We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A nice visit

We were there in September so we saw no swimmers but the lake was beautiful and there were people... read more

Reviewed November 5, 2019
canddlove
,
Baltimore, Maryland
Absolutely Gorgeous Spot!

We rented a home on Megunticook Lake this past summer. The views were absolutely beautiful with... read more

Reviewed October 27, 2019
kadMelbourne_Fl
,
Winter Garden, Florida
Read all 116 reviews
  
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
83
29
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
83
29
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public beach clean water cliff trail paddle boarding great hike porta potties moderate hike worth the effort fantastic views kayaking maiden death mountains ocean trees reward adventure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 116 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2014

Enjoyed Balance Rock and the picturesque views from the yellow and orange trails. Be prepared by wearing the right shoes as there are lots of roots to walk over. Very pretty spot to a very large, but quiet lake.

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank LakeLadyinNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The lake was great and we had a good time kayaking around the islands and in and out of coves. I was not impressed with the amount of boat traffic on the lake. I don't mind motor boats but there seemed to be alot. With that said, The parking lot for boats seemed to really accommodate boats with trailers. Those with kayaks or paddle boards had to park on the side of the road.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank 321GregB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

After we kayaked away from the highway, we could hear the loons and found it quieter. Although there are many residences and cabins along the shoreline, there is a nice view of Mount Battie and we found the swimming so fun. There are a few rock islands that allow for some great diving. The water was cool with warm currents coursing through in spots. Watch out for recreational boaters!

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank 94LisaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

If you have already enjoyed the beautiful Camden salt water experience and are looking for a new swimming venue don't miss out on the fresh water swimming at a small beach at Barrett's Cove on Megunticook Lake.It is literally 3 miles or so from downtown Camden and sits in the cradle of some amazing cliffs(Maiden"s Cliff) to one side.There was no entrance fee to this small park where tables and a grassy area were available also. Water is crystal clear and the depth of the water increases ever so gradually making it a great experience for children.There are some small twigs resting on most of the bottom so swimming shoes are helpful.

Date of experience: July 2014
4  Thank peterStratfordCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Megunticook Lake is beautiful and crystal clear! Full of both large and small mouth bass, beautiful scenery!

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank NewYorkBnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews