We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a delight!”
Review of Fresh & Co.

Fresh & Co.
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: In 2014 Steven Steeves and Rada Valkova, took over the existing business on 1 Bayview Landing in Camden, Maine. A relatively small space, tucked away from the main traffic of tourists and locals, we are working together daily at creating a sustainable family business in a town full of award winning and amazing places to eat. What makes us different is our commitment to our beliefs as a family and proprietors. We believe in comfortable settings with no pretentious elements, in honest, interesting and fulfilling food, in ingredients that are more important than recipes, in honoring the farmer and the fisherman, in treating our staff as family, in an informal but sophisticated service, in having fun! We take inspiration from our roots, travels and experiences, to create a globally inspired, locally sourced cuisine.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Truly a delight!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Three couples went to Fresh for a special night to celebrate a special person's birthday. We are all discerning eaters and two of us are excellent cooks in our own right. We heard that this restaurant was under new management and were enticed by the menu. It was excellent from start to finish. The owner/chef has a creative style, combining flavors and tastes which are out of the ordinary. One of us had the calamari appetizer which featured pineapple which you might think would be an odd combination, but it was excellent. Another of us had the mussels appetizer which came with an unusual and delicious sauce and was such a generous serving that it could have easily been an entree. We finished it up with three amazing desserts. We would all return there in a heart beat and have already recommended it to several other tourists that we met as well as to the concierge at the hotel where we were staying.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraofNantucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    212
    78
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a Find”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Upon the suggestion of the hotel staff, we had dinner last night at Fresh. The place was a bit busy and I don't think they expected this size crowd in the middle of the week in mid May. The server was friendly, knowledgeable, and somehow not phased by the crowd.
We had a late lunch so we decided to share an appetizer and an entree. The app was the Maine muscles. Beat we have ever had with a wonderful garlic and cheese sauce. We couldn't believe how good they were and of course I had to use some of their delicious fresh bread to soak in the broth.

On to the entree...we shared the lobster risotto. It was full of lobster meat and it even included a tail with the meat still in it. I looked at the portion when it arrived and thought this was rather small for us to share and the cost, but it was totally wrong; we were stuffed. The sauce was scrumptious and we managed to wipe the bowl clean.
We hadn't planned on having a dessert , but took a look at the menu anyway. At the suggestion of our server, we ordered a coconut ice cream with a home made butter milk/caramel sauce. I am a coconut fiend and this did not disappoint. Rich creamy ice cream with pieces of toasted coconut. The sauce just cut the sweetness enough to make this one of the best desserts we have ever had.

This is a strong shout out for this place which I normally DONT do, but this was really exceptional .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kMH714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“New, chaming... go before the crowds catch on”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stumbled by chance into this lovely new dining establishment. We were really impressed by the owners- the receptionist and chef- first noticing their very tasteful renovation of the space, their friendly, competent service, and of course then the food, which was delicious. Lots of pleasing touches. It just felt right. This is destined to be a popular place in Camden, near the water, snug in the downtown scene. Suggest you get there before people catch on and the lines start to form.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kdrsofree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Freshly disappointed”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Dined here for my Wife's birthday with our two children. There are new owners. The restaurant is charming with close tables. However, the acoustics are terrible insofar as the cacophony builds as the tables fill to such an extend that our waiter felt compelled to shout and I couldn't hear my daughter seated beside me (no I'm not wearing hearing aids). The service was otherwise surprisingly slow in such a small establishment and we waited for all to be served at the table while the entrees came out in a stagger fashion. The quality of food did not meet expectations. The most important meal being the guest of honor and she was disappointed with the lobster risotto, "There is hardly any risotto in the dish. It's more soupy than expected and more lobster than necessary." Son had the grass fed beef burger which he described as hard to hold due to the greasy rolls upon which it was served. There was an entire uncut shallot atop the burger like a tumor bulging beneath the cheese. He could not finish this burger as the salt flavor was overpowering. A teenager unable to finish a burger! Daughter's Scottish salmon was served in a salad plate tossed together as if it were dished from a large casserole. My blue fin tuna was served in thick slices which were tough to chew and swallow. How about dessert? Cannoli served with the middle unfilled and tiramisu served in a large martini style dish with fingers of cake in a soup of creamy sweet liquid...yuk.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent service but poor food”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Went here for my girlfriends birthday because it had good reviews, but left pretty disappointed and still hungry. The lobster ravioli she got was rubbery and gross, definitely NOT worth $25. The dough for the ravioli was thick and chewy and you could barely taste the lobster. She got through one of the ravioli before she couldn't eat anymore.

I had the salmon which was on special. It was OK but honestly nothing to write home about. Again, definitely not worth the price paid for it. Normally we wouldn't have said anything about it but for the price I expected far more. When we said something to our waitress she condescendingly asked if we were picky eaters and didn't have adventurous taste, then suggested if she didn't like the ravioli we should have traded plates. Our waitress offered us dessert to make up for the poor food. We got cheesecake, which was actually really good, probably the best part of the meal.

When we got the bill they did nothing to try and remedy our poor experience until we pushed and complained more. The manager gave us half off the ravioli but charged us for the cheesecake after the waitress gave the impression it would be on the house.

All in all, we were both really disappointed with the food and the service. For a $70+ meal I expected more and it just wasn't there, I definitely will not be giving them any more business.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh & Co. also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Fresh & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing