We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely incredible view”
Review of Mount Battie

Mount Battie
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A one-hour-up/one-hour-back hiking trip is the best way to see this mountain.
Aquebogue
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Absolutely incredible view”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

At the end of the Camden leg of our trip to Maine, we decided to take the auto tour up to Mount Battie. Not only was it a highlight of the day, it proved to be a highlight of our whole trip. The panorama breathtaking view of the town and all the surrounding islands and ocean are wondrous!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    880
    225
    25
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

It was a very clear day and you could see for 15 plus miles. There is a reference board with all of the islands and towns around on it that is great to help you get your bearings. Take a picnic lunch. We hiked the trail up which can wind you a bit... And then walked the auto road back..... Which is very steep in places. Definitely a place to visit if you are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbers64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
263 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Awesome View - Great Way to End the Day”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

After a full day of sightseeing in beautiful Camden, I convinced my family that the trip to Mt. Battie would be worth it, and we weren't disappointed! This is a gorgeous area to begin with, but the view from above is absolutely breathtaking! And all family members can enjoy the experience, since you are able to drive to the top - no hiking required. We loved it, and spent almost an hour climbing the rocks and just taking in the scenery. One mile or so outside of downtown Camden, and about a mile's drive into the Camden Hills State Park. Don't miss this one!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful view of Camden harbor”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Whenever we visit the Camden area we are sure to go to the top of Mt. Battie in Camden Hills State Park. We usually take a picnic lunch and our books and spend 2 or 3 hours admiring the views and enjoying the peaceful area. Not to be missed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaptainL-RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mount Battie”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beautiful views! Great to just sit on the ledge and watch the boats come in. Yummy blueberries growing on the mountain, too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeatherAndJosh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Battie also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Mount Battie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing