We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to love it, but....”
Review of Grand Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Harbor Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it, but....”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel one night, during our weekend trip through Maine. We had great expectations for this hotel, since it is in a great little town (Camden), on a perfect location (just by the harbor) and with an immaculately clean, well furnished room. However, we were unlucky enough to get some "neighbors" in the room next door that had a problem with the room lock - they noticed the problem at 1.30 am, and spoke at length about the problem (loudly, with maintenance) and again at 6.45. Absolutely no sleep for that one night. Also, our air conditioner unit was either on (freezing cold, even when set for 77 degrees) or off (too hot) - so we alternated every hour or so...
The most disappointing part was that when we told the front office staff that we had this problem, they told us they were aware of it...nothing else. No apology for loosing one night of sleep on our short vacation, no effort to make us want to come back again and experience the hotel under different circumstances. I assume they don't care about our business, so we'll take it elsewhere...We have stayed in many luxury hotels across the US and the world, and what distinguishes a good hotel is the exceptional service and the "let's make it right" attitude that was absolutely lacking at the Grand Harbor Inn....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NYtraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you NYtraveler29 for your recent review of the Grand Harbor Inn. We greatly appreciate all forms of feedback so that we can consistently grow in a positive direction.

First and foremost, I would like to extend my sincerest apologies regarding your experience during your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding our premier location, cleanliness, and room décor. The unfortunate challenge of your neighbors door lock was a first for our property and although we feel we were able to provide quick remedy of the situation, I was unaware of it being of disturbance to your room. I am extremely sorry that I am personally learning of your specific opportunity now as we take great pride in the legendary customer service accolades that we receive here at our Inn and make every effort to provide above and beyond stay experiences. Rest assured I am investigating these challenges further to include not only the early morning disturbance and HVAC, but most importantly the customer service you received.

Please contact me directly at your leisure so that we may further discuss your stay with us. I can be reached at 207-236-4325 ext 112.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    28
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
56
264
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrison , Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

One week on the Maine coast in August and the Grand Harbor wins the best Hotel hands down. I would recommend room # 1 or #5 which have the corner rooms with great harbor views. They are worth the extra money. The suites are huge with a great modern bath with tub and separate shower. The included breakfast was extremely good and the staff helpful. The only downside was some trouble getting strong wi-fi at times. Parking is reserved for you near the front door.

The location cannot be beaten as it is withing walking distance to everything. Only 11 rooms, so call far ahead in season.

Room Tip: Choose room # 1 or # 5 corner harbor-view suites ...you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chloe71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have stayed here twice and will continue to return. The staff is friendly and accommodating - because it is so small there is a very personal feel to the hotel. The location couldnt be better- right in downtown Camden. Plenty of parking. Close to everything, bars-restaurants etc. Rooms are beautiful, fireplaces, private decks, jacuzzi tubs, flat screen tvs and views of the harbor. We couldnt ask for more and will continue to visit off season.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and do not book the cheapest room. The next one up is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night recently, and was very happy with the room. The breakfast on the balcony was great, and the room was very nicely appointed. Lots of nice amenities made for a very pleasant stay. The location is in a busy and crowded area, but the room was quiet. I would recommend a waterfront room, for a special experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We just returned from a five night stay at the Grand Harbor and couldn't have been more pleased. The views of the charming harbor from our beautifully appointed suite could not have been better. Even thought it is a busy area of town, the rooms were sound proof. The property is located within easy walking distance of numerous top quality restaurants. And as mentioned in previous reviews, the staff were extremely accomodating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie--USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Texoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on the mid-week discount. The room and view was absolutely beautiful. This property is right on the water; however, not all rooms have the great view like room #1. Of course we paid more for it but felt it was worth it. A nice breakfast is included so we had breakfast on the veranda each morning as we watched the boats in the harbor. Grabbed $10 steamed lobsters on the pier right down from our room and took them up to our balcony for dinner one night. The town of Camden is very quaint and lovely. Make sure you visit the state park 3 miles away and drive up the mountain for an outstanding view of the many islands. We will go back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank txblondie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed five nights. Great location with reserved parking which is important in Camden. After a while the breakfast gets monotenous. Good restaurants are next door and across parking lot. Very convenient to the harbor and shopping.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.0 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
164 reviews
6.4 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.3 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Inn

Property: Grand Harbor Inn
Address: 14 Bayview Lndg, Camden, ME 04843-2249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#2 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of Camden Harbor from the luxurious comfort of your waterfront suite at the Grand Harbor Inn, Camden’s newest and only luxury, waterfront boutique Inn. Recently awarded the coveted and prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating, the Grand Harbor Inn’s enviable waterfront location, overlooking the marina of yachts and local fishing boats, provides the perfect haven for that needed escape or romantic getaway. Located at Bay View Landing, the Grand Harbor Inn is surrounded by a vibrant mix of unique shops, fine dining, and exciting schooner and kayak tours.The Grand Harbor Inn features several waterfront rooms and suites, offering guests unparalleled views of Camden Harbor and the islands of Penobscot Bay. Each guest room and suite is exquisitely well appointed with private balconies, gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and separate marble and glass enclosed rain showers, high definition 37” LCD TV’s, high speed wireless internet, luxurious bed and bath linens, and so much more!The interior style of the Grand Harbor Inn is inspired by Tuscan Villas, evoking a rustic, old-world, warm and elegant feel combined with all the contemporary comforts and amenities that today's guests expect. The exterior is Coastal Cottage, shingle-style architecture, blending perfectly with the historic waterfront buildings on Camden Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Grand Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Hotel Camden
Grand Harbor Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing