We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not great”
Review of 57 Bayview Bar & Bistro - CLOSED

57 Bayview Bar & Bistro
Price range: $8 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Nice but not great”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Romanian waitress was very nice and attentive. Shame we heard someone from the kitchen (and we weren't that close to the kitchen) say to her "I know you are a hard worker but lighten up will you". Not necessary.

Food was good not great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GIDAYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    18
    10
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Truly a peak experience”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a wonderful, small restaurant with a focus on quality. The service was attentive and warm without being overwhelming to our socializing. But, the food was outstanding. All four of us ordered the special of the night which was a lobster risotto. It was truly a peak culinary experience. The risotto was a creamy delight with a whole poached, deshelled, lobster on top. I have rarely, if ever, had risotto cooked as well in a restaurant.
The crab cakes we shared as appetizers were also outstanding. They were clearly made from very fresh crab and cooked with a light, expert hand.
Even the coffee and dessert made with Maine blueberries were outstanding.
The restaurant advertises its use of fresh, local ingredients. This is one place where the proof of the claim is evident on the table.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank momoboys_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great experience”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

What a nice surprise: Very large martinis, awesome local bread and dipping oil, great beet and Caprese salads and to die for poached lobster and pork entrees. The best part was the extremely attentive and friendly service...I'd go back again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and a relaxing ambience”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our friends at the Admiral's Buttons just down the street recommended this cozy upscale bistro and we're so glad they did. My wife and I enjoyed an early dinner with the scallops and an extraordinary poached lobster. Service was warm and friendly and the wines affordably priced. Desserts were delicious... modestly sized but more than enough. We'd go back again anytime. A word of caution: several of the upstairs tables utilize very low tables and divan-style seating that's tough on aging bones or a bad back. While intimate and intriguing, they're tough to get in and out of....if that's a concern specify when you make a reservation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontheroadagain449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had planned on going to Peter Ott's for dinner as suggested by our motel. It was closed for a off-sight function. We ended up at 57 Bayview. It was not very busy and we were seated right away. The waitress/bartender/bus girl, she did it all, was attentive and pleasant. We started with drinks and an appetizer. We were starting to get concerned because our meal seemed to be taking a long time. When it did arrive, it was hot and wonderful!! I wanted so much to have the Creme Brulle for dessert, but could not eat another bite! Give it a try!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 57 Bayview Bar & Bistro also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing