We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beyond our expectations”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Beautiful setting. Wonderful food. Great history. Could see gold finches, white breasted nuthatches, Downey wood peckers, and chipmunks at or near the feeders. It's a short walk (5 minutes) to the shops and restaurants. This is a place we will plan to return.

Matt Wilber
Friendswood TX

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mawilber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    35
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
67
444
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Maine Stay Inn is absolutely one of the most wonderful Inns I have stayed in on the East Coast. While a beautiful historic Inn, it is filled with original oil paintings and antiques which the Innkeepers brought with the from Italy. Their hospitality, afternoon snacks, well-manicured outdoor gardens, and breakfast were top-notch! A great find with wonderful hosts! If ever back in Maine, I would make a point to stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glinda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We returned to New England after a 25 year gap and stayed in two of our previous Inns of which this was one.

We had a really enjoyable stay and Claudio and Roberta made us feel very welcome and were helpful in providing useful suggestions as to where to travel in the immediate vicinity.

Whilst much had changed in the intervening quarter century and Camden has become very much busier with a heavily used route 1 the Inn retained its old cooker in a tastefully updated kitchen. The whole Inn is decorated with considerable style and flair and our room was very comfortable and welcoming.

Special mention should be made of the breakfasts which were certainly the best that we experienced in New England with beautiful blueberry pancakes and scones and on one occasion a superb egg and aubergine en cocotte dish.

Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: As Route 1 can be busy a room towards the rear of the Inn, which we were privileged to share, may we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBJCHESHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful two night stay at the Maine Stay Inn. Roberta and Claudio did everything they could to make our stay absolutely perfect. These two people obviously love what they are doing and that comes across in every detail.
The gardens are beautiful and we enjoyed just wandering through the grounds.
Our days started off with coffee in front of our fireplace, and then a delicious breakfast in the sun room. Roberta and Claudio helped us plan our day by giving us maps and hints on how to make the best of our stay. We would make sure to be back in time to have a glass of wine in the garden and then walk into town for dinner.
We stayed in the Mayflower Suite which is beautifully decorated and comfortable. The morning sun through the front room windows made everything feel cheery and warm, The floors in this suite are the original wide pine boards which complement the antique furnishings. The bath room has wonderful counter space for personal items, nice toiletries, and the terrycloth robes were great.
You will feel so much at home at the Maine Stay Inn that going down to the kitchen for coffee, tea, cookies, or chocolate just feels natural.
We are already planning our next trip to stay with Roberta and Claudio.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We just returned home from a 4 day trip through Maine, which included two nights at the Maine Stay Inn. We stayed in The Common Ground suite at the back of the Inn, which had a great view of the gardens, was very spacious, and my wife gave me lots of praise for selecting the Common Ground Suite. The owners Claudio and Roberta come from Italy and are extremely friendly and accomodating. The Inn is decorated with many pictures, furniture and other works of art from their Italy home. The morning breakfasts were delicious and varied. We enjoyed the porch view one morning, and the dining room another.

I have to thank Claudio for allowing me to transfer my June reservation which I had to cancel due to a family member's illness. It was booked via an online special and was non changeable. He allowed me to transfer the reservation, and pay the difference in rates. This was extremely flexible on his part, and on my end I definitely will return for a future visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

After staying at a wonderful B&B in Portland ME we were thinking it couldn't get much better...until Roberta, Claudio and the Camden Maine Stay Inn. Such attention to detail! So much love and care has obviously been lavished on this B&B--every room in the house was a visual delight and the gardens were all that could be desired for a little rest and relaxation away from the main hubbub. Our room was the Dogwood and by gum, they did everything but plant a dogwood tree in there! It overlooked the back gardens but was still located on the main floor, which was nice. Our bed was comfortable, the room had plenty of sitting/writing areas and everything was spotless. Even though the shower was a touch small, they had a very large area for toiletries and towels in the bathroom which worked out great for two people. Tea/coffee and three different kinds of cookies were offered (and went fast!) in the afternoon and chocolate could be found in dishes everywhere. Roberta was kind enough to share the recipe for her fabulous almond cookies with me. Then there was breakfast....I don't believe a gourmet chef could have done any better. Each bite was delicious. Hint: if you want to have breakfast in the Sun Room you had better arrive a little bit early--those seats go quickly. Otherwise, sitting at the Harvest Table (all the way from Italy) in the dining room offered a beautiful surrounding as well. In sum, we would highly recommend staying here. The only slightly negative point was that it was located right on Hwy 1 which is a very busy street at times. However, our room at the back prevented us from having any trouble with noise. Thank you Roberta and Claudio for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: The Dogwood room was perfect. Windows on 2 walls overlooking the beautiful grounds, lots of space to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayfarerOneEleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I had been in Boston and had a horrific experience with our lodging...so we left early and headed up into Maine. We stopped in Camden and found this wonderful B&B off Route One. The couple whom own and run it are from Italy and it was taking us a tad back in time to our delightful trips to Italy with our children. The Maine Stay B and B was the cleanest, well appointed B&B B we have ever stayed in and the bed was to die for. We actually wanted to take the bed home to CA with us:)
The breakfast was delicious and healthy and the B & B was very quiet for a great night's sleep. No complaints at all. Claudio and Roberta helped us find a scenic bike route through Camden and Rockport and we explored the top of Mt. Battie with it's picturesque views...again, to die for!
Thank you Roberta and Claudio.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkneier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.4 mi away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Maine Stay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Maine Stay Inn

Property: Camden Maine Stay Inn
Address: 22 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camden Maine Stay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, cozy, romantic, and very friendly, the Camden Maine Stay is a grand old home located in the historic district of Camden Maine, one of America's most beautiful seaside villages. A two-block walk down tree lined streets brings you to the harbor park, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Camden Maine Stay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Maine Stay Hotel Camden
Camden Maine Stay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing