We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Towne Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Towne Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Friendly and Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here Aug 6-10 and loved it! The owners are very friendly, helpful and their homemade cherry breakfast bars are delicious--I also loved the blueberry muffins. The rooms are very clean and really you can't beat the price. The location is amazing--an easy walk into town for dinner or shopping. A grocery store (little longer walk) and a pharmacy (right in town) are easy to get to. Book your stay here--you won't be sorry. We are already planning our next trip back to the Towne Motel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Lisa, thank you for your review! You touch on many of the things that guests love about Towne Motel: our location, our great rates, and the spotlessness of our rooms. We are so lucky to have a great team of housekeepers here, and we've had many guests confess that they are neat freaks and super-impressed with their room. You guys had a really active vacation here and we're glad our cherry bars and blueberry muffins kept you fueled up! Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    68
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
107
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Well situated, this hotel has an ideal location for exploring Camden. Great value, very comfortable, pleasant staff. Beds are comfortable. Has a B&B feel to it as continental breakfast is warmly communal. Only "complaint" is that it situated on Rte 1 and road traffic takes a night to get used to. It can be overcome with closed windows and A/C, but who comes to Maine to close windows? Minor complaint, tho, as this is a good stop. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristolboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Warmly communal: we love that! Our breakfasts are one of the surprises for new guests at Towne Motel. Most people don't expect homemade baked goods and a circa 1820 dining area at a motel. And the conversations around the dining table are great! Guests exchange tips on the best places to visit and dine, and often share where they are from and where they've traveled (on this trip and others). Of course, those who don't want the B&B breakfast experience can take their coffee and goodies to the chairs and tables outside their rooms. We're so glad you enjoyed our rooms and location. Sometimes light sleepers are disturbed by the noise on Route One (where most Camden accomodations are located). Next time you visit, we'll make sure to put you in a room farther from the street. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Boro, PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Convenient to downtown, housekeepers very nice and keep the place spotless.

I'll fess up - we brought a bottle of wine along but I forgot a corkscrew. My husband offered to go to the office where he had seen one in an unlocked cabinet, and after not being able to rouse either owner borrowed it and returned it five minutes later. Not sure why this was an issue but after his transgression was discovered our presence did not seem to be appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MagneticCommand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We're sorry you were unable to find us, though puzzled, as we have two doorbells and an in-room phone system. As for your committing a "transgression" when you borrowed a wine opener, we didn't even know you had, and had we known you'd found one on your own, we would have praised you for your ingenuity! Guests often remark on the relaxed and friendly vibe at Towne Motel and we're sorry your missed out on this because of an unfortunate misperception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed with you on July 29th and 30th. I just want to pass along how thrilled we were (and still are!) with your quaint accommodations. The room we stayed in (#8) was spotless and your staff went out their way to help when we asked.

Many hotels that we stay at are "as described" on TripAdvisor and some fall below expectation. Your facility was just perfect. Towne Motel will receive a perfect rating in all categories on TripAdvisor from us.

Thank you to all for everything! Wonderful breakfast,comfortable rooms, and stellar service...

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you! A perfect rating in every category is high praise indeed, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Towne Motel. It's good that you found our place as described and that we even exceeded some of your expectations. People often aren't sure what to expect from motels and are very pleased to find such spotless rooms, and home-baked goods at breakfast.. And when we open up the 1820 house for breakfast, guests often note that it gives Towne Motel a B&B feel. Guests are the best part of our job and we're always happy when we can help make your vacation even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee
Level Contributor
358 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We love staying at the Towne Motel. Three years in a row we have traveled to Camden Maine, each time we have stayed at the Towne Motel. Nice, clean, friendly and great value + homemade bake good for breakfast and excellent coffee. This hotel is within walking distance to downtown Camden. When in this area you have to enjoy the wine at Cellardoor Winery and seafood at Conte’s.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicopeeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you so much! Not only for your kind remarks but for coming back to us year after year. We really appreciate the loyalty of our repeat guests--some have been coming back to Towne Motel for 15 years! It's fun when we have a mix of repeat and new guests in the dining room in the morning, with our veteran guests giving new ones all kinds of sightseeing tips. We pride ourselves on the spotlessness of our rooms and know how lucky we are in our amazing team of housekeepers. And we're glad you enjoyed our breakfast goodies. Look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Towne motel is such a treat! One of Camden's hidden jewels, there are colorful hanging plants on the posts outside your door. Adirondack-style chairs on the porch outside your door so you can take in the breezes and salt air scents from Camden Harbor. It's a short walk to town. Innkeepers were friendly and offered some wonderful suggestions to fill the day; including nearby Mt. Battie where you can motor to the top and have a stunning view of Camden Harbor and islands in the Penobscot Bay! The owners open part of their home (charming old colonial) for breakfast. There is something about homemade muffins and sweet breads made from scratch that warms the soul. Yogurt and fresh fruit are also available. The rooms are modest; but very clean and comfortable. Prices are more than reasonable. Don't forget to try the homemade wild blueberry ice cream at the local ice cream store while your in town. Belfast is only 20 minutes to the north and boasts of lobster pounds, bakeries, pottery and a wonderful harbor. This little motel is smack dab in the middle of the finest Maine has to offer. Highly recommend staying here. I know this will be my "go to" when I am visiting the Camden area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 17DebDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We're so happy to hear you had a great time here, enjoying both your stay at our little motel and your many fun excursions in Camden and surroundings! We have to agree with you about our smack dab location - not just in relation to downtown Camden but also to the many other things to do in the area: we're less than 15 minutes North of Rockland (and from our lot you don't have to drive through busy downtown Camden to get there!), just a long jog or 3-minute drive to Rockport harbor, two miles to Camden Hills State Park with its many hiking trails and the views you enjoyed so much, and from there you're halfway to Lincolnville Beach. We're glad you made it a bit further to Belfast too, which is such a fun town many travelers pass by on the way to Bar Harbor. And of course, this list doesn't even touch on the beautiful lakes, orchards, and wineries just a few minutes inland from here.
We're especially happy to hear you enjoyed our homemade baked goods - there is nothing like giving guests some good culinary energy for their active day! And thanks for your sweet commentary on the flowers, the chairs, the clean rooms, and even the salty breeze you enjoyed from your Adirondack chair. We're thrilled to hear you plan to stay with us again - and we're looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I am probably biased in that I do not like motels--too cramped cubicles, laminate furniture and cars parked at your door. This motel, however, was very clean, a comfy bed, good lighting. No room for a luggage holder and only 3 hangers permanently attached to a wall fixture. The Keurig coffee maker was a nice and welcome touch. The location is excellent on Rte. 1, a 5" walk to town. Owner pleasant. If you like motels, this is better than most.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank TarrytownTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. When we first read it, we were a bit disappointed with the rating, especially because you called us “better than most,” but gave us an “average” rating. We thought that maybe you don’t give more than an average rating to motels in general because of your “bias” against them. (Which could possibly mean you’re evaluating us based on something we aren’t?). But rethinking and rereading the review, we gladly realized that it was much more positive than the rating might indicate, and that despite your bias and the issues you had with space, you noted so many positive aspects of your stay. And the fact that you booked several nights with us despite disliking motels must mean you trusted as to surpass some of your expectations – and we’re happy to hear that we did!

As for the areas in which we didn’t (space for luggage and clothes), we wish you had mentioned something so we could have come up with potential solutions to make your stay more enjoyable. We could have shown you (and moved you into) one of our larger rooms with closets and more overall space; we did have a few other rooms available that week. We could have also given you more hangers, and probably an additional clothes rack to make things more convenient. It’s true that our standard single queens don’t have closets, so we will try to think of some other options to increase storage space. Most of our guests in the smaller rooms seem fine with the space, maybe because the majority stay for one or two nights. It does seem that most of our guests with multiple night reservations choose a larger room for extra comfort and space. For only $15 more per night (less in the off season) you would also get a small fridge and, in the upstairs rooms, more windows and therefore more natural light. If you come back next year (or any other time), and are still in the mood to tolerate a motel J, maybe we can help you select whichever room fits your needs best. So, we’re sorry about the space issues for your belongings, but glad so many other aspects of your stay worked out well for you – such as the comfort of the beds, the cleanliness of the rooms, the Keurigs, our location, and even the lighting in your room. Thanks for paying attention to all these details – and do come back to visit! We will have new improvements again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
0.0 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towne Motel

Property: Towne Motel
Address: 68 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#3 Family Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towne Motel is a friendly small motel a five minute stroll away from downtown Camden and Penobscot Bay. We offer super clean rooms, great rates, retro charm combined with modern amenities, and a delicious home-baked continental breakfast. Enjoy one of the most beautiful Maine coastal villages without sticker shock! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Towne Motel Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing