We could not have been more sorry when it was time to leave and are looking forward to returning as soon as possible! Sue Phil and Linda are the perfect hosts and this a truly a magical spot.

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms have beautiful views, but having peeked in every room they are all pretty and comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My Husband and I just got back from a wonderful stay(elopement!) at the Norumbega. From our arrival to our departure, every aspect of our stay was superb. Sue, Phil and Linda treated us like family and made us feel right at home. They are personable, attentive and genuinely great people. Their attention to detail is impressive. We were greeted with a much needed glass of champagne upon arrival without us even asking. The Inn itself is stunning with its original craftsmanship preserved. We stayed in the Penthouse Suite where the views of the bay were breathtaking. There were homemade shortbread cookies and milk waiting in our room for us. The oversized bathtub was lovely, the king bed was so comfortable, the fireplace was beautiful. Although cold out, we were able to step outside on our private deck and enjoy the crisp air and incredible views of the Penobscot Bay. The most memorable part of our stay would have to be the exquisite six-course dinner and 3 course breakfast each day by Chef Phil. He didn't miss a beat, everything was superb. From the lobster and roasted corn over linguini, to the shrimp and mushroom ravioli. The rack of lamb Christmas Eve was absolutely amazing. What made Phil's wonderful creations stand out was his use of the freshest, mostly local, ingredients which gave his food such rich and fresh flavor. There was not one thing that he made the my husband and I did not like. Honestly it was some of the finest food we have ever eaten. We didn't want to leave and are already planning a return visit in the summer. Thank you Sue, Phil and Linda again for everything! -Tony & Ashley

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay; Sue and Phil and their staff made us feel like we were old friends visitng for the weekend. The Norumbega is beauftiful, inside and out, and we loved our panoramic view of Penobscot Bay from the Balmoral Room. Phil dazzled us with his wonderful breakfasts (smoked local Ducktrap River salmon omelet and apple and pear stuffed french toast). Then, Phil exceeded our wildest expectations with a six-course dinner fit for royalty, with each course more spectacular than the last! After driving by the Norumbega for many years, we are so glad we decided to try it on our Maine Thanksgiving trip. Above all, the warm, family-like reception by Sue and Phil made us feel so welcome; we can't wait to return with our small grandkids for a stay in the Library Suite. We now have a new Camden favorite.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EBoydTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Camden Maine was our first stop on a 5-state tour of antiquing. We were treated as visiting royalty by the staff of Norumbega, enjoying the warmth of the welcome and the fantastic inside comfort of the castle's beautiful woodwork, delightful rooms, vintage pocket doors, and great view. The inn is close in to town, multiple antique malls and shops, and eating places with the greatest blue berry pie. We have some dietary restrictions to consider, including gluten sensitivity. Of special importance to us was the extra effort by Phil to create gluten-free delicacies for breakfast and dinner -- his blueberry muffins were my favorite. He does not offer the usual run of the mill breakfast but an adventure in taste. The setting is perfect for a short trip or for business meetings. We plan to return for more of Phil's cooking and Sue's gracious welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ieraskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I would highly recommend the Norumbega! The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had a small issue with the heat in our room as it was one of the first cold nights here in Maine. Sue and Phil went above and beyond to assist us and moved us ( to a fantastic room) immediately. They had exceptional service and truly made us feel welcome. The food was amazing and the Inn was absolutely beautiful. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.7 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
622 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norumbega Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norumbega Inn

Address: 63 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1733
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range: $200 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Penobscot Bay, The Norumbega is in the quiet historic neighborhood in Camden, just a few minutes' walk from the bustling center of town. The castle provides an experience like no other in the Mid-Coast of Maine. Featuring both extraordinary lodging and cuisine, The Norumbega focuses on 'simple things done exceptionally well'. We feature fresh, local ingredients in our breakfasts (included in your stay) and dinner (an option for our guests). The Norumbega offers a chance for our guests to indulge, be comfortable and relax in an environment that is graciously distinguished - whether in the castle itself or outside on its four acres of lawn and gardens . Enjoy the fantastic craftsmanship and woodwork of days gone by coupled with modern amenities, delicious food and hosts that love what they do. Whether for an overnight stay or a visit for a week, there is always something new to discover and fantastic food prepared by Chef Phil to enjoy. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norumbega Hotel Camden
Norumbega Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing