We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best restaurants in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fresh & Co.

Fresh & Co.
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A relative newcomer to Camden's waterfront dining scene, Fresh serves innovative interpretations of classic coastal New England dishes inspired by the rich culinary traditions of the Mediterranean region. Self-described as one part neighborhood cafe, one part elegant bistro & bar, Fresh is designed around an open kitchen, where Head Chef Steve Steeves, and his Sous Chef Kyle Ruger, can be seen busily toiling over open flames preparing mouth watering and deeply satisfying dishes.Fresh works with local farmers, growers and purveyors to source products with integrity, flavor and soul, and incorporate seasonal offerings into their menus nightly. The result is food that is honest, straightforward and pays homage to the bounty of the local region of Maine we are so privileged to call home. Using ingredients in their peak and preparing them minimally and with respect allows Fresh to capture the essence of the season and bring it straight to your table.The Fresh experience is about more that just the food. A sincere effort to educate our staff on all aspects of food and wine culture is the basis for our service philosophy. The welcoming staff at Fresh goes to great lengths to make diners feel at ease, comfortable and well taken care of. Warm hues, soft lighting and an unexpected quirkiness encourage guests to settle in, get comfortable, and have a great time.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“One of the best restaurants in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

the service and quality of food. Combinations were interesting and tastes blended well together. Atmosphere was good, loud restaurants tend to tell me the place is a popular choice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    202
    71
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not so Fresh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I are visiting Camden for the first time and after a day of exploring were excited to try Fresh for dinner. Overall the experience was disappointing. While the wait staff was attentive and professional, the food was lacking in taste and quality. We ordered Lobster Risotto and a Gorgonzola Crusted Sirloin. The lobster dish was overly watery and moist and resembled more of a lobster stew without much taste except for the whole peppercorns littered throughout the dish. The lobster was chewy and tasteless. Ugh! The sirloin was not a great cut of meat and had gristle throughout. The steak also lacked in flavor; however, the cheese topping the steak was tasty. In addition to the poor taste and quality, the meal was extremely expressive at nearly $30 a piece. Any where else a meal of that quality would have been under $20.00.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreshCamden, Manager at Fresh & Co., responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Sallie J,

I am sorry that your recent dining experience with us was not as positive as it could have been. Our Chef takes great care and pride in his food and takes guest feedback regarding food quality and consistency very seriously. In fact, our chef has recently changed vendors for our sirloin, utilizing a new, local butcher with grass fed beef. The lobster is also sourced locally and we get it fresh picked daily so we are surprised that it was not full of flavor. I thank you for the positive comments on our service. I feel very lucky to have quality people to work with and continuously try to educate the staff. Please do try Fresh again and when you do ask for me.

Sincerely,
Jessica Duffy
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Find in Camden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Take a picture of the Lobster Pounds in Camden but eat at Fresh! Food well prepared, presented and served by friendly staff, even when you show up in the last minutes of the lunch service (as we did). Highly recommend if you're looking for good food after your photo shoot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThisLife2Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely surprised to the good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ill make this short and sweet - after a week in acadia and camden maine eating at run of the mill lobster and fried food tuourist trap restraints, we ended up in Fresh. Both the service and the food were excellent The prices were in line with what we got as well. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We enjoyed the salmon and sirloin...both were very well-balanced dishes that left us very satisfied. The food was so good we didn't save room for the bakery attached next door--definitely next time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherAndJosh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh & Co. also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Fresh & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing