We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is NOT a 'moderate' climb, but it is anyone in good health can do but be careful. The views are breath-taking!”
Review of Mount Battie

Mount Battie
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A one-hour-up/one-hour-back hiking trip is the best way to see this mountain.
Pictou, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This is NOT a 'moderate' climb, but it is anyone in good health can do but be careful. The views are breath-taking!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Be careful on the descent to follow the blue swabs of paint (there aren't enough, especially at the top) or you can quickly become lost.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brianie370z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    893
    229
    25
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Easy to find, nice road to summit. Views are incredible. I preferred them to those from Cadillac Mtn. in Acadia National Park. No services.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield Twp., PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Views”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Unbelievable views! Just a tad pricey to drive through. State parks in my area don't charge just to drive through.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TULLFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“For hikers who can't get to Acadia”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were vacationing in mid-coast Maine instead of making our usual trip to MDI. We wanted to hike so we thought that we would check out Mt. Battie. We hiked up to the summit from the trailhead in town and then hiked up to Mt. Megunticook's fantastic ocean overlook area. We had a crystal clear warmish Fall day with a pleasant breeze so it was ideal conditions. These are moderate level hikes with some scrambling required mid way up/down Battie. We like hiking shoes on the smooth granite surfaces but saw plenty of people in regular athletic style shoes. These hikes would not be enjoyable in slippery conditions or if visibility was limited.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Junebug818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome views from the top :)”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

You can walk about and view different scenes... love the one overlooking Camden Harbor -- so very lovely :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Battie also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Mount Battie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing