We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene, rustic setting”
Review of High Tide Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Tide Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Urbana, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Serene, rustic setting”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Five years ago my husband, son, and I spent a long weekend in Camden, ME and stayed at the High Tide Inn. When we were planning a return visit for this summer, my son insisted that we stay at the same inn because he loved the blueberry muffins served at breakfast. What high praise! I booked rooms at High Tide’s Oceanfront Motel for my husband, son, his girlfriend, and me for mid-August.

We had a wonderful visit. The Inn is about two miles north of Camden. It’s situated on spacious grounds that slope down to a private rocky beach. We loved the privacy and serenity of the area. The wildflower meadow is magnificent. If you prefer the bustle of a small Maine town, then reserve a room in one of Camden’s many B&Bs and Inns. If you prefer a beautiful rustic, country setting that is close to Camden and Lincolnville, then definitely select High Tide Inn. Mount Battie in Camden Hills State Park is just down the road from the inn, as well.

The friendliness of the staff is special. A man at the reception desk told us where the locals go for lobster rolls. (You have to try the $8 enormous lobster rolls at Graffam Bros on Union St, Rockport.) When Jo, the owner, found out how much my son loved the muffins, she gave me copies of all of the recipes.

The rooms were clean and well kept. However our rooms, which were closest to the ocean, were damp with a slight musty smell. A room dehumidifier would have helped.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    64
    17
    7
    0
See reviews for
54
126
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The setting was beautiful, and the host and staff attentive and kind. Just 2 miles from downtown Camden village, but it seemed miles away -- and just 1 mile from the State Park. The owner and staff were very helpful and kind. Our cabin, however, was just a cabin -- nicely painted inside with very adequate heat, comfortable bed -- but the bathroom and the exterior were old -- there was a damp feeling throughout and the musty smell that cabins by the ocean can have. The best bet may be the newer "motel" units down by the water, which lack "character" but look more substantial. Those units are just 10 yards from the water. This is not a charming New England Inn, with a very special B&B breakfast. The breakfast does includes fresh baked muffins and popovers that are very good and graciously served. Again, it is the setting and the people that are special -- breakfast is in the main lodge, on the screened in porch with a tranquil view out to the bay. Overall, I think this is a good value -- you just need to know what to expect. The rates compared to elsewhere in Camden seem very reasonable -- especially if you enjoy the grounds

Room Tip: "Motel" units closet to the shore may be the best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbest G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed at the oceanfront part of the motel. 1 minute walk right to a private beach and sound of waves at night. Just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zach l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Beautiful location and setting. Very quiet and scenic. The only drawbacks were the bed was very lumpy and the room was very very basic. They kept the room very clean but could have put in some duvet covers instead of the old faded bedspreads. The owner was very friendly and informative about Maine. Breakfast was lovely for a continental breakfast with homemade popovers and muffins. Could have used an additional protein or cereal for children. Everyone was so nice. Despite the rustic nature of the Motel I would return for the setting and the friendliness.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friend123newjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The grounds are lovely and as an added bonus, there is a path to the rocky beach, which is romantic and beautiful at night.

We stayed in a cottage, which actually consists of two cottages. Just so you don't think there isn't someone above or below you.

The rooms are quaint and comfortable but not over-the-top cute (which is a plus). There is a kitchenette with the coolest vintage stove/sink/refrigerator combo.

The only downside is that the breakfast is limited to hot drinks, orange juice, some fruit and muffins/popovers. I would have been happier with bagels or toast - but that's just a minor point.

If you are looking for a comfortable place in a beautiful surrounding, this is it.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hippieflanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed at the High Tide Inn while attending a wedding in Camden. Not only was the space lovely- the view from the main inn was gorgeous- but the staff was courteous and helpful. While we were unable to spend a great deal of time here, our room and the time we did spend here was delightful. The room (9) was simple, but exactly what we were looking for, and by far the best priced in the area. The grounds were lovely, and the view overlooking the water on the chaises behind the main inn was incomparable. Plenty of parking and more importantly, coffee in the morning to get us on the road! Absolutely would stay here again!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JanieC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Room was comfortable for a one night stay. Owner/manager was very helpful in providing details of restaurants for dinner. They also have menus from a wide range of local restaurants. Be aware that you will have to drive to dinner. The complementary breakfast of hard boiled eggs and breads, muffins, popovers etc was excellent. Our room in the Inn (5L) was described as having an ocean view from the deck - although technically correct, this is not a wonderful ocean vista, more a glimpse of water through the treeline. However, the fact you book the exact room you want is a positive.

Room Tip: For a room in the Inn with a good ocean view most of the others had excellent views as described.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
2.7 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
140 reviews
2.7 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
1.3 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
2.2 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
161 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Tide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tide Inn

Property: High Tide Inn
Address: 505 Belfast Rd, Camden, ME 04843-4512
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#6 Family Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
High Tide Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing