We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy Hour Option”
Review of 40 Paper

40 Paper
Ranked #16 of 48 Restaurants in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: European, Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in the century-old Knox Mill, our bistro is situated on top of the Megunticook River, just between the two waterfalls. At Brevetto, our modern Italian bistro cuisine is designed to pair perfectly with our extensive– and almost exclusively Italian– wine list. Brevetto is Italian for “patent,” and throughout the restaurant you will find turn-of-the-century schematics of wine presses and odd, out-dated food machines. In stark contrast to the complicated workings of a “salami washing machine,” our menu is simple and straightforward. We feature a large menu with a range of grilled pizzas, Italian pastas, and a variety of entrées. In addition to our extensive wine list, we also have a full bar with artisan draft beers and liquors. Enjoy your dinner in our inviting dining room, or on our waterfront deck. Relax with an obscure Italian red wine at our bar, or an extra-dry gin martini on the leather sofa. Brevetto has some of the best of both worlds, right in downtown Camden.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour Option”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stopped by 40 Paper which is a relatively new addition to the Bistro crowd in Camden. They have some great happy hour specials with a nice selection of flatbreads. Attracts both locals and tourists. Friendly bar staff. Semi covered outside seating area as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cmbnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    95
    45
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millersville, MD
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Super Happy Hour”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Went to Happy Hour from 4-6 on a Monday night. They had $5.00 drinks and half price appetizers. We had a couple glasses of wine, but if you are into craft beers, this is a great place to go. They also have a number of mixed drinks on their menu. We had the artichokes stuffed with cheese and then 1/2 a flatbread. Both were nicely done. We though we would eat dinner but were too full at that point. What a bargain and a great little place. I would go again for the Happy Hour!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best bartender around”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Happy hour is VERY happy here. Great atmosphere, great price lil bits of delish food that make you want to stay for dinner.
The best bartender in town. I roll my eyes at terms like "mixologist" but this guy, has got it going on.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank carolynb408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for dinner or happy hour!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Whether you just want to stop for a drink and app at happy hour or stay for dinner this place is awesome! Great prices and specials for happy and I have enjoyed every meal I have had there. Atmosphere is friendly and inviting and so is the staff. One of my favs in Camden.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slglouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Mid-coast excellence”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had dinner with 7 friends Saturday night at 40 Paper. Had read about it in Maine magazine and other publications so had high expectations. Our table was ready when we arrived, the menu was presented and specials thoughtfully reviewed. The cocktail menu was unique and highlighted the current trend towards interestingly-crafted drinks with funky ingredients. I had the cilantro ginger margarita...yum!! Menu was great - nice choices for both carnivores and the vegetarians in our group. I had a wonderful lemon caesar salad and a fellow diner had the calamari. Met with rave reviews. We all ordered something different for dinner, ranging from the flatbread pizzas to the house made pasta. I tried the Cabonara..it was delicious! Everyone cleaned their plates, even the finicky eater in our group who had the haddock special. Service was well paced, timely but not rushed or slow. The restaurant itself was a little bit quiet for a Saturday night but it is early April, so perhaps to be expected. No one had room for dessert but they presented us with homemade truffles with our check. All in all, a great casual environment in a lovely town. Lots of fun to be there before the summertime crowds!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaineLab_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 40 Paper also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to 40 Paper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing