We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and elegant Camden Maine Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haverhill MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and elegant Camden Maine Stay”
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We've stayed in Camden many times over the past fifteen years, but this was our first stay at the Camden Maine Stay. We were delighted with the ambience, the "little touches" and the spotless housekeeping.
Bob and Juanita are proud of their home and very particular in every aspect of their innkeeping. The breakfasts were exceptionally creative!
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Liked — meticulous eye for detail
  • Disliked — (there weren't any negative comments)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    35
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
66
436
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

Just returned from a short stay at the Maine Stay Inn and the place is above par. I recommend the Dogwood room, as it is on the back side of the house and away from the street. The Inn is well located, just a short walk into town. The Inn keepers and staff were helpful and very nice. I would definitely stay at this Inn again, and again, and again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Baxter-md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

It was a trip to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary and we deliberately chose what we thought were special places to stay during our week in New England. Camden Maine Stay exceeded our already high expectations based on other reviewers. Our room, the Common Ground Room, was very spacious and beautifully and thoughtfully decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable but firm enough for my husband who has a dodgy back. Bob and Juanita Topper were the ideal hosts, very warm and welcoming. They offered plenty of ideas and helpful suggestions but were tactful enough to leave us to ourselves and let us roam about their beautiful home. Not to mention the exquisite breakfast seved in their delightful sun-room - aahhh - bliss! I have not seen french toast and pancakes served so delicately and beautifully. We both wish we were back there very frequently and have to contend ourselves with a special memory.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladolcevita73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Camden Maine Stay Inn. We had the suite on the top floor - wonderful decor with comfortable beds, a fun sitting room and a bathroom with skylights + it was immaculately clean. The hosts were warm and friendly without being overbearing and the gardens are lovely. We also loved our breakfast. We look forward to a return visit!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank travels-from-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
159 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Highlights of our trip to Camden:
Lively Lady Too- a lobster fishing boat and eco tour. One of the best things we've done on vacation anywhere. The capt is a former biology teacher and a fascinating speaker. We saw seals, dolphins, lobsters and lots of birds.
We also enjoyed a beautiful cruise on the bay in a tall ship schooner but the capt of that boat was a tad too talkative for us.
Waterman's Lobster Pound- delicious lobster, rhubarb pie and relaxing views while feasting at picnic tables near the water.
Francine Bistro-remarkably outstanding food but very loud and lively.
The inn: We prefer the decor of Parlor #3 but the inn was immaculately clean (every corner looked like it was cleaned daily with a toothbrush) and many thoughtful touches for the comfort of guests.
Personality of hosts: pleasant, intelligent and non intrusive.
Location: might be one of the most ideal among B and Bs in Camden- although not on the water it is a short 2 block walk into town. Cars do pass in front of the inn, but it is not on a congested part of High Street. The inn's lot is very large with many nice plantings and trees.
The downstairs public areas are not airconditioned. All of the guest rooms have window units. Since Camden generally has mild summers, heat is not too much of a problem
Breafast: tasty, pleasant and adequate amt. The coffee, juice and fruit cup were excellent. Special diets are catered to. There seems to be only one main dish choice which on some mornings might be French Toast. If this is something you don't care for, you might want to request No Sweet Stuff or grab a bagel in town later

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank anonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2007

The Camden Maine Stay is perfect in so many ways. Our two night stay was fantastic. The inn is perfectly located within walking distance to all Camden has to offer making it very convenient. The inn is situated on the main street through Camden, but ear plugs and a sound machine has been provided. We just shut the window and slept soundly.

The inn has been lovingly cared for by all of its owners and everything is in great condition. The common rooms are comfortably, yet elegantly decorated.

Don't come to the Maine Stay expecting to loose a little weight. Delicious home-baked treats, coffee and lemonade appear every afternoon. We had raspberry-almond squares that were to-die-for. Breakfast was so wonderful that we asked for the recipes.

What truly makes this the perfect place to stay in Camden are Bob and Juanita Topper and the rest of the staff at the Maine Stay staff. They welcomed us and made us feel right at home from the minute we walked in. They have also thought of everything. We stayed in their smallest room, but felt like a King and Queen. We felt so pampered during our stay and left trying to make a list of family and friends who would be visiting Camden that we could recommend to stay there.

  • Liked — The owners were so welcoming
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbruzek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Our stay at the Camden Maine Stay was fantastic!
Their decor is elegant hometown.
Many extra period items displayed.
Delicious breakfast included a wonderful garden view.
The caretakers/owners live onsite and were very nice and knowledgeable folks.
Camden is defineatly a town to walk and this B&B is just a few blocks on the main drag.
We loved it!

  • Liked — The decor is superb inside and out
  • Disliked — Every room did not have a T.V.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonysusie1631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.6 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#3 of 19 in Camden
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Maine Stay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Maine Stay Inn

Property: Camden Maine Stay Inn
Address: 22 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camden Maine Stay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, cozy, romantic, and very friendly, the Camden Maine Stay is a grand old home located in the historic district of Camden Maine, one of America's most beautiful seaside villages. A two-block walk down tree lined streets brings you to the harbor park, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Camden Maine Stay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Maine Stay Hotel Camden
Camden Maine Stay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing