We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Tide Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Tide Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Enjoyed warm summer ocean breeze in this secluded property. The privacy was exceptional and our stay was a welcome change from our busy city lives. Wonderful warm breakfast and excellent service by the owner and staff made our stay both enjoyable and memorable. Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    64
    17
    7
    0
See reviews for
52
119
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Overall, this was a pleasant stay. The hostess was very friendly and welcoming. Room was clean and spacious. Would have enjoyed a few more options with breakfast. Rooms could use a bit of overall updating/renovation. Example bathroom door not balanced and would not close, large crack over main entry door. Overall, staff was excellant, location was close to other attractions and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful one-night stay at the High Tide Inn in Camden, with 2 children, in a second floor ocean-front unit. The view was beautiful of the bay and islands. The inn has its own private, secluded pebble beach which was very pleasant and stunning. The room was pleasant and comfortable. The location is great -- just minutes from Camden Hills State Park, where we did some great hiking, and just a few more minutes to Camden, a lovely little town. The hospitality of the owner and staff is superlative: we got a very warm welcome from the staff, including a terrific recommendation for a vegetarian-friendly dinner (40 Paper). Best of all was the delicious breakfast of homemade popovers, muffins, and banana bread. Our son pronounced it the best breakfast we had on our trip and even better than the renowned Standard Bakery in Portland, where we'd just been. We definitely would love to stay at the High Tide Inn again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a nice motel-type establishment. It has a few quirks, but we had a nice stay. We stayed in room 26, which is one of the motel rooms nearest the ocean. It has two doubles in one room, and another bed in a side room (for no extra cost), so if you're a small family, this room would work out well. The room itself was clean and tidy. The private beach is lovely, and although a rocky beach, it's very secluded and a nice place to read a book or take a nap. Camden itself is only a couple of miles down the road, so we were close without being in town.

A couple of hints - coffee is offered in the lobby, but not until around 7:45, so if you're an early riser like me, as for an in-room coffee maker (happily supplied by the staff). An iron is also available. I do agree with a previous reviewer that it would be nice if wifi were available throughout the property, but I realize range is an issue. Popovers (similar to a cream puff but without the cream) and muffins are available each morning in the main inn, but if you need more I would suggest heading into town to Marriner's for breakfast. They're open at 6 a.m. and offer hearty fare at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Stay in room 26 and get the extra bed in the side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A frequent traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I actually want to start out by saying I genuinely enjoyed my stay here. The owners were very nice and accommodating. I also enjoyed the breakfast included in the price. The owner makes amazing pop overs and assorted muffins and fruit each morning. The only reason I give this a three star rating is the rooms do need some repair. The showers need to be gutted and new pipping is needed as the water is rusty. We stayed in rooms 11 and 12 (7 person family) and we had plenty of space. We did not have enough towels but made do. We loved the ocean view and the beach is very private and relaxing. We had a TV but were not really there to watch it. I do not understand why they limit the Wifi to the main dining room. Its 2013 and for the price of the room i think Wifi should be included considering there is NO cell service at this hotel for either Sprint or AT&T. All and All its a great place to stay and is one of the few decent places that allow children (We had a 5 and 8 year old staying with us).

Room Tip: Try and ask for the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mer_Maid3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Bay, St. John
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We reserved 2rooms which I thought was a cottage type room with a view like in the pictures. But we ended up in the motel style rooms. The rooms are clean but I wish we knew that there were no small fridges, We brought snacks for the kids and drinks but no where to keep things cold. And there is no internet or cell phone service in the motel which is a real problem. For the money it was ok. The owners were very nice though.

Room Tip: ask to stay in the cottage or the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lostondabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My sister from mid-Maine area was meeting my daughter and I at the Inn. I had booked on line, and thought I was getting a room with two beds. When we checked in, there was a mix up with the rooms, and the innkeeper gave my sister and I the keys to the same room. It turned out that my room had one bed, and my sister's had two. Also, the stairs to my room were very narrow and steep, and we had trouble getting our bags up and down them. Having seen a picture of their private beach, we walked all the way down the drive towards the water, which was quite a hike, only to find that the stairs to the beach were very steep and rickety, and we could not get down them. My sister has a bad leg and I have very bad knees. The breakfast was a bit of a problem as well. The only fruit was watermelon, which I'm allergic too, and the only other offerings were muffins. My sister and I are both on gluten free diets due to allergies to wheat. I had hoped for eggs or oatmeal or something. Otherwise, the Inn was very pretty and the innkeeper was sweet. The beds were comfortable, and if you can do stairs okay, cottage number 2 had a cute patio where you could see a little bit of the ocean through the trees. Personally, I like to be close enough to the water to hear the waves and feel the breeze, not see it in the distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSA1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
2.7 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
2.7 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Tide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tide Inn

Property: High Tide Inn
Address: 505 Belfast Rd, Camden, ME 04843-4512
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#6 Family Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
High Tide Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing