We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to town”
Review of The Towne Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Towne Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Walking distance to town”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at the Towne Motel and loved it. The rooms were clean and bright and the staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating. Their restaurant suggestions were varied and accurate and the breakfast in the morning is much more like staying at a B&B than a motel. Delicious! Their proximity to downtown and the wharf is a big plus in a vacation town like Camden where traffic can slow to a crawl at the height of the season. We plan to stay again our next time to the Maine coast.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Art G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    70
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
112
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband & I traveled from Florida to Camden to get away from the heat for a couple of weeks. We just left today (08-09-13) after staying at the Towne Motel for 4 nights. So many people only take time to express complaints, but we wanted to say what a wonderful stay we had at the Towne Motel. Rick and Jane go out of their way to make you feel welcome, are extremely accommodating, the motel is very neat and clean. It has the feel of a Bed & Breakfast experience and conveniently located just a two block walk from downtown. We would highly recommend the Towne Motel to anyone heading to Camden. We'd also suggest the best room, but would hate for it to be taken when we go back again.
The Parham's
Middleburg, Florida

Room Tip: Room 15 upstairs is our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoppytoe8445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We (me, husband, two teenagers) stayed here for one night en route to Canada. Camden is a very pretty town and the Towne Motel is within easy walking distances of shops and restaurants. The owners are lovely people (they recommended a really excellent restaurant) and the rooms are clean and comfortable and an excellent value. We had our morning coffee and pastry on the deck outside our room. It is a great place to rest for a night or to stay longer and enjoy everything that Camden has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPWBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Short walk to downtown Camden with shops, restaurants and harbor. The Towne Motel is incredible, clean, excellent bedding, great value and the continental breakfast is awesome. Rick and Jane are excellent host. My wife and I plus another couple attended Pop the Cork, a Cellardoor Winery Concert and benefit event in Rockport Maine. The next day we visited the Cellardoor Winery in Rockport and Lincolnville (a must see). The winery has some amazing events checkout their website at mainewine.com.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChicopeeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Excellent beds, good location, short walk to harbor, restaurants and shops, more than adequate continental breakfast and all at a very reasonable price. We couldn't ask for more for a short stop in Camden.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rhale53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A five minute walk to the town center to visit the shops, restaurants and harbor. Rick and Jane are very friendly and make you feel like your old friends. My first time to visit Camden and it is a beautiful, small Maine town by the sea. Towne Motel is an excellent value. The rooms are spacious and clean. The continental breakfast is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juma196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Garden
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Love staying here.Rick and Jane make you feel like you are home.Love the new parlor and having coffee juice.muffins,cake and fruit in there.Cozy and beauiful place..Will be back next year!Location great to town and harbor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
371 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Towne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towne Motel

Property: The Towne Motel
Address: 68 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Camden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#3 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Towne Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towne Motel is a friendly small motel a five minute stroll away from downtown Camden and Penobscot Bay. We offer super clean rooms, great rates, retro charm combined with modern amenities, and a delicious home-baked continental breakfast. Enjoy one of the most beautiful Maine coastal villages without sticker shock! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Towne Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towne Motel Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing